We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel for a very reasonable price”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
AZIMUT Hotel Cologne
Ranked #34 of 261 Hotels in Cologne
Reviewed May 21, 2013

Stayed at this hotel for just a night. The desk personell are very friendly. Room was also quite nice, especially for what I paid. The only con is that there is no WiFi -or the signal is so weak I didn't pick it up in my room. Besides that I was very satisfied.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dimitry O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,000)
There are newer reviews for AZIMUT Hotel Cologne
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

233 - 239 of 1,000 reviews

Reviewed May 10, 2013 via mobile

My American family stayed here for a week. Shops. The Rhine river, awesome restaurants of all kinds, boardwalk atmosphere including great pubs are only a half mile down the street. This Hotel was perfect for our group of 55 and 2 large Mercedes buses. The staff enjoyed speaking English to us and were very helpful with all if our
questions. I just love Koln and we will go back- walking everywhere to great churches, chocolate and parfume factory... Shopping, dining and night life all nearby. Great rooms and casual meet and greet bar.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SnoopiMN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2013

We stayed at the Azimut for 4 nights. It is easy to get to from Cologne/Bonn airport on the S-bahn (we got S13). Get off at Koln Hansaring which is the stop after Koln Hbf and it’s 2.70 Euros each way. As you pull into the station look to the left of the train and you’ll see the hotel.

Check-in and out was quick and easy and the staff were pleasant and helpful. The hotel is clean and the location is great, only 10-15 minutes walk to the Cathedral. About half way to/from the Cathedral is a nice beer hall called Schreckenskammer (on Ursulakloster) which broke up the walk home in the evening quite nicely.

Our room (501) was massive and had been designed with wheelchair users in mind, wider doors and a large wet room with grab rails all around. I’m not a wheelchair user but it looked good to me anyway. In the room was plenty of storage space, an LCD TV, large digital lock safe, minibar, recliner, sofa and a coffee table. We had asked for a double bed but we got two singles, we pushed them together so it wasn’t a problem. The room was kept very clean and the towels were changed daily. There was only one set of towels in the bathroom but there was another set in the wardrobe.

The room faced the main road and because the railway is so close there was sometimes a slight rumble from passing trains but it wasn’t loud enough to cause any problems. The only disappointment really was the lack of wifi. We couldn’t even pick up a hotspot for the Azimut and I think they shouldn’t advertise as having wifi in all areas.

We didn’t have breakfast at the hotel but walk in any direction from the hotel and you’ll soon find a bakery where you can sit and eat in.

Apart from the wifi we thought the Azimut was a really good hotel and good value for money. We loved Cologne, it's a brilliant place to visit and the locals are really friendly.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Tedlooney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2013

Stayed for three night midweek break. Flying from Manchester to Cologne with German Wings.
Transfers were stress free and cheap using the S train from the Airport railway station. A fifteen minute direct train journey costing two Euro's seventy cents. The hotel which is one of the tallest buildings in Cologne was clearly visible from the platform. Booking in was quick and cheerful. As stated in just about every other review the rooms were very big and contained an easy to use safe and a mini bar.
We did not eat at the hotel but chose to have breakfast at one of the very cheap bakery's situated on the hotels doorstep so cannot comment on the food.
The hotel while not directly in the center is only a 10 minute walk from the Cathedral. The booking was made with Expedia we got a very good rate and would definitely use again if visiting Cologne

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wildcats8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013 via mobile

Amazing room size....clean and beat room. Good gym and sauna. Closeby metro and train stations. Ten mts walk to the Cathedral. The hotel is spotlessly clean. The room got a safe and mini bar, which is charged. Bathroom has only towels, hair dryer and bath gel. No coffee and tea maker. WIFI signal is very very very weak except for the ground or first floor. We were at the third floor which had a weak signal.
Booked via expedia hence got a good rate.... overall good choice....rooms are super sized.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ajesh K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2013

Stayed here for work a few times. No WiFi unless you use the (smoking) bar.. no thanks!! Or the smoking rooms on 1st floor. Again no thank you!!
The network cable provided is about 20cm long which is no good for a phone or ipad. For this reason i no longer use this hotel in Koln.

Rooms are ok as you would expect for a city and hotel chain like this. Breakfast, i would say is standard but falls a little short also. Typical and sort of expected though.

Quite noisy as right next to main train terminus. Check out in the morning can take forever .

Positives - It is right next door to metro and staff are pleasant.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim0380
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2013

I spent one night in Cologne (02/24) and booked this hotel because I was looking for a clean but basic room in the city. The hotel is very clean, although a little tricky to find. But the rooms are quite large and beds are comfortable.

It's definitely a basic hotel, we booked for 2 adults and got only 1 towel in the bathroom - no hand towel, no face towel, just one big towel - no soap, no shampoo, no anything else. Also, the entire time there was only 1 person working the desk. We had to wait over 10 minutes on 3 separate occasions when we had to go get things and ask for directions. Same process with check out - 1 employee to handle 6 guests checking out at the same time.

Also, this hotel advertises wifi and it was one of the reasons I booked it as I needed to do some work on my trip. I arrived only to be told that the wifi was out of order and would not be repaired for at least "two weeks". Furthermore there is not a wifi hub within walking distance of the hotel. I had to take a taxi back to the main train station where there was a Starbucks and work on wifi there.

If you are literally only looking for a bed, sheet, and pillow then this hotel is for you. Otherwise, I would try a different option.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Monique B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cologne hotels
Altstadt-Nord
Hotel Coellner Hof
Hotel Coellner Hof
#8 of 261 in Cologne
399 reviews
Lindenthal
Ameron Hotel Regent
Ameron Hotel Regent
#7 of 261 in Cologne
540 reviews
Altstadt-Nord
Courtyard by Marriott Cologne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Neustadt-Nord
NH Collection Koln Mediapark
Altstadt-Süd
Mercure Hotel Severinshof Koeln City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AZIMUT Hotel Cologne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AZIMUT Hotel Cologne

Address: Hansaring 97, 50670 Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Location: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Cologne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Best Value Hotel in Cologne
#21 Family Hotel in Cologne
#32 Romantic Hotel in Cologne
Price Range: $85 - $348 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — AZIMUT Hotel Cologne 3.5*
Number of rooms: 190
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Azimut Hotel Cologne offers the most spacious rooms among Cologne’s hotels and stylish interiors with many historical details. The hotel is only 1 km away from the main railway station in Cologne and it takes some 30 minutes to reach it coming from Cologne-Bonn airport. High-speed ICE trains connect Cologne with Berlin and Munich. Azimut Hotel Cologne is an ideal choice for a short vacation in Cologne, visiting an exhibition in Cologne or organizing own event. The hotel is located in a 6-story building erected in 1925 and at the time considered the highest in Europe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your AZIMUT Hotel Cologne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Azimut Hotel Koln City Cologne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing