We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a four star !!!”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of President Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
President Hotel
Ranked #21 of 79 Hotels in Bonn
1 review
“Not a four star !!!”
Reviewed May 29, 2012

I stayed at this hotel for 3 nights and was v disappointed. I am shocked that this very mediocre hotel is a 4 stars.
Location is terrible as the hotel is built over a highway which makes opening the windows virtually possible. The decoration is depressing. No free wifi.
The rooms are ok but nothing especial. Will never stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kuku18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PresidentBonn, Direktionsassistent at President Hotel, responded to this review, June 4, 2012
Dear Kuku18,

first of all we would like to thank you for choosing the President Hotel as your destination Hotel for your last trip to Bonn. We appreciate the time you have taken to share your comments with us.

With regret we learned that you were not satisfied with your stay.

With the distributor road leading to the motor way underneath and the busy shopping mile Clemens-August-Straße it may well be noisy during the day, though the location is mostly valued for its closeness to the city center and lovely neighbourhood.

We are sorry that our establishment did not match your taste; we try to meet everybody’s fancies within a realizable dimension.

The Internet is offered by a private provider simply to protect us from unpleasant legal consequences. We are checking other options and hopefully soon we will find a costumer friendly solution.

Dear Kuku18, despite your experience we hope to welcome you back at the President Hotel in the future!

With best regards from Bonn

Kathrin Wenzel
Assistant to the Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    70
    70
    20
    7
See reviews for
15
38
18
102
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Richmond-upon-Thames, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
825 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 357 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2012

We spent a night at the President as it was beside the botanic gardens which we were visiting. The staff were friendly the room was comfortable ... and we were charged what our booking agent said we would pay.

It was ideal for one night even though it was built over a noisy main road so we had to keep the windows tightly shut overnight.

It is in a good part of Bonn and the road in which it is situated has a number of pleasant shops and restaurants. It is also on three buses to the town centre and railway station so travel was not a problem. You can also walk just over a mile from the hotel in parks and reach the river Rhine.

Room Tip: Good in every respect except that it is built over a main road and the rooms at the back overlook he...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SergeLourie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2012

The hotel is in a nice location for people visiting the university. However, I was quoted €450 for a week's stay and was charged €521. I was told that they'd follow up by email before I arrived, but they didn't. I was told at check-in that they knew that I had overpaid, but it would be handled at check-out. When I came to check-out, I was told that the manager didn't work at the weekend and no-one knew about the matter...so I'm out €70. I feel rather badly treated because of this!

The beds, as mentioned in other reviews, are pretty soft and are uncomfortable if you sleep on your front. The hotel was reasonably quiet, but I was woken by house-keeping at 9.15am on the Saturday morning. The breakfast was pretty good, but the beer from the bar was not - if it was available. I tried to get a beer at 11.30pm on a Thursday evening, but was told that the bar was closed and that was quite annoying. Internet access was extra on the room rate, which is standard in Germany, but frustrating compared to a lot of other countries...especially since this hotel seems to have a lot of business travellers. A double room was two singles pushed together...not even a double mattress! If I was to come to Bonn again, I'd likely try to stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kryptikmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Bonn hotels

Celje
Level Contributor
45 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2012

I came to hotel at early in the evening. Girls at the reception were not very friendly. They gave me a room that had very strange odor. I requested another room but received smoking room with the explanation that hotel is fully booked. Hotel is nothing special and in my opinion is not the 4 star hotel.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ribez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2011

Located about 15 minutes walk from center of city and from train station, this is a very good and reasonably priced hotel. Breakfast is convenient and quite good; staff are very friendly and typically bi-lingual (at least)> Hotel is quiet and comfortable, located in a two-block area with small shops and restaurants, and residential area....felt very much an excellent home-base for Bonn-Cologne area. Rooms are clean, comfortable, and good temperature.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ProfTraveler58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weston, FL
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2011

Best XXL Schnitzel that you can find in Bonn (Euro 17.70). Elegant place, highly recommend.
I cannot comment on the hotel, since I did not use it.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Artbusca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bonn hotels
Hilton Bonn Hotel
#1 of 79 in Bonn
973 reviews
Zentrum
Collegium Leoninum Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Südstadt
Guennewig Hotel Residence
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to President Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about President Hotel

Property: President Hotel
Address: Clemens-August Strasse 32-36, 53115 Bonn, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Location: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Bonn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#14 Luxury Hotel in Bonn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — President Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to PRESIDENT HOTEL Bonn! Our 4-star hotel in close proximity to Bonn's city centre and downtown area is ideally situated for our guests' transportation needs. Our hotel for business trips and conferences makes a great location for events of both private and business nature. But that's not all: during your stay in Bonn Poppelsdorf you can take advantage of rooms from four different categories and enjoy our splendid gastronomy at the restaurant "clementine". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotel.de, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your President Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
President Hotel Bonn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing