We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A real find!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Guennewig Hotel Bristol by Centro

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Guennewig Hotel Bristol by Centro
Ranked #45 of 79 Hotels in Bonn
Rotorua, New Zealand
Level Contributor
45 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“A real find!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2012

Located 2 minutes walk from the bus and train stations, and the main shopping area, this remarkably quiet hotel is a real find. Some might say it's old fashioned, but for me, it was charming. Don't get me wrong, I love funky modern hotels, but everything about this place just felt homely and right. It's big, but feels like a family run place, with friendly staff from several generations. My room was spacious, and had everything you might need for a few days away - including decent air-con: a necessity in humid June! Breakfast was fresh, with plenty of choice. Has a swimming pool, but didn't use it. Next time I'm in Bonn, I'd have no qualms about coming back here. Here for business, but would happily bring family.

Room Tip: Exit the train station in the direction opposite 'city'. There are no stairs, and the walk i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank glynn101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    82
    54
    21
    8
See reviews for
23
25
12
118
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2012

Nicely located hotel, close to the city centre and an easy walk to the university and the Rhine. The staff are very courteous and helpful. I found the bed comfortable. Easy WiFi access to internet (not free).

My single complaint is that the safe in the room was not wide enough to be able to be able to store my laptop, hence I needed to take my computer with me every time I left the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Frade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chania
Level Contributor
47 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2012

A nice hotel located in the centre of Bonn next to the train station and very close to the shopping centre of Bonn.
The room was very comfortable and the quality of sleep in high standards.
The breakfast was a typical good buffet breakfast.
In general good value for money but with a main disantvantage for those that need to work in their laptop during their stay: the internet access is not free, as a matter of fact is expensive: 8 euros per day !

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Yiannis M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caversham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2012

This is a lovely oldy-worldy hotel, superbly located in the centre of Bonn a 5 minute stroll from the main train station (Haubtbahnhof). I had a single room complete with single bed which took some getting used to, but when I wasn't worrying about falling out it was very comfy. The room itself was small but perfectly formed. The bathroom was also good with nice powerful shower. I had a corner room on the 7th floor with 2 walls of windows offering excellent views over Bonn. Room was still quiet though and I slept well.

We had the buffet dinner one evening in the hotel restaurant and it was very tasty, although we had to finish by 9.30pm as they were closing. There is a swimming pool & sauna but I didn't try them out. Internet access is available but you have to pay extra (annoying). On the plus side, there was only a €3 surcharge to have breakfast delivered to my room :-)

Room Tip: Room 715 is a corner room on the top floor with amazing views over Bonn.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2012

great hotel very helpfull staff, room was great also ate in the kubbercluasen bar downstairs in the hotel and the food was excellent, very clean and people very good english and could not do enough

Room Tip: make sure you ask for a non smoking room but all room where of equal qualitty
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 186233Graham153
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
70 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2012

This is a pretty standard german hotel with comfortably firm, single beds for single travelers. It was clean but the internet signal was weaker in rooms farther away from the elevator and requires T-mobile access. The breakfast buffet is typical but altogether this hotel is good value and a very easy walk from the train station. A neutral choice overall; please offer free internet!

Room Tip: Internet signal decreases as one moves away from the elevator area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank aerotraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2011

Stayed here recently for work. Nice and close to the station and the city centre.

Hotel is generally good but a little on the old fashioned side. Food okay but again a little old fashioned. Rooms are a good size.

Staff very friendly and helpful. Spoke English very well.

I would stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SteveBGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bonn hotels
Hotel Kurfuerstenhof
#48 of 79 in Bonn
3.5 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Zentrum
Hotel Loehndorf
Hotel Loehndorf
#24 of 79 in Bonn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
Hotel Mercedes
#46 of 79 in Bonn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Guennewig Hotel Bristol by Centro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guennewig Hotel Bristol by Centro

Property: Guennewig Hotel Bristol by Centro
Address: Prinz-Albert Strasse 2 | Innenstadt, 53113 Bonn, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Location: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Bonn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#22 Luxury Hotel in Bonn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Guennewig Hotel Bristol by Centro 4.5*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hospitality and tradition are the trademarks of the Gunnewig Hotel Bristol Bonn. This hotel is located in the heart of the federal city of Bonn, and is in the immediate vicinity of the former government quarter. It stands on the picturesque avenue between two major historical monuments, Poppelsdorfer Castle and the former residence of the elector, today housing part of the University of Bonn. The main train station, the shuttle bus stop to Cologne Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotel.de and Hotels.com so you can book your Guennewig Hotel Bristol by Centro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Guennewig Hotel Bonn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing