We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern hotel outside city center”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Galerie Design Hotel Bonn
Ranked #18 of 79 Hotels in Bonn
Zagreb
Level 4 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Modern hotel outside city center”
Reviewed September 9, 2011

Hotel - Very modern design, 4 star, friendly staff, quiet.
Room - Comfortable, clean, modern.
Breakfast - One of the best in 4 star hotels I ever had.
Area - Nothing special, no shops/restaurants around, had to take taxi to city center.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alen_T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    62
    31
    8
    4
See reviews for
10
21
17
68
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ghent, Belgium
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2011

I went here in june 2011, i booked online and when I saw a superb room was only 40 euros/night more a booked a superb room (website of the hotel indicated that the room had a bathtub, was bigger and more luxurius).

When we arrived we were given a small room (not worth even called a normal room in a 4star hotel (20sqm) without the foreseen advantages of the room we've paid extra for.
After several hours of negociaton (the hotel manager was "away" or not available, the reception desk tried to call the manager but I saw clearly that the call they "made" was not a real one, they just pretended to make a call, i know because i used to sell the kind of telephony system they have ) at the reception we were given a "suite" (or what it was called for). Still no bath and now the room was 40 sqm (we only had an extra sofa area).

I asked to be transferred to the Maritim Köningswinter hotel (were I went already a lot of times as a frequent business traveler) but also this was not possible...

In the evening we went for a meal in the restaurant, at 19h00 the restaurant was empty and there was only noise in the kitchen, we stood there for 15 minutes and nobody came (aslo the restaurant floor was soaking wet (it started raining and apparently they pulled some outside furniture trough the restaurant to the kitchen)

I sent a complaint to the hotel hoping for some formal excuses... Still waiting.... The should better change the slogan to "mismanaged by Maritim"

Positive: clean rooms and nice swimming pool

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank coomankevin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Bonn hotels

Haarlem, The Netherlands
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2011

This is a design hotel, and you can see that they made an effort to decorate the rooms with a lot of design stuff, the desk lamp for example, is "Dove" by Italiana Luce that cost around 250 euros. I don't understand how an hotel can decorate all the rooms with so expensive stuff. This is nice to have design stuff at your hotel room, A nice experience, definitely not the usual hotel room, but as a designer, I would have leave half of the stuff out of the room, that would make it more specious. The bed is a little bit short for tall people (if you're more than 1.95m), and the bathroom is beautiful, great rain-shower douche, but if you turn on the light there, the whole room get lighted due to the glass wall there. This hotel has also a very nice sauna and Turkish hamam, as well as a nice small swimming pool. The breakfast was great, not only that the food was good, but also sitting there at the table with a nice view on the hotel garden is worth it. In short, a very nice hotel.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Miss_Whigs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2010

I do a lot of business travel and this little hotel does it for me. Staff is friendly and accomodating. The room smells fresh and bathrooms are clean. It gives the impression that it is safe to walk barefeet. The breakfast buffet is small but witht he main items that a breakfast should include and dinner is also good. Will definitely come back

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank APT2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 6 Contributor
201 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2008

I had to dig quite a while to find this little hotel through a website.

Very stylish modern design, especially the Suite that I was upgraded to is fun.

Best was the breakfast buffet that one can take in the garden at the back of the hotel. The only thing missing is really a small pool in the garden to take a dip but the hotel offers a small indoor pool.

The location is a bit away from the center but in a small(er) city like Bonn with little traffic issues this is not really a problem.

Business travelers like me will love the fast and reliable internet connection that is free of charge.

  • Liked — The modern stylish design as well as the breakfast buffet taken in the garden behind the hotel.
  • Disliked — Some other guests staying that seriously looked for a reason to moan about everythink, just good they were there only one day.
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank RolandUO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 6 Contributor
201 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2008

Looking for a hotel to stop over for 1-2 nights in Bonn I came across the Galerie Design Hotel which seems a good part of SLH (Small Luxury Hotels).

The Suite we had was small but very stylish. Great is the free internet service available with good speed which is hard to find.

Most important as usual for me is of course breakfast, here a full success. The buffet is small in size but great choice and for a change really fresh.

Impressive the the quantity of small details that one wouldn't expect in a usual hotel or not in this extend at least i.e. each door has its own video camera and not a good old fashioned spy.

Great is the small garden in the back with very nice furniture, just a shame there is no pool. The Gym is is well equipped with LifeFitness but quite small.

  • Liked — The quality and choice of food and beverage in such a small hotel plus the overall design
  • Disliked — The outside view of the building - sense of arrival
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank RolandUO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 17, 2007

We came to visit good old friends in Bonn moved there 5 years ago. Our company suggested this hotel. We know very good 5 stars hotels in the whole world but this isn´t one of them. The rooms are small and the bathroom wasn´t cleaned good. The bed is hard like a rock in Yellowstone. The menu at the restaurant is like in a diner at the highway and the brakfast is boring.

Why it is a designhotel? The interior is unusually but nothing special, the stuff not works like in a five-star-hotel and the services are slowly and of a medium quality. This hotel leaved me the impressure to be leaded unloved.

I can not recommend this hotel. It´s only a youth-hostel but no five-star-hotel.

  • Liked — the breakfast
  • Disliked — the room
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank huvudstad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bonn hotels
Hilton Bonn Hotel
#1 of 79 in Bonn
1,048 reviews
Ibis Bonn
#13 of 79 in Bonn
674 reviews
IntercityHotel Bonn
#8 of 79 in Bonn
308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nordstadt
B&B Hotel Bonn
B&B Hotel Bonn
#16 of 79 in Bonn
111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Galerie Design Hotel Bonn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Galerie Design Hotel Bonn

Property: Galerie Design Hotel Bonn
Address: Koelnstr. 360-364, 53117 Bonn, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Location: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Bonn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Bonn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Galerie Design Hotel Bonn 4.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An ultra-slick desinger showcase on the edge of Bonn. Galerie Design Hotel Bonn is chic and modern with good conference facilities, a private garden, two restaurants and a choice of leisure facilities including a pool, steam bath, sauna and fitness area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Galerie Design Hotel Bonn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Galerie Design Bonn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing