We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 Degree in the outside train”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of BaseCamp Bonn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
BaseCamp Bonn
Ranked #1 of 20 Specialty Lodging in Bonn
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“5 Degree in the outside train”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2013

I spent 5 nights in the basecamp because of a conference I attended in Bonn.
I shared a ridiculously small room in the outside train with three other people. Everybody of us got sick during these five days because there was no heating machine.(or if there was one it didn't work) Therefore we had about 5 degree in room during night. We could see our own breath! I could have been sleeping outside in my car without turning the motor on.
I would never come back to this hostel.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank martjn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    30
    10
    1
    3
See reviews for
12
20
10
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Krefeld, Germany
Level Contributor
64 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2013

We checked in when the hotel was not open yet and still in a testing period. :-) First I found it strange to park my own VW Van to pay for a night in a caravan, but when we came into the big hall, we were convinced :-)
We chise one of the cheaper and smaller caravans to sleep in, but that was a bad choice. We are both not very tall but the bed was too short. So if you're taller than us (easy! :-) ), choose a bigger (and more expensive) caravan!
The showers and toilets are stylish as well and breakfast is good and filling!
Compared to the comfort of a hotel, the prices are quite high, for one night and the experiene it's o.k. - the other nights I prefer to sleep in my own van (if it's not loaded with goods) that's long enough for me :-)
Nevertheless, we really enjoyed it!

Room Tip: Invest the extra money into a larger caravan. If not, the bed is too short! :-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sfechter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2013

I just stayed at BaseCamp for three nights. Overall the place was great. Staff were helpful, the toilet and shower facilities were much better than other hostels I've visited and the breakfast was free (and pretty good). I really liked the style of the different camper vans, as well as the shared spaces for people to sit out and chat.

I was traveling by myself and stayed in one of the trains. Up to 6 people can stay in each train compartment. Luckily I only had to share with one other person, but any more would have been unmanageable. The compartments were cramped and the higher beds were difficult to access. Moreover, the compartment was very stuffy and smelly with just two of us in there - I can't imagine how bad it would have been if there were 6 of us! The trains didn't have power to charge phones etc. this was a bit of a pain, although the locker system did work well.

I would go back there, but I would prefer not to sleep in the train again!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hannah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013

Great idea, vintage campers in a big hall. Each camper has its own individual design with a small area in front where you can sit.
Included is breakfast and free wifi. Outside is a truck where you can buy good burgers (Pappsatt).
Breakfast is good.
Unfortunately, they are closed during the week in the winter period because of high heating cost.

Room Tip: If you want a 'large room' try one of the airstreams.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Freekbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonn
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2013

I've visited Basecamp a few times and am a huge fan. The set-up is exciting, clean and characterful. You're close to the Museum Mile and there you can find the underground transport to the center of Bonn, just 5 minutes away. Remember that you will be sleeping in a huge hall with others and sharing amenities but for the price, it's a fantastic experience. Bring your camera!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank SteveChippy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bonn hotels
Hilton Bonn Hotel
#1 of 79 in Bonn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 973 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kameha Grand
#3 of 79 in Bonn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 936 reviews
Nordstadt
B&B Hotel Bonn
B&B Hotel Bonn
#19 of 79 in Bonn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
Maritim Hotel Bonn
#34 of 79 in Bonn
3.5 of 5 bubbles 475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BaseCamp Bonn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BaseCamp Bonn

Property: BaseCamp Bonn
Address: In der Raste 1, 53129 Bonn, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Location: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Bonn
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 20 Specialty Lodging in Bonn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — BaseCamp Bonn 2*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotel.de, HostelWorld, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your BaseCamp Bonn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing