We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Let it Rain”
Review of Kameha Grand

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kameha Grand
Ranked #5 of 79 Hotels in Bonn
Reviewed June 5, 2013

This is our third stay at this one-of-a-kind hotel with its own unique style but delivers excellent service and comfort to the guest seeking a luxury experience. I had business there but we planned some trips on the Rhine River to Linz and a few other towns. The heavy rain made the Rhine trip impossible so we took a spa day at the hotel. This spa is a real gem! High quality facilities, outstanding staff, and great value for the price. We spent almost an entire day in the spa. Don't miss the cocoon room and relax on a water bed. The infirmity pool is perfectly placed with a great look over the Rhine. Next time I am camping out in the spa! The restaurants are excellent. The breakfast buffet is unbeatable; the main dining room and stage bar serve great meals. On a previous visit we ate on the outdoor patio which is perched on the Rhine. Even as a repeat guest we spend the first two hours exploring the hotel as you feel that you are on a journey there. The outer wall of the room is all glass. This place really caters to all your electronic needs. This place is like home to us. The staff makes themselves available to be present and help you. They do not overpower you but make themselves readily available. You don't need to search out someone. Plus the staff is young, energetic, and they want to please you. THEY KNOW THEIR JOBS. This place is high energy. It is great quality for the money on everything: room, dining, spa.

Room Tip: Look for a room as close as possible to the Rhine River. The diva suite is to die for: it look dire...
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gary003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (988)
There are newer reviews for Kameha Grand
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

117 - 123 of 988 reviews

Reviewed June 4, 2013

I stayed here for one night on business. Interesting looking hotel from the outside. Quite unusual design. Inside this hotel has adopted the current trend of 'search for the check in area'. Individuals standing around with laptops. Quite efficient once you found them. Lots of interesting objects d'art in the lobby. Not all my sort of thing but certainly interesting. I was on he first floor and the walls are red. With the low lighting makes it quite difficult to see. The rooms are quite large and well equipped. My room faced the inner courtyard. It had a large window with an automatic blind but when you closed the blind you also needed to close the curtains to keep out the light. Quite strange. I found that there were far too many light switches which could also be set at various levels of brightness. Really not sure why they needed so many. The room was far too warm and even with the air con on 18 degrees was still too hot. The wardrobe was a pain as when you opened it there was limited space to get around the open doors. Also there was a desk with a chair that did not have a back to it. Looked 'cool' but just not comfortable for long. Overall I thought it tried to hard and less would have been more.

Room Tip: Try and get a room not looking over the inner courtyard.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank humean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2013

We arrived on the offchance during a 9 day tour of Europe.
Out of all the hotels we stayed in this was by far the best.
Everything about it felt special.
It was lovely to be able to swim in the roof top infinity pool overlooking the Rhein after a long day of driving.

Room Tip: Book a room with a view of the river.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Foodisgood85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2013

I have never taken LSD, but imagine that if I did, I might see the world like the neo-1960's Austin Powers-esque interior design - especially in the flowery red hallway wallpaper/carpets and black and white flowered room carpets. I might have thought I was hallucinating the giant photo of an angel in the shower and the light-up full moon built into the headboard of the bed, but they were real. I did enjoy myself enough in the sauna/pool/spa that I also experienced an altered sense of time...

Looking like a silver UFO from the outside, this is a modern, sexy hotel with a good breakfast, nice staff, and nice pool/spa/sauna area right on the river. Breakfast is a little pricey (32 Euro) if not included in the room rate so watch out for that, but there are more reasonable a la carte choices.

12 euros into town with no traffic and 20 with traffic in a cab. 45 Euros to the airport, so not totally central for Bonn but probably worth it for the isolation and tranquility along the river. There is a train station about 500 meters down the road although you need to walk across a dirt/gravel field to get there so don't plan on doing it with rolling luggage off the train.

A couple of notes for the modest: glass between the bedroom and bathroom means your room-mate will be able to watch you in the shower and you're not allowed to wear a bathing suit into the sauna.

Overall really enjoyed it and will definitely return - as Austin would have said "It's my bag, baby!"

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NYTA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2013

Lived in Bonn for 3,5 years and always booked guests in this hotel, but never slept there myself. Since almost 1 year live now in Switzerland and been there on business. My expectations were fully met. A shame that the Pure Gold Bar is closed since autumn last year and is only open for special occasions. Lots of parties we have had there in the past ;) Sushi is still the same and at very high level. Did not make it to the gym, but colleagues said especially the pool was fantastic.
Next time I am in Bonn for private reasons will make sure to book the Spa package.

Room Tip: Beware of rooms where you cannot open the window. 229 is very good located not too far from the fron...
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Spanish_Matador
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2013

Only a single night here this week. A very smart hotel, with exceptionally good staff. Rooms are eclectic and fun, with good amenities and lots of pleasant touches, like nice selection of books and magazines. You can, from time to time, hear the railway, so if you sleep light, pick a riverfront room. My only complaint is breakfast - not the food (it;s exceptional), but the cost (32 Euros!) - make sure you get a "breakfast included" tariff, unless you eat a *lot* in the morning.

Room Tip: Go for river front rooms when you can
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SMB_ftw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel several times and did one other review over a year ago. I was hoping that things would improve but my experience is fairly consistent. This stay there were two issues. The main one was that I had a room without an outside window (room 186). Even though I turned the heat down to 18 degrees C the room was 26 degrees C. This is way too hot for comfortable sleeping. The other issue was that my room was not cleaned as would be expected between nights on my two night stay. I have given up trying this hotel and will stay elsewhere on future visits to Bonn. Average at best.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
1  Thank Indy_traveler-111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bonn hotels
2.5 mi away
Hilton Bonn Hotel
Hilton Bonn Hotel
#1 of 79 in Bonn
1,070 reviews
1.3 mi away
Bonn Marriott World Conference Hotel
2.2 mi away
Ameron Hotel Koenigshof Bonn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Villa Godesberg
Villa Godesberg
#2 of 79 in Bonn
127 reviews
1.8 mi away
Derag Livinghotel Kanzler
2.6 mi away
Ringhotel Rheinhotel Dreesen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kameha Grand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kameha Grand

Address: Am Bonner Bogen 1, 53227 Bonn, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Bonn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Bonn
#2 Business Hotel in Bonn
#4 Romantic Hotel in Bonn
#4 Luxury Hotel in Bonn
Price Range: $133 - $701 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Kameha Grand 5*
Number of rooms: 254
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kameha Grand Bonn with 218 rooms, 36 Suites and impressing banqueting space provides every guest with an individual Lieblingsplatz. The Life&Style Hotel showcases a new, creative, extraordinary approach of a modern hotel, a hotel that unites the vibrant and lively atmosphere of a business hotel with the style, intimacy and exclusivity of a grand hotel. The individual preferences and wishes of the guests are key priority and the friendly service is accordingly flexible to cater all the guests' needs. The Kameha Grand Bonn is situated directly by the Rhine River with breathtaking panorama views over the Siebengebirge mountain range. The hotel is minutes away from Bonn city centre offering convenient access to major transportation routes, to the Cologne-Bonn Airport and to Frankfurt Airport via the ICE Train. Here you will find the perfect base to explore the natural splendors and cultural attractions of the charming city Bonn. Kameha Spa & Powerhouse Look forward to a world of relaxation and indulge into the Kameha Spa & Powerhouse. In the heated infinity outdoor pool on the roof top terrace with a unique panoramic view overlooking the Rhine, you will actually have the feeling of infinity. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, TravelClick, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kameha Grand reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kameha Grand Hotel Bonn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing