We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great staff & breakfast; small beds; high internet charges” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of SternHotel Bonn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
SternHotel Bonn
Ranked #15 of 79 Hotels in Bonn
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great staff & breakfast; small beds; high internet charges”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2013

Stayed here for five days. Love the location on the historic town square. Had an interior courtyard room, which was perfect for this trip as it's very quiet and I needed the quiet. I heard from colleagues that the rooms overlooking the platz have nice views of the platz.

The staff was very friendly and helpful. They helped me figure out how to rent a bike from the Radstation, they helped me reserve a train to Paris, they helped me track down my laptop power cord I'd left in a meeting room on the other side of Bonn.

I would recommend this hotel, with a couple caveats. Recently, apparently, the hotel switched to a new wi-fi policy of charging for wi-fi by time, instead of by day or just offering it along with rooms. So you must buy it in 1-, 3- or 10-hour increments. You can apparently keep track of how much you're using via a pop-up window... except that never popped up on my Mac, which also wasn't logging me out of wi-fi when I thought I was logged out. So I spent a small fortune for wi-fi. I'm sure this is what the management wants. I was in Bonn for work, and it's ridiculous to be trying to conserve time on internet while working and trying to communicate with colleagues in Bonn for work and across the globe. So -- until mgmt changes this dumb new policy, I will avoid this hotel on future work trips to Bonn.

The beds are small - twin-sized, really. They said that's how Europeans like them. OK. But fair warning. There are no washcloths provided in the bathrooms - they're "for kids" I was told when I asked, and if I wanted one, I could go buy one down the street. OK. Fair warning.

The breakfast buffet is very good.

Room Tip: Choose courtyard for quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fulan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    90
    33
    8
    7
See reviews for
13
41
13
113
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Zichron Yaakov, Israel
Level Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013

We checked in to the hotel on Wednesday June 19 2013. We had a great time so after few days in the Romantic Rhein we decided to book it again. With the small print in the booking.com app I made a mistake and booked 22/6 instead of 23/6, the day I actually came in. They told me they sent me email in the morning that I did not show up. I asked why the evening receptionist did not try to call me or send me email to verify why I am not showing up and the answer was that "he is not trained to do that". I said I will pay for another night and I did. In the morning I tried to convince the receptionist that they could be generous and refund me on the lost night. They refused. Obviously, this is out of season and while they kept the room for me, they did not have to refuse anyone for that, so this is just an excuse to make another 115 euro. While this was my responsibility and I should have checked my booking confirmation, I know that many places, (I run one myself) would have refund a guest who came twice that week. I also believe that telling you the night receptionist can't handle a no show?
I am not coming again.
There is a lower grade cheaper hotel in the ally just left to this hotel's building, We checked the rooms there too and they will be quite enough for us next time.
Another pain point in this hotel - internet for 10 euro per hour after you already have paid 155 for a luxury room? and a single computer for all guests? Not in par with the pose the hotel is trying to put on.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Or B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2013 via mobile

Otherwise I hope that my room was not the norm but the exception...

Good
-Central location with public parking deck underneath the hotel
-Very good breakfast buffet with plenty of high end choices and all freshly prepared

Bad
-very odd room arrangement on the 4th floor that must have been converted in the 80s to cram in a shower and toilet. The bathroom felt like it was more part of the hallway and sink was in the bedroom. Old doors are poorly insulated and you could hear every step on the outside hallway.
-fairly expensive for the quality of the room.

Conclusion
The breakfast is worthy of a 4* or more but the room left much to be desired. Given the room price there are better value propositions in Bonn, especially if you don't need to be in the centre of town.

Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank wolfmedic77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2013

I loved the service at this hotel, the staff are so helpful and polite that one feels quite at home. during our business meeting, they allowed us to use their board room for a quick meeting for free - rare with many establishments. This made up for the fact that internet access is pretty expensive. However, perhaps Stern is not the only one that needs to reconsider this. Rooms are cozy, warm (in the winter), well light and positioned. And the breakfast is great - such variety of protein, pastry, juices teas and coffee.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wanja_Nairobi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013

I stayed at the Stern Hotel while on business in March 2013, and while I enjoyed the central location in Bonn and a generally friendly service, the rooms and the interior in general were not up to the 4 star standard the hotel advertises (e.g. on its website: http://www.sternhotel-bonn.de/index.php/en/).

First of all, I am not that picky when it comes to hotels. However, if a hotel advertises its 4 star classification, they should deliver. The interior of the hotel is very small and looks quite old, starting at the front desk, continuing with the stairs and the elevator, and finishing with the rooms. You enter your room with a traditional key that would not feel out of place at a youth hostel. The door to your room leads to directly to a shower on the left side, and an ultra-small extra room with the toilet on your right side. Confusingly, the sink is part of the main room. The furnishings in the small main room were ok, but looked noticeably inexpensive. A small tube TV should not be state-of-the-art in 2013, and a bedspread was lacking as well.

Since the hotel does not have its own fitness room, you have access to a spacious "Fitness First" gym across the marketplace - with very limited opening hours, though. Cars can be parked at the public "Marktplatz" underground garage directly adjacent to the hotel. If you just park your car there overnight, you only pay EUR1 per night.

Overall, the two only real bright spots during my eight-day stay were the central location of the hotel and the good breakfast buffet in a relatively modern breakfast room. Service was friendly, too. One concern I had is that the front desk hands out room keys to hotel guests who had deposited it there for the day without asking for a name or identification - this must be improved for security reasons.

I would definitely not invite business guests to this hotel, especially if they are used to international standards. As a leisure traveller, I may return because of the hotel's central location, if not much else.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MT87_Germany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalamazoo, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2013

I stay here for one week every year. Every year I have a wonderful experience. The view can be wonderful, overlooking the main market place and the city hall, the rooms are extremely clean and very modern, breakfast is excellent.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank oliv1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

My wife and I stayed here while on business last Fall. We took a very spacious suite in the upper floor. Although the unit had no air conditioning and it was a very hot period in Bonn, the hotel kindly lent us a large fan, which provided ample air movement so we were able to sleep comfortably. The shower was fine except that I can't stand those squeeze bottles of body soap. You never know when they will empty on you as you can't see the level. I prefer a simple bar of soap, but I guess that's not the European way.

Breakfast was included and was quite good. For those that exercise, there's a large gym across the street, but the downside is that everyone leaves their weights all over the place, i.e., it's not supervised.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ouadad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bonn hotels
Hilton Bonn Hotel
#1 of 79 in Bonn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 957 reviews
Zentrum
Collegium Leoninum Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SternHotel Bonn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SternHotel Bonn

Property: SternHotel Bonn
Address: Markt 8, 53111 Bonn, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Location: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Bonn > Zentrum
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Bonn
#11 Luxury Hotel in Bonn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — SternHotel Bonn 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotel.de, Hotels.com, Booking.com and HRS so you can book your SternHotel Bonn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sternhotel Hotel Bonn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing