We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Okay, nothing special”
Review of Hilton Bonn Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hilton Bonn Hotel
Ranked #1 of 79 Hotels in Bonn
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed September 3, 2013

The Bonn Hilton met my expectations - a standard Hilton hotel. Rooms are large, but standard, with the Nespresso machine as a nice extra. Location is good next to the river and very close to the city centre. Breakfast was okay, nothing special, so a bit too expensive. Difficulties in adjusting the AC, it was too warm in my room. Had dinner in the bar one night, also nothing more than okay.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank semager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,151)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

385 - 391 of 1,151 reviews

Reviewed August 27, 2013

Good location in the centre of Bonn overlooking the Rhine.

Fast, efficient and friendly check-in and checkout. Rooms are of the standard Hilton type – comfortable and large but not luxurious. Room service food was ok but nothing special.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tipptravellingman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2013

We choose the Hilton for location and easy parking, nice to walk along the Rhine in the evening after dinner. Ideally located a short 10 minute walk into the city center. Also perfect if you are going to the Opera around the corner
Rooms are general quality level of the Hilton chain - with all the amenities - hairdryer, safe deposit box etc. - we were upgraded to Rhine view and we were in a deluxe room with balcony - a nice perk to start the day with an espresso from the Nespresso machine and sit on the balcony and watch the ships roll down the Rhine.
Our rate included breakfast which was okay - wide choice buffet but a little run down with the general "messiness" of buffets. Staff was a little mixed - either very good or very bad.
Reception was very nice and helpful - would stay here again.

Room Tip: Would contemplating upgrading to deluxe for size and amenities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Schnap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2013

2 stops on UBahn from station.5 minutes walk to UBahn.Room was fine quiet and well equipped.Pool just for a plunge.Breakfast at 25 euro too expensive as is wi fi. Not very close to food shops or restaurants but some bakeries nearby which serve light breakfast.Rooms at back are quiet. AC was too cold and would not adjust so I turned it off.Poor tv reception on BBC world flickering picture but it had cnn etc too.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oreganoItaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2013

We recently stayed in the hotel and selected the hotel based on parking and location, and the general quality level of the Hilton chain.

Price: the room rate was rather high, reflecting the July high-season. Also Internet was rather high at 20 Euro per day, considering T-Mobile offer a 4.95 rate for their 24hr Wifi hitspots in Germany.

Quality: excellent, but. We initially had a number of minor issues which combined became a significant problem. However, all of these were resolved and the management team did an exceptional job of communicating with us.

Service: following on from the previous comments. The service at the hotel was really excellent, from the check-in staff, housekeeping, restaurant and general management, they all seemed extremely concerned that our stay was initially poor due to a number of minor issues. These were all resolved and we were given a number of complimentary items that more than resolved our initial disappointment.

Facilities: the restaurant is good, breakfast was excellent and it was great to be greeted by your name upon arrival each morning. The gym was well maintained, my only issue was a lack of air-conditioning but this is in the process of being resolved. There is a pool, it looks nice, but I did not use it. There is underground parking which is also excellent, very secure and plenty of space. We arrived in a sports car with low suspension and had no trouble getting in and out of the garage, which can be a problem at some hotel locations in major cities.

Overall I can highly recommend the Hilton Bonn hotel. Simply from the attitude of the staff alone, but combined with the excellent location and faculties it was well worth the visit. We will definitely stay again at the hotel.

Room Tip: The hotel is next to the river and major road, so if you want a quiet room then I suggest you ask fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daniel K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2013

The Hilton Bonn is ideally situated right on the Rhine, about a 10 minute walk to the cit center. There is free wi-fi in the lobby of the hotel. To access your room, you have to use the key card in the lift. Each room has a hair dryer, safety box, iron with ironing board, coffee maker and flat screen tv. The double beds are 1 bed like in the US (hard to find in Europe). Breakfast was good and was located downstairs - buffet style...everything you can think of, they basically had (eggs, meat, rolls, cakes cereal, etc). I stayed in a deluxe room (room 414). It had a small balcony which was nice. I recommend this hotel...especially for American Travelers...as the rooms are a decent size, as are the bathrooms and the bedding is very standard to American beds.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TBiird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2013

Back again and enjoyed a nice BBQ dinner and wines in the inner courtyard. Nice place to be in the late Spring to early Fall period. Great value for money and a nice Sunday brunch will lots of bubbles.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank HobbyCheF L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bonn hotels
0.3 mi away
Ameron Hotel Koenigshof Bonn
2.5 mi away
Kameha Grand
Kameha Grand
#6 of 79 in Bonn
1,025 reviews
0.6 mi away
IntercityHotel Bonn
IntercityHotel Bonn
#9 of 79 in Bonn
326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Centro Hotel Bristol
Centro Hotel Bristol
#31 of 79 in Bonn
221 reviews
3.3 mi away
Mercure Hotel Bonn Hardtberg
1.5 mi away
Bonn Marriott World Conference Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Bonn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Bonn Hotel

Address: Berliner Freiheit 2, 53111 Bonn, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Bonn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Bonn
#1 Green Hotel in Bonn
#1 Luxury Hotel in Bonn
#3 Romantic Hotel in Bonn
#6 Business Hotel in Bonn
Price Range: $100 - $262 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Bonn Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 252
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the River Rhine, the Hilton Bonn hotel is situated in the heart of Bonn's city center, close to both businesses and tourist attractions. Guests will find this Bonn hotel the ideal location for trip to the cosmopolitan German city. Take a leisurely walk along the riverside and explore historical and contemporary attractions. Enjoy a Terrace brunch or breakfast with stunning views of the River Rhine. Dine at the Grill restaurant serving different cuts of dry aged beef or the finest grilled fish or have a small bite and quick simple dishes to go at SNAX. With a fitness center, pool, sauna and relaxed drinks at the contemporary Kennedy Bar, guests can enjoy more than a peaceful night's sleep in this Bonn hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hilton Bonn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton International Bonn
Hilton Bonn
Bonn Hilton International

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing