We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Faultless designer hotel”
Review of Kameha Grand

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kameha Grand
Ranked #5 of 79 Hotels in Bonn
Birmingham
Level Contributor
64 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Faultless designer hotel”
Reviewed October 5, 2012

Most designer hotels try hard, but frequently they are let down by minor errors - not in themselves terrible, but adding up: evidence of a lack of attention to detail. I was only at the Kameha Grand for a brief stay, but during that time I couldn't find a single fault.

The hotel is beautifully designed. Reception is a series of laptops on small pedestals, efficiently staffed.

My floor - I didn't get a chance to see any others - was very red, and my room was beautifully appointed. A huge shower with underfloor heating and a high, high ceiling were excellent touches. I can't vouch for the food as I didn't have a chance.

Nice Details:
Test-tube shaped shampoo bottels which fitted exactly into holders in the shower
Moon light setting which cast a tiny amount of light ideal for sleeping

Good:
Modern hotel, great rooms
Super friendly staff, who greeted me by name as I left my room

Bad:
Nothing.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank newsheep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

967 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    493
    250
    132
    62
    30
See reviews for
66
329
82
404
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
49 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2012

the service is very efficent -location not the best for visiting bonn center-every thing is red white black-very modern but gives the feeling of very busy and not calm or holiday feeling.the meal at the evening in Next level was good but very dark dining room-sitting infront the windows but no view at all

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nurit76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Kingston, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
75 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2012

we got to stay here as a wedding present, so we spent the time in the hotel, enjoying the truly funky room (we had a diva suite) with shag carpet and all. one window in the room overlooked the giant lobby hall, the rest was floor to ceiling windows looking onto the river. I liked most everything about the hotel. The bathroom was funky with a freestanding tub in the middle, if you choose to, you could take a bath and look out over the covered courtyard below. The breakfast was excellent and offered everything we could think off. Their hours were somewhat limited when we were there and they only allowed us a quick swoop through, because they wanted to clean up, that was annoying. I am not sure how well you can get to and from anywhere from this place. We took a cab. I would not recommend it if you want to explore the area but to stay and enjoy the spa, anytime. Although it was a gift, the prices I saw there were exorbitant.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 100Honkers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheshire
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2012

Really enjoyed our week here, we loved the decor but can see not to all tastes.

The staff were exceptionally helpful going beyond what expected to help. Even helping us find a hotel on our way to South France. The swimming pool is good, perhaps a bit small but a super view. Our evening meal in Next Level was delicious and as I was a bit cool a snug blanket was brought for me - a nice touch. Breakfast lovely, plenty choice and good quality. Bike hire very good and right on the Rhein path, we cycled miles.

Criticisms - not much of a view from rooms overlooking courtyard, rooms overlooking the reception hall were noisy when a party was on. Car parking was expensive considering the cost of a room and wi fi, only an hour free each day was mean, especially as it has to be used in one block. A bit of a distance from Bonn but there is a bus.

Room Tip: Best if not overlooking the inside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nottolerable
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Finland
Level Contributor
144 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2012 via mobile

"spectacular" decor gimmicks are overpowering in this hotel as compared to functionality and guest comfort. deluxe rooms over the covered courtyard are somehow claustrophobic, complicated lighting arrangements - with a moon you can light over the bed - cannot make you forget that Wifis should work, a room reserved for a couple should extend the same welcome to both spouses, pillows should be comfortable and sheets ironed. Turndown service did not happen, checkout implied a long wait with no clear place to stand in line, and very importantly the bathroom lighting was disastrous for such operations as applying make-up. The Brasserie next level ( sounds like a direction not a name of a restaurant) had very nice service, and very nice breakfast but you feel like you are entering through the kitchen door when you come in through the hotel. I will not return

Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Voyageuse54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2012

I stayed here on business recently and received excellent service. This is a modern hotel and the decor is not really to my taste however the service and helpfulness of staff was so good that this is now my favourite hotel in Bonn. The hotel is very spacious, modern and very clean. Lots of healthy meal options. I did not use the Spa or gym.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank snurby1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2012

It's a very good hotel with superb rooms and great service. Parking is no problem and the breakfast take away service is very convenient. Swimming pool and SPA available. The terrace is nice to have a drink.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Remko1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bonn hotels
2.5 mi away
Hilton Bonn Hotel
Hilton Bonn Hotel
#1 of 79 in Bonn
1,008 reviews
1.3 mi away
Bonn Marriott World Conference Hotel
2.2 mi away
Villa Godesberg
Villa Godesberg
#2 of 79 in Bonn
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Ameron Hotel Koenigshof Bonn
2.6 mi away
Ringhotel Rheinhotel Dreesen
4.4 mi away
Mercure Hotel Bonn Hardtberg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kameha Grand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kameha Grand

Property: Kameha Grand
Address: Am Bonner Bogen 1, 53227 Bonn, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Bonn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Bonn
#2 Business Hotel in Bonn
#4 Romantic Hotel in Bonn
#4 Luxury Hotel in Bonn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Kameha Grand 5*
Number of rooms: 254
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kameha Grand Bonn with 218 rooms, 36 Suites and impressing banqueting space provides every guest with an individual Lieblingsplatz. The Life&Style Hotel showcases a new, creative, extraordinary approach of a modern hotel, a hotel that unites the vibrant and lively atmosphere of a business hotel with the style, intimacy and exclusivity of a grand hotel. The individual preferences and wishes of the guests are key priority and the friendly service is accordingly flexible to cater all the guests' needs. The Kameha Grand Bonn is situated directly by the Rhine River with breathtaking panorama views over the Siebengebirge mountain range. The hotel is minutes away from Bonn city centre offering convenient access to major transportation routes, to the Cologne-Bonn Airport and to Frankfurt Airport via the ICE Train. Here you will find the perfect base to explore the natural splendors and cultural attractions of the charming city Bonn. Kameha Spa & Powerhouse Look forward to a world of relaxation and indulge into the Kameha Spa & Powerhouse. In the heated infinity outdoor pool on the roof top terrace with a unique panoramic view overlooking the Rhine, you will actually have the feeling of infinity. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, TravelClick, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Kameha Grand reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kameha Grand Hotel Bonn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing