We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent in every way”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Deutsches Haus
Ranked #11 of 79 Hotels in Bonn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 19, 2011

Stayed for 6 nights whilst attending an event in nearby Dusseldorf. What can I say? Well the hotel is lovely and clean, room spacious and immaculate, Breakfast one of the best we've had in Germany and the people running it were so charming and helpful- they even found us an empty room to have a sleep in after check out as we'd not got back from Dusseldorf until 5am and check out was 11am and our room was needed. A real delight. There is nothing negative to say- enjoy your stay ! We did.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank divinerepublic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (135)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

47 - 53 of 135 reviews

Reviewed May 18, 2011

First off the positives, I have to say the staff here are absolutely amazing and will bend over backwards to help you. The breakfast was delicious & the location is pretty good aswell - just a couple of blocks from the city centre; it's surrounded by some really good restaurants & the room was of a pretty decent size too... Now for the negatives, the cleanliness of the room left a lot to be desired - we found hairs in our bed after our first night and we're sure they weren't ours! It looked like a wookie had slept in it. The cleaning lady comes into the room whether you have the "Do Not Disturb" sign displayed or not... bit of a shock when it happens especially more than once. There is a church across the road which chimes it's bells... a lot. Out the back every morning was the sound of a pneumatic drill, don't know where that was coming from. Our bedding was never changed, just the bins emptied and towels exchanged. There is no lift and we were on the third floor (heavy luggage bearers beware). There are no tea/coffee making facilities in the room; Also how the TV was positioned in the room, only one bed could view the entire TV - the wardrobe obscured the view for the other person. Advertised there was an English speaking TV channel when there was none. It's not that I am nit-picking but when you've returned from concerts at 4.00am - the last thing you want to hear at 8.15am are church bells, the school run, a pneumatic drill or the cleaner in your room!

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ESClad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2011

I used to live in Bonn back in the mid 1990s, and I wanted to return for a sentimental visit. The Deutsches Haus is top notch in nearly every way. Like most European hotels, its small. The rooms are really nice -- minimalist decor, great beds, and we had a nice view of the back courtyard. The bathroom is what sets this hotel apart -- big with real American-style showers. Yatzee! The breakfast is also well above average--don't miss the homemade yogurt. Located in the hip Altstadt, it is just steps from many great bars and restaurants and the pedestrian center. If you've never been to Bonn, it has one of the best pedestrian centers in a country full of great pedestrian centers. Make sure you grab a beer or several at Brauhaus Bonsch.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Keithcu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2010

I've stayed several times in this hotel, due to its central location and nice staff. From there, you are fast in the city center, to the tube station, the old town (Nordstadt), and the Rhine River if you fancy a walk or run along the riverside. Over the years, several of the rooms got refurbished, so try and book one of the new rooms. Breakfast is very good, which is why I like to go there so often. Definitely a good choice, if you are travelling to Bonn often and you want family-run, simple accomodation

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank g98s1512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2010

After a variety of mishaps that screwed up the 1st three days of our European vacation (including my mother falling the day we arrived and having to have 7 stitches in her leg in a non-English speaking hospital emergency room in Lille, France - and our needing to arrive a day early in Bonn due to other hotel mixups) - we called the Deutsches Haus and were told "kein Probleme" with our arriving a day early. We drove in to the city, and were a little taken aback by the neighbourhood (first glance) - not yet realising it was incredibly convenient to both U-Bahn and the historic/pedestrian section of the city, plus the "cathedral" of Sts. Peter and John the Baptist, and a number of good, affordable restaurants (including the wonderful Anno Tubac with the best Schnitzel I've ever eaten in Germany). The male manager was absolutely charming and VERY helpful from moment of our arrival - including adjusting our room to a HUGE ground floor room - originally we were on the 1st floor, but after my mother's accident, we asked if we could possibly stay on ground floor, and he was happy to adjust. This set a wonderful tone for the level of service and thoughtfulness throughout our 4-night stay. Also - the hotel does "valet parking" for only 7 Euros per night in DOWNTOWN BONN! MUCH cheaper than the big garage down the street. But the epitome was on day 3, when my mother really felt she should see an English-speaking doctor to make sure all was right with her legs (not just the stitches, but big hematoma on her thigh). Not only did the hotel manager recommend his personal doctor, but he told us it would be difficult to find the office, so he would drive us - and not only that, he WAITED in the waiting room with us for 1.5 hours! Amazing!!! I cannot imagine ANY hotel in the U.S. providing that level of thoughtful service. Moreover, the room was immaculate - the breakfast was lovely German buffet-style (my favourite breakfast!), and the other manager (lady) was almost as accommodating and pleasant - but the male manager was THE BEST. If you're going to Bonn, do not think to stay ANYWHERE but Hotel Deutsches Haus!!!

  • Stayed: October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Singwiththespirit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2010

Considering standards of European hotels in comparison to US hotels, this place was the best for the amount of money paid! Great friendly staff, delicious and wide selection of breakfast items, super clean room and overall hotel, very comfortable pillows, bed and bedding, close to the center without the noise, and the rooms were very spacious (especially the bathroom which is atypical). We wish all the places we stayed at in the countries we visited were like Deutsches Haus.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vegas69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2010

From the minute we checked in, the the minute we left, I experienced a great service from very friendly staff. The room was perfect: comfortable beds and a massive bathroom.

The hotel is about a 2 minute walk to the nearest tram stop and about 10/15 minute walk to the main train station.

I definitely will return to this hotel in the future when I return to Bonn/Cologne area.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Finbarr O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bonn hotels
0.3 mi away
Hilton Bonn Hotel
Hilton Bonn Hotel
#1 of 79 in Bonn
1,150 reviews
0.5 mi away
IntercityHotel Bonn
IntercityHotel Bonn
#9 of 79 in Bonn
326 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ameron Hotel Koenigshof Bonn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Ibis Bonn
Ibis Bonn
#14 of 79 in Bonn
705 reviews
5.1 mi away
Ringhotel Rheinhotel Dreesen
4.7 mi away
Villa Godesberg
Villa Godesberg
#2 of 79 in Bonn
140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Deutsches Haus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Deutsches Haus

Address: Kasernenstr. 19-21, 53111 Bonn, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Location: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Bonn
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 79 Hotels in Bonn
Price Range: $102 - $156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Deutsches Haus 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Just like coming home" is the Hotel Deutsches Haus more than just a slogan. A cordial team that provides first-class service and a family atmosphere that characterizes the privately run 3-star hotel. In addition, the hotel boasts Location: central and yet quiet location at the edge of the Bonn pedestrian zone and only about 300 meters from the River Rhine. We look forward to meeting you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Deutsches Haus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing