We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very comfortable hotel.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Azimut Hotel Cologne City Center
Ranked #40 of 262 Hotels in Cologne
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
61 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Very comfortable hotel.”
Reviewed October 13, 2009

Big room and good location. It was extremely expensive though (but so are all the hotels in Cologne during international fairs). It could have offered breakfast at these rated.
We were compensated by free coffee, water and fruit at the lobby, all around the clock.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank irz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

926 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    252
    432
    158
    57
    27
See reviews for
119
333
61
236
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Den Haag
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2009

We stayed here one night on our way back to the Netherlands with two babies. The rooms are huge, absolutely huge, for a standard double room. Two large single beds, a lounge area, TV, plenty of storage space, large hallway, reasonably priced mini bar, large bathroom with double sink. We were able to put the two year old in the hallway near the door in her portacot away from us watching TV. We did not have breakfast as it was 17 euros. There is a bakery across the road. It is a ten minute walk into the centre of Cologne.
The hotel is very modern and clean with efficient, friendly service. There is secure parking around the corner with direct access to the hotel for 15 euros per day.
If you are after a short stay in Cologne, I cannot recommend this hotel highly enough. We paid 99 euros booking the day before so could have gotten cheaper but were very pleased.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DenHaagGrizwalds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2009

We stayed 3 nights at the Azimut Koln while travelling on business. The hotel was excellent - good modern and huge rooms, nice clean and modern bathroom, fantastic room rate, friendly staff. The location was good enough - relatively easy walk to the city centre and, despite being on what seemed a busy road, it was very quiet inside my room. Really enjoyed Cologne as well. I would happily return to the Azimut, whether for business or leisure travel.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bmiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2009

Highly recommended. We had a huge room on the fourth floor. Immaculately clean. Large comfortable bed. Funky modern furnishings in a kind or retro-soviet style. A cot had been prepared for our baby with a gift bag with a few toys! Very well situated near the city centre. Friendly staff. What more could you ask for? There's also a fitness room and sauna which we unfortunately didn't have time to use. We booked at the last minute but this has to be one of the best value-for-money hotels in town. Or anywhere for that matter. Book soon before they put the prices up. They surely can't keep them this low for long.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PopMack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2009

I have just had an excellent 4 night stay at this hotel.

My room was on the 5th floor and was spacious and immaculatly turned out. The room had a small fridge/minibar, television, tea and coffee making facilities, an electronic safe, a sofa, two single beds, plenty of wardrobe and drawer space and a large mirror. The bathroom was large and fully tiled. The shower was also excellent.

The breakfast at the hotel was a buffet breakfast. If breakfast was not included in your booking then the price is €17. The breakfast was excellent with a choice of at least 6 breads, ham, cheese, streaky bacon, boiled and scrambled eggs, sausages and potato cakes. 5 or 6 varieties of yogurt were availavle as well as fresh pineapple, apples, melon etc. There was also a wide range of jams and spreads available. 6 varieties of dried nuts were also available, as well as 4 varieties of cereals.

German newspapers were available to read free of charge at the breakfast table, and there were 4 varieties of fruit juice also available.

The lobby of the hotel looks shiny and new and the bar (on the first floor) also looks classy, although I didn't drink there. The restaurant where breakfast is served is also on the first floor and is very large, with seating for around 300 I'd say. Breakfast is served 630 unti 10 on weekdays and 630 until 11 on weekends.

The hotel is situated above a massive CD/DVD store named Saturn.

The staff speak excellent English.

The sauna and fitness facilities were on the 1st floor and are available for use free of charge. I used the sauna on two occasions and it was very good.

To travel to the hotel from Cologne/Bonn airport, get the S-Bahn that heads for Horrem. That train stops at Hansaring, which is nextdoor to the hotel. Turn right when you exit Hansaring station and the hotel is on your right hand side after about 20 yards. A single ticket from the airport costs only €2.50, but you'd be better off getting a Koln Tourist Card for 72 hours at a cost of €19, which gives you unlimited travel on trams, buses, trains, boats etc around the whole of the North Rhine Westphalis region, even including Bonn and Dusseldorf. You can then use the card to travel around Cologne for 72 hours at leisure.

There are not many bars or restaurants near to the hotel, but the U-Bahn at Hansaring offers good connections to the rest of the tram/underground system, and is only 3 stops away from Rudolfplatz where there are many bars and restaurants. You can also change at Rudolfplatz for Heumarkt and Neumarkt for bars / shopping, or continue on the same tram to Barbarossaplatz or Zilpicher Platz for bars/restaurants. There is a U-Bahn tram every 5 or 6 minutes from Hansaring so it is very convenient for travelling around Cologne from the hotel. If you prefer taking a taxi back to the hotel after dark then it costs just €5 from Rudolfplatz to the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank jcaple8021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2009

Just stayed one night in Azimut Hotel during a business trip.
It's a new, quite stylish hotel in a refurbished 1950's or so office building. The room was one of the biggest I ever stayed in (35 sqm?). All was very clean and nice. I did not have breakfast (not inluded in my rate), but the bar and restaurant in the 1st floor looked nice, too.

The staff was helpful, Internet in the room is free (though you still need an access code, so it didn't work with my iPass access at the company laptop).
Even the Minibar in the room is really affordable - 2 EUR for a beer, 1.75 for snacks. First time I did not felt ripped off at a Minibar!

The surronding is not great, but it just next to the Hansaring S-Bahn-station, with a direct connection to CGN airport (20 mins). The city center is walking distance, or 1-2 stops by S-Bahn.

My rate was <60 EUR - really very good value for money, maybe the best ever. I can only recommend Azimut!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ultraviolet1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgium
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 21, 2009

This was a very nice hotel. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The hotel overall was very clean and well maintained. The room was very spacious and very modern. The flat panel tv was a little small for such a big room though.
Parking was offered at 15 euros/night but there was parking on the street that was quite safe and very close by. The hotel was a 10-15 min walk to the cathedral. Would for sure stay again.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BETraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cologne hotels
Altstadt-Nord
Hotel Coellner Hof
Hotel Coellner Hof
#11 of 262 in Cologne
356 reviews
Altstadt-Nord
Courtyard Cologne
Courtyard Cologne
#19 of 262 in Cologne
515 reviews
Altstadt-Süd
Mercure Hotel Severinshof Koeln City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Altstadt-Nord
Hotel Cristall
Hotel Cristall
#47 of 262 in Cologne
656 reviews
Neustadt-Nord
NH Collection Koln Mediapark
Altstadt-Süd
NH Koln Altstadt
NH Koln Altstadt
#14 of 262 in Cologne
1,242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Azimut Hotel Cologne City Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Azimut Hotel Cologne City Center

Property: Azimut Hotel Cologne City Center
Address: Hansaring 97, 50670 Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Location: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Cologne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Family Hotel in Cologne
#32 Romantic Hotel in Cologne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Azimut Hotel Cologne City Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 190
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The AZIMUT Hotel Cologne City Center is the most convenient place for meetings, seminaries and other business and leisure events. Due to its unique architecture the hotel offers the most spacious hotel rooms of all 4 stars hotels in Cologne in three appealing categories. Located directly in the inner city of Cologne, the AZIMUT Hotel Cologne City Center additionally provides beside 190 spacious hotel rooms (partly with view to the famous World Heritage Site Cologne Cathedral), a modern restaurant, a hotel bar, on-site fitness room and sauna, a parking garage with 148 parking spaces (35 of them exclusively for hotel guests), Wi-Fi Internet access (free of charge in lobby and on first floor) and a perfect connection to the Cologne main station, event locations like the Lanxess Arena and fairground. The old town is reachable within only 10 minutes walking distance. Also all famous sights and the Rhine promenade are accessible on foot. Five fully equipped, modern and multifunctional meeting rooms all with daylight and air conditioning for up to 280 persons (at one go) set the perfect frame for successful meetings, seminaries and workshops. The banquet foyer has a capacity up to 100 persons. A young and dynamic meetings and events team offers professional business and meetings support as well as conference packages of one`s own choice to make any special occasion a guaranteed success. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotel.de, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Azimut Hotel Cologne City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Azimut Hotel Koln City Cologne
Azimut Hotel Cologne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing