We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Open on Christmas Eve”
Review of XII Apostel Koln

XII Apostel Koln
Ranked #87 of 2,401 Restaurants in Cologne
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Neighborhood: Altstadt-Nord
Description: Nur wenige Minuten von Kölner Dom und Rhein entfernt liegt das XII Apostel Köln mitten in der Altstadt, die den richtigen Rahmen gibt für die XII Apostel Speisekarte. Hier findet man den milden Petrus, einen scharfen Judas oder den beliebten Paolo. Die Rede ist von der Spezialität des Hauses, den riesigen, hauchdünnen und knusprigen Holzofen-Pizzen.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
42 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Open on Christmas Eve”
Reviewed December 25, 2012

We were worried restaurants would all be closed on Christmas Eve since all the stores in Koln closed at 2:00PM and the Christmas markets closed on the 23rd. We made a resevation at 6:00PM for my wife, myself, and toddler daughter. The food was average. I had spaghetti with tomato pesto that was mostly flavorless, and Minestone soup that was marginally better than canned soup. The staff was overwhelmed, causing the service to be a little slow, but maybe they were understaffed because of the holiday, or maybe the place is just too big for the staff.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chuck_in_DC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

696 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    151
    293
    148
    61
    43
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
223 reviews
126 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
“Good service”
Reviewed December 23, 2012

We strolled into the XII Apostel on a cold November Sunday looking for a comforting cup of coffee. The waiter said that it was a restaurant, not a cafe, and they were serving breakfast/lunch; then he took pity on us and said we could have just coffee if we wished. It was an example of good service that paid off: on the way out we booked dinner for six that evening.

It’s a large bustling place, one of those German restaurants that seem to have an endless succession of rooms behind a comparatively modest facade. The largely Italian menu is set out in the newspaper styled XII Apostel Gionale. We skipped the pasta and pizza and concentrated on the fish – salmon, dorado and prawns were excellent. The wine list was good and we had an excellent Riesling, perhaps something we wouldn’t have chose at home. Service was good too. XII Apostel is an excellent restaurant for groups and celebrations, , though that hadn’t put off couples who were dining a deux the night we were there.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Brian_Human
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
278 reviews
256 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Dependable food and solid service”
Reviewed October 19, 2012

The XII Apostel was near our hotel and myself and a number of colleagues wanted somewhere easy and flexible to eat (some wanted something light others something more substantial).

The restaurant was busy and we were eventually shown to a quiet table and we settled in with some antipastas and drinks (the waiter recommended a very good red from the Lake Garda area). The antipastas were a good portion and two plates were enough for four people. The mains were also a good size portion, I had pasta which was fine although a little “baked” in texture which may indicate that it was under the heat lamps in the kitchen for too long while we waited for other dishes. My colleagues had very good fish dishes with plenty of salad. By this time we were so full we did not have dessert.

All in all a very commendable experience, the service was attentive and the food very good and well presented. I am certain that there are better dining experiences in Cologne but for a reliable and friendly meal the restaurant is more than acceptable.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank andybristol12555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
139 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“a great find!”
Reviewed October 6, 2012

We ended up at XII Apostel after wandering around for 30 minutes trying to find a place to eat. The service was quick, maybe even a little too quick. We were able to get a seat quickly. Our food was delicious and the atomosphere was fantastic.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank catmc1066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great food!!”
Reviewed August 21, 2012

Fantastic food and service. It’s situated a few blocks from the Dom Cathedral and near a number of water holes (for after dinner). The fried goat cheese is a must order item!!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TJEM3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed XII Apostel Koln also viewed

Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia
Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia
 
Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia
Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia
 

Been to XII Apostel Koln? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing