We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Business Hotel”
Review of Hilton Bonn Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Bonn Hotel
Ranked #1 of 79 Hotels in Bonn
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Western Ireland, Ireland
Level Contributor
148 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Good Business Hotel”
Reviewed August 11, 2013

2 stops on UBahn from station.5 minutes walk to UBahn.Room was fine quiet and well equipped.Pool just for a plunge.Breakfast at 25 euro too expensive as is wi fi. Not very close to food shops or restaurants but some bakeries nearby which serve light breakfast.Rooms at back are quiet. AC was too cold and would not adjust so I turned it off.Poor tv reception on BBC world flickering picture but it had cnn etc too.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oreganoItaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,011 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    399
    409
    137
    43
    23
See reviews for
139
324
75
385
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
55 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2013

We recently stayed in the hotel and selected the hotel based on parking and location, and the general quality level of the Hilton chain.

Price: the room rate was rather high, reflecting the July high-season. Also Internet was rather high at 20 Euro per day, considering T-Mobile offer a 4.95 rate for their 24hr Wifi hitspots in Germany.

Quality: excellent, but. We initially had a number of minor issues which combined became a significant problem. However, all of these were resolved and the management team did an exceptional job of communicating with us.

Service: following on from the previous comments. The service at the hotel was really excellent, from the check-in staff, housekeeping, restaurant and general management, they all seemed extremely concerned that our stay was initially poor due to a number of minor issues. These were all resolved and we were given a number of complimentary items that more than resolved our initial disappointment.

Facilities: the restaurant is good, breakfast was excellent and it was great to be greeted by your name upon arrival each morning. The gym was well maintained, my only issue was a lack of air-conditioning but this is in the process of being resolved. There is a pool, it looks nice, but I did not use it. There is underground parking which is also excellent, very secure and plenty of space. We arrived in a sports car with low suspension and had no trouble getting in and out of the garage, which can be a problem at some hotel locations in major cities.

Overall I can highly recommend the Hilton Bonn hotel. Simply from the attitude of the staff alone, but combined with the excellent location and faculties it was well worth the visit. We will definitely stay again at the hotel.

Room Tip: The hotel is next to the river and major road, so if you want a quiet room then I suggest you ask fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
117 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2013

The Hilton Bonn is ideally situated right on the Rhine, about a 10 minute walk to the cit center. There is free wi-fi in the lobby of the hotel. To access your room, you have to use the key card in the lift. Each room has a hair dryer, safety box, iron with ironing board, coffee maker and flat screen tv. The double beds are 1 bed like in the US (hard to find in Europe). Breakfast was good and was located downstairs - buffet style...everything you can think of, they basically had (eggs, meat, rolls, cakes cereal, etc). I stayed in a deluxe room (room 414). It had a small balcony which was nice. I recommend this hotel...especially for American Travelers...as the rooms are a decent size, as are the bathrooms and the bedding is very standard to American beds.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TBiird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
241 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2013 via mobile

Back again and enjoyed a nice BBQ dinner and wines in the inner courtyard. Nice place to be in the late Spring to early Fall period. Great value for money and a nice Sunday brunch will lots of bubbles.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank HobbyCheF L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed July 14, 2013

I went to Bonn for business. Choice of accommodation was very important. Nice hotel with good service. On-site gym, good lobby bar. Close to everything. Safe area. Easy access to any part of the city. Prices are not low, but for the quality you pay for.

Room Tip: Choose a room on the west side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank T_T_80_T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
103 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2013

fairly expensive restaurant/bar, but overall a great hotel and excellent staff. Breakfast was of very good quality. Pool is a bit small for real lane swimming, but well maintained as is the Sauna area.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank insulaner1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlsbad, California
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

We recently stayed at this Hilton to attend the German Grand Prix. I guess we were not the only ones, as the hotel was quite full both of fans, other tourists, and people for a meeting. The front desk staff was friendly and welcoming, despite the busyness. Our room was of decent size, with an average bathroom. The highlight of the room was the balcony that looks out to the river. It was a warm and lovely weekend in the area and the balcony was a perfect spot to sip some champagne and enjoy the night! The side of the building facing the river only had balconies on one side of the 4th floor, so if that is what you are interested in that be sure to request it. Not sure what the other side had. The room was clean and the bed comfortable but the air conditioning wasn't the greatest. The breakfast buffet was included for us and was pretty good. The typical Hilton offerings, a little something for everyone. There is both indoor and outdoor seating and despite the amount of people that were staying at the hotel, we never had to wait to be seated. We did have dinner at their restaurant, Oliva. Outside seating was unavailable due to a function going on,(Same outside seating for breakfast) so ate inside. Although a limited menu, the food was tasty. Hubby had lamb accompanied by 2 sides. His choice (you have a few to chose from) was a truffle risotto and also a mushroom ragout. He was very happy with his choice! I had a very tasty large salad with grilled chicken and 2 glasses of wine each. Prices were reasonable, 65 euros total, and service was good. While there is no executive lounge, they did give us a voucher for a drink each at the bar in the lobby which was a nice. Parking at the hotel is expensive. 26 euros a night. While we parked there the first night, the 2nd night we found street parking half a block away. Over all, it was a good stay. If we happen to be in Bonn again, we would come back.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Snormy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bonn hotels
2.5 mi away
Kameha Grand
Kameha Grand
#3 of 79 in Bonn
967 reviews
1.5 mi away
Bonn Marriott World Conference Hotel
0.6 mi away
IntercityHotel Bonn
IntercityHotel Bonn
#9 of 79 in Bonn
298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Ameron Hotel Koenigshof Bonn
3.3 mi away
Mercure Hotel Bonn Hardtberg
4.4 mi away
Villa Godesberg
Villa Godesberg
#2 of 79 in Bonn
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Bonn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Bonn Hotel

Property: Hilton Bonn Hotel
Address: Berliner Freiheit 2, 53111 Bonn, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Bonn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Bonn
#1 Luxury Hotel in Bonn
#1 Green Hotel in Bonn
#3 Romantic Hotel in Bonn
#6 Business Hotel in Bonn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Bonn Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 252
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the River Rhine, the Hilton Bonn hotel is situated in the heart of Bonn's city center, close to both businesses and tourist attractions. Guests will find this Bonn hotel the ideal location for trip to the cosmopolitan German city. Take a leisurely walk along the riverside and explore historical and contemporary attractions. Enjoy a Terrace brunch or breakfast with stunning views of the River Rhine. Dine at the Grill restaurant serving different cuts of dry aged beef or the finest grilled fish or have a small bite and quick simple dishes to go at SNAX. With a fitness center, pool, sauna and relaxed drinks at the contemporary Kennedy Bar, guests can enjoy more than a peaceful night's sleep in this Bonn hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotel.de, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hilton Bonn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton International Bonn
Hilton Bonn
Bonn Hilton International

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing