We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“4 Star??”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
AZIMUT Hotel Cologne
Ranked #32 of 260 Hotels in Cologne
Dublin, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
“4 Star??”
Reviewed October 11, 2013

Stayed here during a busy time in cologne for a trade fair - rooms were €400 per night.
For €400 you get no pool no leisure centre no restaurant (I'm not joking!) sometimes one and sometimes 2 people at a very busy reception. There is free wifi in the lobby but only 4 seats. Bottle of Water 500ml in room with "Herzlich Willkommen" written on it but a price tag of €2.60.
Rooms were very big - but window wouldn't open so a little stuffy. Breakfast was ok, warm orange juice and a broken coffee machine aside. reception staff were friendly but completely overwhelmed when confronted with a problem. No warmth or atmosphere or love - just a money making machine.

Room Tip: Chose one in a different Hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kiidareman66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

986 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    273
    466
    162
    58
    27
See reviews for
139
348
62
246
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2013

The room is HUGE and the interior is not bad but the main drawback is the Internet. It's the 21st century, people! How come no more than 1 device online at a time?! The reservation was prepaid otherwise I would've changed hotels immediately.

Room Tip: Don't book here if you need internet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank avvesome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2013

Pros: The best thing about this hotel is the size of the rooms, I mean I've never stayed in a room that big in a budget hotel before. Lots and lots of space, spacious bathroom (with an excellent power shower that I wished I can take home), mini-bar and good A/C which is very important in the summer. We had no complains regarding the cleanness of the room. The central station and the Kolner Dom are just a 15 minutes walk and if you need transportation the subway and city train (U and S bahn) are just across the hotel entrance. The price was very good in comparison to other hotels.

Cons: Your first impression about this hotel won't be great. The neighborhood looks a bit seedy. The lobby and reception desk are very small and dated. The walls need new paint and the carpets need to be replaced. Just don't let any of that discourage you or get you nervous. The rooms are fine, spacious and clean. Other things to be aware of is that there are no coffee making facilities in the room and no free WiFi.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ismael_Bes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Israel
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 22, 2013

Great room. Breakfest was ok and satisfying. Would gladly return to stay there. The location is really in the center, few metera from the metro station and about 15 min. Walk from the Dom. It has parking which makes it much easier.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Skoosh

Helpful?
Thank eddie_sheinfeld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AzimutCologne, Manager at AZIMUT Hotel Cologne, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your positive review of our hotel.

We are looking forward to welcome you again during your next stay in Cologne.

Yours faithfully
AZIMUT Hotel Cologne City Center
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem, Israel
2 reviews
Reviewed August 18, 2013

The hotel was large & comfortable, service was fine. Location is convenient for catching the train or buses. Noise from trains didn't bother me. What did bother me was their asinine internet access policy. Internet access is free - that's good. The only access in the rooms was wired - that's OK, though I would have much preferred wifi, also, for my phone. We'll come back to that.

So you're in your room & the only way to physically attach to the internet is a wire to the plug in the wall. No problem, they even supply a wire if you need it (and most computers made up until a year ago have a LAN port to connect to).

Why oh why do they also make you go to the front desk every day and get a new access code - which is only good for a limited amount of internet activity? They'll give you as many access slips as you want. So I have my usual 15 browser windows open and I download an important business doc - and oops - my quota is up. Go get another access slip (the next day I asked for several) but now all 15 windows are showing me the hotel login page and my navigation is lost. What a stupid policy and inconvenience to guests! It's physically impossible to connect if I'm not a guest -- why this extra obstacle?

Oh and about wifi for the phone? They have wifi on the first two floors (lobby & restaurant). I tried every single day , several times each day - and could never ever get my Samsung Galaxy S2 to connect...

Nice place - a shame their internet service & policies make it unacceptable for future stays.

Caveat: I stayed there 9 months ago - perhaps their policy has changed in the meanwhile. I advise you inquire before reaching a final conclusion.

Room Tip: If having train tracks outside your window bother you, let them know you want the other side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank yosh123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2013

I can only recommend you not to go to this Hotel. See here why.

First, internet is not free of charge, except in the tiny reception.

Second, the service and booking administration is really poor. I was given a smoking room. When I complained they say there were not more non-smoking rooms available, except paying a surplus to get a comfort room. I did not accept that as I consider a 4 start hotel has to be able to offer a non-smoking room no matter the room category.

But that was not all. When I wanted to have a shower I realised that the button to switch from the bath tap to the shower hose was damaged and did not work. Then, I had to get dressed again and ask for a solution at reception. They offered me to go to another room for the shower and come back to my original room again !! I refused and obtained a new ( smoking again) room.
The smoking odour was so stinky that I left the windows wide open all night, despite the noise was terrible ( even with the windows closed) as there are more than 10 railway lines passing just in front of the hotel.

Definitively a very bad choice.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Advisor0001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AzimutCologne, Manager at AZIMUT Hotel Cologne, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at the AZIMUT Hotel Cologne City Center

We are ashamed and hear with regret about your inconvenience during your stay.
We apologize for the dissatisfaction and inadequately assistance of the front office clerks.
Of course we should have offered you a move to a non smoker room, no matter witch category.

That is definitely not our standard at all.
We are a classified four star hotel and we use to handle our daily challenge on a very cordially and professional way.

We do agree with your disappointment and please assured that we are going to reinvestigate those situations by talking with the responsible departments extensive.

We would really like to have the opportunity again to convince you about our customer-services-skills.

With the best regards

Yours faithfully
AZIMUT Hotel Cologne City Center
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cologne
1 review
Reviewed August 5, 2013

We had a very nice and quiet room, but unfortunately the airconditioning didn't work at the very hot weekend and there was a slight smell of moth powder. The service was very friendly and helpful. We will come again. (if the airconditioning is ok and if there is a better smell in the room)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Hannelore D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AzimutCologne, Manager at AZIMUT Hotel Cologne, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for the time you spent to describe our hotel on www.tripadvisor.de.

We apologize for the unpleasant stay in your room, caused by the heat during August the air conditioning didn’t work property.

In September we waited the conditioning, so that we have a brand new system online now.
In between we also understand your disaffection about the bad smell, our team at the reception is always exerted to find the best solution for you.

We are glad to hear that you consider coming back in our hotel.

With best regards

Yours faithfully
AZIMUT Hotel Cologne City Center
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cologne hotels
Altstadt-Nord
Hotel Coellner Hof
Hotel Coellner Hof
#11 of 260 in Cologne
387 reviews
Lindenthal
Ameron Hotel Regent
Ameron Hotel Regent
#7 of 260 in Cologne
532 reviews
Altstadt-Süd
Mercure Hotel Severinshof Koeln City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Altstadt-Nord
Courtyard by Marriott Cologne
Neustadt-Nord
NH Collection Koln Mediapark
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AZIMUT Hotel Cologne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AZIMUT Hotel Cologne

Property: AZIMUT Hotel Cologne
Address: Hansaring 97, 50670 Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Location: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Cologne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Best Value Hotel in Cologne
#21 Family Hotel in Cologne
#32 Romantic Hotel in Cologne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — AZIMUT Hotel Cologne 3.5*
Number of rooms: 190
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Azimut Hotel Cologne offers the most spacious rooms among Cologne’s hotels and stylish interiors with many historical details. The hotel is only 1 km away from the main railway station in Cologne and it takes some 30 minutes to reach it coming from Cologne-Bonn airport. High-speed ICE trains connect Cologne with Berlin and Munich. Azimut Hotel Cologne is an ideal choice for a short vacation in Cologne, visiting an exhibition in Cologne or organizing own event. The hotel is located in a 6-story building erected in 1925 and at the time considered the highest in Europe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, HotelsforEveryone, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your AZIMUT Hotel Cologne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Azimut Hotel Koln City Cologne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing