We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Typically generous and warm German city centre restaurant”
Review of Em Hoettche

Em Hoettche
Ranked #34 of 719 Restaurants in Bonn
Cuisines: German, European, Central European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Kids, Families with children, Local cuisine, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Typically generous and warm German city centre restaurant”
Reviewed July 26, 2014

I was here with an international conference crowd. It was all I have come to expect from a traditional German restaurant. Hearty German fare (I had the Schwein Haxe - knuckle of pork): excellent. Good beer, reasonably priced.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mal-Nutrition
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

246 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    122
    54
    20
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ocoee, United States
Level Contributor
57 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Not only the food makes for a great Restaurant”
Reviewed June 23, 2014

Arriving in Bonn, making it to the Restaurant Em Höttche and not finding my party there elevated my anxiety to the top level. I ordered a beer and told the waitress my plight she offered me her cell phone to make some phone calls. I reached my party and we had lunch in this wonderful, typical German restaurant that offers all dishes popular in the River Rhine area. My favorite dish was the Rhinsher Sauerbraten. When in Bonn one needs to visit Em Höttche.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Voorburg
Level Contributor
57 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Typical German Stube”
Reviewed May 21, 2014

Nice decor and atmosphere, but very crowded. The food could be better; we had the schnitzels, but they were not specials and also the Flamschkuche was not the best one I had. Try the Bonnsch beer, it is good in the different variations. Reservation is necessary especially in the weekend.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Monica P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reggio Emilia, Italy
Level Contributor
171 reviews
125 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Lovely atmosphere, professional service, good food”
Reviewed January 16, 2014

The title of this review says it all. I had dinner at Em Hottche with about a dozen colleagues of mine after a meeting in Bonn. Lovely atmosphere both inside the restaurant and across the scenic outside plaza. All the waiters/waitresses that served us have been extremely efficient, professional and able to speak a more than decent English. Good typical German food, tasty, well cooked, nicely presented and served in uber-abundant portions. Excellent beers available, although the selection was quite limited. All in all a very pleasant experience!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Fabio R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
florida
Level Contributor
30 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Fabulous Home Cooking”
Reviewed October 20, 2013

This was a great find. The food is fabulous, and the local beer lousy...well its not there fault :)

Well priced, great service. The place is quite big and the outside does not give you an indication of this as you think this is a small restaurant. I was there on a Sunday night and it was the only restaurant in the area that was packed with people that live in the area. A lot of families, and of course this is a good indication of the quality of the food and restaurant.

I will make sure to visit this place when in Bonn.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank cellantenna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Em Hoettche also viewed

Bonn, North Rhine-Westphalia
Bonn, North Rhine-Westphalia
 
Bonn, North Rhine-Westphalia
Bonn, North Rhine-Westphalia
 
Bonn, North Rhine-Westphalia
Bonn, North Rhine-Westphalia
 

Been to Em Hoettche? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing