We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Derag Livinghotel Kanzler
Ranked #11 of 79 Hotels in Bonn
Reviewed September 26, 2012

Hotel slightly out of the way, but close to underground and walkable to nearby head office. Good breakfast. Very clean room but smelt a bit of smoke. Bathroom spotless. Comfy bed. Room included free water and beer ! Did not try the restaurant attached, instead walked for 15 minutes into town. Quiet location.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
Thank Mrs_Pound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KanzlerDerag, Verkaufsleiter at Derag Livinghotel Kanzler, responded to this reviewResponded October 26, 2012

Thank you verry much for your realy kind response to our hotel and that and ensure that you took the time to write this. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel and we hope to welcome you back soon in our house.

Kind regards
DERAG Livinghotel Kanzler Taem

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (303)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

75 - 81 of 303 reviews

Reviewed August 18, 2012

+ve:nice location 10 min walking to downtown, friendlly staff, clean rooms, room size, mini kitchen in room.

-ve: no bill boy !! You should carry your bags with you, wifi is very expensive !!

Good hotel and I would recommend

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ALOSAIS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KanzlerDerag, Verkaufsleiter at Derag Livinghotel Kanzler, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2012

Thank you for your kind assessment. We are happy, that you rate our staff as very friendly and that you liked our rooms as well. We are glad to inform you, that we have a so-called trunk, where you can store your luggage so that you do not have to carry your luggage with you. Please also note, that we have the option of one hour free internet per day for you.

We would be pleased to welcome you again in our hotel with the help of the new given informations.

Kind regards

Nadine Happich
Junior Sales Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2012

I have stayed in this hotel more than once (although I am not a frequent visitor) and the reception staff are friendly and helpful. The standard rooms are fine for a mainly business-oriented hotel, and the suites are excellent - spacious and well-decorated. The bar/restaurant (Italian) has some great food and the service is OK. The breakfast set up is limited, often you have to carry food and drink from the serving area across the main hallway to the main breakfast room and at busy periods it can be a bit crowded - get there before (or after) the rush. The food itself is of good quality and the service is friendly and efficient. The fitness room is well-equipped though rather hot. I will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aintynice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2012

We stayed at the Kanzler hotel for 1 month in an Economy serviced apartment. Being our first time in Bonn (and Germany), the Kanzler hotel was a great place to start our trip and get our bearings. We paid 61 Euros per night, which included twice-weekly cleaning of the apartment (bed linens changed once per week) and dishwashing service.

Pros:
- Clean, modern apartments with a comfortable bed, desk and living area, and an adequate kitchenette with a mini fridge, stove top and dishwasher
- Lots of cupboard space in the room to store luggage, clothing etc.
- Good flatscreen TV with English channels that you can swivel to watch from the couch or bed
- Spacious bathroom with plenty of towels, a great shower/tub and a built-in shower gel/shampoo dispenser
- Friendly and helpful English-speaking front-desk staff
- Free unlimited coffee and flavoured water in the lobby, and green apples
- Great "welcome package" with bottles of carbonated and carbonated water, fruit basket, beer, box of spaghetti etc. as well as coupons for free buffet breakfast and one free token each for the washing machine and dryer in the laundry room (normally 2.50 Euros for the washing machine, around 2 Euros for the dryer)

Cons:
- The wireless Internet service was a bit shaky during our stay, and it often cut out or had a weak signal. Guests are entitled to 1 hour of free Internet per day, after which you need to pay. Since the hotel seems to be occupied mainly by business professionals, this is really something that should be fixed.
- Bathroom toiletries are not replaced, so if you use them and are staying for a while you will need to replace them yourself. Also, the welcome package said that we would get water and beer re-stocked in the fridge twice weekly from housekeeping, but this only happened a few times over the 1 month stay.
- The restaurant was good, but a bit pricey, and you have to go to the restaurant itself to look at the menu and order food. For 3 or 4 Euros they will deliver it to your room. The hotel could benefit from establishing a proper room service system, aside from the restaurant.
- While the buffet breakfast was good, it is a bit pricey (I believe 15 Euros per person) so we only went the once when it was free
- The kitchenette wasn't really properly equipped for two people, but after calling to request more dishes, silverware, etc. the hotel staff were happy to oblige
- The location of the hotel is fine (near an Underground station, very convenient if you work in central Bonn or Bad Godesberg) but not really near anything. It is a 10 minute walk to the nearest grocery store (which is tiny) and about 15-20 minutes to walk to the markets and shopping in central Bonn (or three Underground stops, costs 2.60 Euros)
- The gym is okay with lots of cardio and resistance equipment, but no air conditioning so it was often too hot to stay for very long

Overall, we thought that the Kanzler hotel was a great place to begin our stay in Bonn, but due to the location (and cost over time) we decided to move somewhere more central. I would highly recommend this hotel for first stays in Bonn of 1 month or less.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank courtaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2012

A very nice hotel near to the Rhine river.
The staff is helpful and ever-helping. You can also enjoy dining in a in-house restaurant,
with favorite pizzas and more.
The best part is that the hotel is at a walking distance to Rhine and the place is calm, quite, away from city crowded places. Bonn Hauptbahnhof is not far, just 3-4 stations away via the U-Bahn.
Rooms are nice and clean with excellent service.

Stayed in June 2009, writing a bit late this review.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank preetiNits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2012

I have stayed here 3 times, each stay for 4 nights/5 days, in Nov 2011 and Jan 2012. Everything is so dark in this hotel! On the whole it's fine - rooms are quiet and clean, beds are comfortable, bathrooms are good so overall it's acceptable value for money. The first 2 times I stayed I had a huge room with a fully equipped kitchenette which was excellent. This time I have had a significantly smaller room and the kitchenette had no equipment in it at all to start with as the rules have changed from 2012. If you book your room as a 'hotel room' you will not get any kitchenette equipment. To get this, you must book as an 'apartment'. So watch out if you want to be able to self-cater.

There is one free-to-view English language movie channel which is a welcome relief to the usual BBC news / CNN / CNBC rolling news you are usually stuck with on German TV.

Breakfast is ok - expensive for what you get. The Italian restaurant which forms part of the hotel is excellent though- I have eaten there many times now and the standard of food is very high. The service can be a bit hit & miss, but don't let this put you off.

There's are free apples and a free-to-use coffee machine in the lobby for all residents which are nice touches.

Location wise, the Kanzler is on the train line between my office (near the DP tower) and central Bonn, so very convenient. I'm not sure how helpful this would be if you're not here for business though.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kate M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2012

Went there with wife and baby - first had a room allocated somewhere in the back of the hotel - difficult to access with pram so they gave us a room right next to reception. Big room, clean shower. Perfect. What else do you want - room was an upgrade though we booked at a very low price in advance (though Bonn was busy with international Afghanistan conference at that time). Will come back!

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank milkyway23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bonn hotels
1.1 mi away
Hilton Bonn Hotel
Hilton Bonn Hotel
#1 of 79 in Bonn
1,116 reviews
1.8 mi away
Kameha Grand
Kameha Grand
#5 of 79 in Bonn
1,007 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ameron Hotel Koenigshof Bonn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Bonn Marriott World Conference Hotel
1 mi away
IntercityHotel Bonn
IntercityHotel Bonn
#9 of 79 in Bonn
317 reviews
2.9 mi away
Mercure Hotel Bonn Hardtberg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Derag Livinghotel Kanzler? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Derag Livinghotel Kanzler

Address: Adenauerallee 148, 53113 Bonn, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Location: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Bonn
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Bonn
#9 Luxury Hotel in Bonn
Price Range: $84 - $167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Derag Livinghotel Kanzler 4.5*
Number of rooms: 150
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Derag Livinghotel Kanzler reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kanzler Hotel Bonn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing