We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This small urban hotel continues to shine....”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Brenner'scher Hof
Ranked #145 of 262 Hotels in Cologne
Reviewed April 8, 2013

I really like this hotel shaming the major chains in terms of price and service.
My choice near my German office is either Holiday Inn, Mecure or the Brennersher hof.
The Best western is better priced, all rooms seem individual and tastefully decorated. The breakfast is adequate and dinner comes from two alternative restaurants....the potato restaurant and the Italian. Both very good in their own way.
A small but well stocked supermarket is 100m away and transfers are easy since they avoid the traffic.
Only issues are i forget each stay to request a second bath towel and the free wifi tends to require regular logging on.
Otherwise chose it over the others if staying near Marsdorf.

Room Tip: The rear of the hotel is quieter in summer but otherwise lower down if wifi is important.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emeles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (67)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

14 - 20 of 67 reviews

Reviewed August 20, 2012

I was quite satisfied with my stay here. As others have noted, it's in a residential area away from downtown. The metro is about 10 minutes walk from the hotel and it takes 15 or 20 minutes to get downtown, so still fairly convenient. The rooms were very clean with a decent bathroom and shower. The adjoining restaurants were quite good, and apparently quite popular with the locals, since most of the customers did not appear to be hotel guests. The staff was very pleasant and helpful. The only slight negative was the lack of air conditioning in the room, which was a surprise considering that this is rated as a four star hotel. To be fair though, the area was experiencing record high temperatures the week I was there, so perhaps the A/C just isn't necessary under normal weather conditions.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jonasei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2012

This hotel is just wonderful. We chose it because I was having a hard time finding a place in Cologne with parking (that wasn't $50) and I am so glad we did!

The place was easy to find and it's in a little residential area. We were pretty tired by the time we arrived that night from touring the castle road, so we stuck to the area. The room was small but fantastically furnished, tiled floors helped keep it cool (no AC!) and the bathroom was large with lots of space to set things. The front desk also gave us a fan which made the room more than comfortable.

The staff at this hotel literally could not have been nicer. From check-in to the excellent included breakfast to check out and everything we needed in between, I was so impressed with their courtesy and hospitality. We ate dinner next door at the potato restaurant and it was outstanding, then walked around the corner and got some beer and dessert treats at the local market (directions provided by the front desk). The front desk also sold us stamps for our postcards. I would go back in a second!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GSKorelys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2012

I have used this hotel several times - always a good experience. Its location is odd at first since its located in a residential area but with two restaurants and a supermarket close it ok. Some rooms are a bit quirky and my recent stay in no.33 meant poor wifi and a shower designed for a very short person otherwise I would recommend.

Room Tip: ask for room not overlooking the courtyard - its noisy in summer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emeles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2011

I’ve stayed here twice so far and both occasions have been a good experience. Location is ok [a bit hidden], but rooms are relatively big and comfortable. Public transportation is nearby and the city center of Cologne is only 10-15 minutes away by public transportation. On both occasions I had a car so I’ve only taken public transportation once; but … it was a good, easy and fast experience. The hotel is in a “beer garden” setting with 2 or 3 decent restaurants nearby. Probably my next stay again when I’m in the Cologne area. Note: There are obviously many other choices in Cologne, so I'm not saying this is my #1 hotel in Cologne but, ... the location works out really well for me [personally] and nothing upsets me about this place. Hope that puts it in perspective. Price/quality you'll get a good deal! One final note: take a business card from the hotel when you go out. Some taxi drivers will claim [and believe] there is no “Best Western” in this part of Cologne. In other words, it’s a bit of a "hidden gem" and unless you're familiar with the immediate area, you may end up having some discussions with "local" taxi drivers (in German). So, especially when German is not your "forte" ... take the business card!

Room Tip: Get the top floor room. Can't quite call it the "penthouse" but it's on the top fl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RCGenk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2011

I really liked this hotel.
Not sure where it ranks as a 4 star - but its great.

Staff - friendly and helpful.
Parking - limited but very novel!

Food - potatoe restaurant was fantastic and reasonably priced. Very busy though.
Breakfast was standard buffet fare.

Room - tiled floors, old furniture etc. Great. They supply slippers.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Acornise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2008

Fabulous restaurants on site, lovely setting but the accomodation is not 4-star. Hotel has a mediterranean theme, but a tiled bedroom in the middle of winter? Hmmm - better bring your slippers. Room had a warm/damp feel about it. Hard pillows. Room didn't have the usual 4-star "accessories", you have to ask for most things, but the receptionist was very obliging. Breakfast very poor choice indeed. Had a lovely meal at the Potato Restaurant (100 potato dishes!), but I think this is what is giving the hotel that extra star.

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank gplGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cologne hotels
0.5 mi away
Dorint Hotel Koln-Junkersdorf
5.0 mi away
Mercure Hotel Cologne Belfortstrasse
10.2 mi away
Novum Hotel Silence Garden Cologne Brueck
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Steigenberger Hotel Koeln
Steigenberger Hotel Koeln
#12 of 262 in Cologne
960 reviews
0.8 mi away
Mercure Hotel Koeln West
Mercure Hotel Koeln West
#40 of 262 in Cologne
682 reviews
4.8 mi away
Novotel Koeln City
Novotel Koeln City
#37 of 262 in Cologne
1,344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Brenner'scher Hof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Brenner'scher Hof

Address: Wilhelm-von-Capitaine-Str. 15, 50858 Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Location: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Cologne
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #145 of 262 Hotels in Cologne
Price Range: $128 - $283 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Brenner'scher Hof 4.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Brenner'scher Hof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing