We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dated, at good location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Guennewig Hotel Residence
Ranked #31 of 79 Hotels in Bonn
Amsterdam
Level 6 Contributor
211 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Dated, at good location”
Reviewed August 27, 2013

This hotel is just outside the city center and very close to bus and train stations. Being close to train stations also makes this hotel a bit noisy during the night, depending on where your room is. Room sizes are very different, also depending on where your room is, just like WiFi connection.
Staff is very friendly, but the hotel itself needs major upgrades. Elevators are very small, never indicating if they go up or down and very old (1987). I still go there, as there are not many options in Bonn for this price range.
When you stay over 5 nights a year, you get free membership to a real Gym (walking distance from hotel).

Room Tip: Hard to find a room that is quiet, large with good WiFi in this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank koekeloer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nolden, Assistant of Director of Sales at Guennewig Hotel Residence, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Dear Koekeloer,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your impression about the Günnewig Hotel Residence.

We are very glad that you have enjoyed your stay with us and are really pleased about your overall positive feed back.

Concerning the things you did not like and have mentioned in your comment like the strength of the WiFi connection, we would like to inform you that we are currently in the process of changing that and think that by October-November this year we should have an obvious improvement.

We are also glad that you like our offer to use the gym in the vicinity “Fitness First”. We have found out that this offer appeals to many of our guests, many of them save the shower for later when they come back to the hotel where they can jump in our in-door swimming-pool.

We hope to see you again in Bonn soon and would be very happy to greet you once more in one of our hotels in Bonn.

Mit freundlichen Grüßen

Günnewig Hotel Bristol | Bonn
Günnewig Hotel Residence
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    76
    64
    21
    11
See reviews for
16
33
18
106
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Zaventem, Belgium
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is very centrally located. The staff is very friendly and helpfull. The room was clean but a little bit old style.
We bought a internet card, but it didn't work properly, so we complaint at the front desk. They were very helpfull, they didn't charge the cards and they appologized for the bad connection.
Breakfast was good, but it was not what I expect from a 4* hotel. For example: there was no fresh orange juice.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank HeidiLagneaux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nolden, Assistant of Director of Sales at Guennewig Hotel Residence, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Dear HeidiLagneax,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your impression about the Günnewig Hotel Residence.

We are very glad that you have enjoyed your stay with us and are really pleased about your overall positive feed back. We shall happily convey your praise to our staff.

Also concerning the things you did not like and have mentioned in your comment, like fresh orange juice, we shall consider serving it for breakfast and will keep working on improving our services to meet the expectations of our guests.

Considering the style of the rooms: We are planning a major renovation for the entire hotel which would most probably take place in 2015 and would obviously result in a more modern styling for the guest rooms. As soon as it is in progress we shall keep you informed about it.

We hope to see you again in Bonn soon and would be very happy to greet you once more in one of our hotels in Bonn.

Günnewig Hotel Residence
and
Günnewig Hotel Bristol

Best regards

Mahmoud Karim
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomfield Hills, Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Stayed 3 nights in early July for a conference in the city. Good location just 3 minutes or so walk from the train and bus station, on the edge of the old city center. So it is easy to walk to restaurants, Beethoven's house museum and other places located in the center city.

Room was basic furnishing (hotel rated 4 stars but room furnishing doesn't quite seem to match that expectation, including small screen flat TV), clean (except for some of the grouting inside the shower) with good shower although in my room it was a high step into the tub for the shower. Rather thin towels but adequate. About the smallest elevators I've seen in a hotel but the two of them worked quickly so the wait was never long while I was there.

Quaint note... genuine old-style metal keys for room entry.

Hotel staff at front desk were very helpful with maps and such to walk around the small center city area. And quickly suggested going to a local Starbucks for wi-fi to avoid hotel Internet access fees. Fee here was both for room and lobby access... someday the gradual changes happening elsewhere in Internet access fees will arrive at this hotel chain.

There is a restaurant and room service (with the note that there is no charge for room delivery!) but I didn't try either of those options.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FrequentHappyTravele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nolden, Assistentin des Verkaufsdirektors at Guennewig Hotel Residence, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Dear FrequentHappyTraveller,

Thank you for sharing your impressions about your stay in our Hotel.

We shall definitely use your comments to evaluate our performance and see what we can do better. At the moment we are starting our planning for a major renovation, so we shall be more than happy to address your comments about the room furnishing or the high step into the tub.

We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay in Bonn and have given us a positive feed-back; at the same time we are always willing to readjust to meet our guests’ expectations.

We hope to see you again real soon in the Günnewig Hotel Residence.

Best regards

Mahmoud Karim
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2013

We had travelled from the UK to stay in Bonn, and wanted a hotel very close to the centre, as well as being close to the Hauptbahnhof (Main Train Station)

The hotel is very grand, a bit opera like. Rooms a good size, but a bit annoying that our double room was booked with twin beds, but seeing as it was only for one night, not really a problem.

Parking is underneath the hotel, and really liked you could get from rooms to basement without having to carry all of our bags through reception to check out.

My only moan was that I was told wifi would be 4.95 euros, but it only worked in certain places in the room, so this was a waste.
I was also slightly upset that a charge of 8 euros was made for allowing us to have our cat in the room, even though I was told it was free.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mike2222Southampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
270 reviews
135 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2013

Our stay in this hotel was brief and we were happy it was so. The room we were allotted was a smoking room and the all pervasive smell of cigarette smoke made our stay extremely uncomfortable in spite of leaving the windows open for as long as possible. The bathroom plumbing was not working and a shower was not possible. It has the appearance of needing major renovations although the bones of the building are good, it left a lot to be desired for us.

Room Tip: Make sure you specify Non Smoking unless you are a smoker and can cope with the smell
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank deejay17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2013

Stayed for two nights on business. Good location with friendly check in staff. Lifts extremely small especially if you have bags. Room a little dingy with lots of wood panelling which looked a bit old fashioned. Hotel very close to city centre and restaurants etc. comfortable bed although pillows far too soft for my taste. Probably would have scored higher if price had been lower 125 Euro per night. Breakfast buffet was nice with lots of choices and staff happy to arrange cab if required although there was a taxi rank right outside.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the train station facing rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dinoSwindon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bandar Seri Begawan
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2012

I stayed here for a work trip. True to previous comments, the hotel is outdated. Somehow my room reminded me of the Mr Bean videos that I grew up with. But I guess being Southeast Asian, my expectations of hotels may be too high. Hardly spent time in the room, only to sleep. In summary:
- No internet (apparently wi-fi is not a European thing?) Have to buy a hotspot card which was not very reliable
- There were very few choices at breakfast (especially for muslim traveller like myself)
- It is very close to a train station. I could hear the trains from my room
- Walking distance to town centre

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ruzanna23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bonn hotels
IntercityHotel Bonn
#8 of 79 in Bonn
309 reviews
Hilton Bonn Hotel
#1 of 79 in Bonn
1,053 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Zentrum
SternHotel Bonn
SternHotel Bonn
#15 of 79 in Bonn
206 reviews
Zentrum
Best Western Hotel Domicil
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Guennewig Hotel Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guennewig Hotel Residence

Property: Guennewig Hotel Residence
Address: Kaiserplatz 11 | Südstadt, 53113 Bonn, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Location: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Bonn > Südstadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#17 Luxury Hotel in Bonn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Guennewig Hotel Residence 4*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charme and Style are the words encapsulating the ever popular Gunnewig Hotel Residence. This hotel is ideally situated in the city centre of Bonn, at the Kaiserplatz. The pedestrian mall with its shopping centres, the main train station, airport bus station and Bonn University are all within comfortable walking distance.The exterior as well as the interior architecture of the hotel emphasizes a harmonious ambience. The reception hall offers a wonderful contrast of pure white marble and noble maple wood panels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Guennewig Hotel Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Guennewig Hotel Bonn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing