We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed our stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ameron Hotel Koenigshof Bonn
Ranked #9 of 79 Hotels in Bonn
Edgefield, South Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Enjoyed our stay!”
Reviewed July 29, 2011

Began our European vacation in Bonn staying at Hotel Koenigshof. We got in on an early flight so the room was not ready when we got there. But the Hotel kept our bags and we walked around downtown. They got our room ready in short order and we were able to get to our room to freshen up.

The room was a nice clean cozy room but the view of the Rhein was very nice.

Breakfast was included in our rate, which we booked through ebookers.com.
Excellent breakfast. Eating outside on the covered patio just added to excellent food on the buffet.

The hotel staff was excellent in every way.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank redrayandredkay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

311 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    134
    57
    17
    8
See reviews for
32
91
22
131
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fairfax, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2011

Stayed here with a wedding party. Our room had no view but was clean and reasonably spacious with a reasonable sized bath. One friend had a similar sized room with tiny, shower-only bath but it did have a Rhine view. Had a very nice breakfast on covered patio overlooking the Rhine. Hotel is within walking distance of city center but rather of a hike from the train station if you're toting luggage -- a taxi cost 6.5 euro.The hotel was a bit pricey but truly a 4-star. Staff was all nice. Internet is free in the lobby if you use the hotel laptop.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VirginiaTraveller63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yeovil, Somerset
Level 6 Contributor
158 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2011

We visited this year to see the Bonn and Koln Christmas markets and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. We drove over from the UK and this was one of the few Bonn hotels that had a secure car park, albeit at a price (€15 per day).

To reiterate what the others have said it is a well-run, clean and well-resourced hotel with very efficient and friendly staff and an excellent breakfast (can’t speak for the restaurant as we ate in town every day). Accommodation and public areas a little dated but otherwise no issues at all - a pleasure to stay.

We have stayed here before and we will return in July with the children (all adults now) to stay again. The location next to the Rhine and at the head of the museum mile (close to the tube) is perfect and the short walk into town will not stress anyone.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SomersetSpud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2010

A bit drab from the outside, but welcoming lobby opening out onto a huge terrace and garden overlooking the Rhine. Receptionists and restaurant staff extremely friendly and helpful. Large room and bathroom with two sinks, a tub and a separate shower stall; toiletries a joke (a bar of soap and a shampoo dispenser in the shower). Furniture (and tv) a bit outdated, but comfy beds and huge windows overlooking Hofgarten park. Decent breakfast in a restaurant overlooking the Rhine, room service good and quick. A four-minute walk to the nearest tube station, 7 minutes to the main square, 10 minutes to the train station. I booked through onhotels.com, which I had not heard of before, and got a fantastic deal, paying € 66 (including breakfast) instead of their competitors' lowest price of € 99. Will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ijnlg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Level 6 Contributor
191 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2010

We had a nice stay at this hotel last weekend. Reception was very professional and helpful. We had a room with Rhine-view. The view was very nice, the room clean and spacious, only the bathroom was less than expected.
Breakfast was wonderful, plenty of choice, everything very fresh and staff super-friendly.
We had diner at Oliveto's which was nice but not all courses were equally good. E.g. the first course (salad) was just a handful of lettuce with (too much) balsamic vinegar on it. Nothing refined about it. Other courses were tasteful but nothing spectacular or above standard.
Conclusion : a fine hotel with excellent location. The restaurant is not a must! Oh yes, and no sports facilities (swimming pool, fitness), something that a hotel of this standard should have.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank deedee-2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviewed September 22, 2010

Had great view over the Rhine. The room was large (even by European standards), the duvets superb! The staff are friendly, efficient and proficient in English. Buffet breakfast offered a wide variety and provision for those that need to take a packed breakfast (including coffee/tea) - loved it! A few steps walk from the ferry across the Rhine - much quicker and better value for money than taking a taxi.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michellew99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
159 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2010

We spent five nights at the Koenigshof in Bonn while attending a conference at the Bonn University. The hotel's location on the river, but just south of the university made it an ideal site--we opted for the higher cost of a river-view room and I think it was worth it. The view across the Rhine is ok, but the parade of maritime traffic was somehow mesmerizing. The hotel facilities were spotless; our room was quiet and the bed induced easy sleep. Our television controller was not working, but someone soon came to correct it. The service was extremely cordial. It was at the end of the famous 'hot spell' of this past summer. The airconditioning worked perfectly.

What to say about the Restaurant Olivieto? Well, the breakfast buffet was outstanding--something for everybody. When it came to dinner, we could avail ourselves of the service only for two nights. It is rather pricey, but the quality of the food, the preparation and the presentation were outstanding. Reservations seem to be required--we did get in on a Sunday evening without, but others were turned away later. The staff are knowledgable and professional and I would say that even if you are not staying at the hotel--and have a day ahead to book a table, do it!

One note--the regular lifts operate from the ground floor up to the room levels, but not to the basement where the restaurant is located. But I was told that anyone with access problems would be taken down in a service elevator if they would just request it.
One other quirk--energy saving lighting devices lower the lights in the corridors when no one is moving--so after getting off the lift, walk right on--the lights will come on in an instant.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shri420
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bonn hotels
Hilton Bonn Hotel
#1 of 79 in Bonn
1,053 reviews
IntercityHotel Bonn
#8 of 79 in Bonn
309 reviews
Kameha Grand
#5 of 79 in Bonn
980 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Zentrum
Collegium Leoninum Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ameron Hotel Koenigshof Bonn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ameron Hotel Koenigshof Bonn

Property: Ameron Hotel Koenigshof Bonn
Address: Adenauerallee 9, 53111 Bonn, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Location: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Bonn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Bonn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ameron Hotel Koenigshof Bonn 4*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4 star Ameron Hotel Konigshof is located in the centre of Bonn city centre, yet in a quiet area between the banks of the river Rhine and the Hofgarten. The tram station "Universitat/Markt" is located only 350m from the hotel and thus guarantees perfect travel connections with public transport in and around Bonn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ameron Hotel Koenigshof Bonn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Koenigshof Hotel Bonn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing