We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok but not 5 Star worth”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Renaissance Bochum Hotel
Ranked #2 of 23 Hotels in Bochum
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 30, 2011

We went there for New Year celebration. It was a package for 3 nights with breakfast buffet included, a New Year's Dinner and Party and Wellness.

The rooms are ok: clean, but quite small. The room has a big bed, medium TV, minibar, a small table and a Chair. But it gives a very tight impression.

The bathroom is kind of tight too, there is a big sink and mirror, toilet, and bath tub, hair dryer, but you have some trouble going in and out as the door opens to the inside.

And that's it. The wellness is just a Sauna in the 7th floor, where the gym is and is quite smaill and tight as well, so we basically just went, say it and decided not to use it. It's really not inviting, so with this the Wellness was nothing.

The breakfast buffet is ok, you get food but nothing special. There's stuff for english breakfast as in sausages, scrambled eggs, red beans, bacon, hot cakes and hash brown potatoes. That's all there is warm and it was exactly the same the 3 days we ate there. You got different cold meats, but the quality was not so inspiring, we normally get better at home from the butcher. There was some smoked fish and some salmon, that looked as if it had been sitting there for days, and that was every day the same. Then there was a fruits, yogurth bar, where there was only kiwi and pinaple fresh and everything else came from the can and the kiwi and pinaple were either too unripe and/or too long sitting there as well, so once again: not inspiring. Yogurth and quark, well you can't do something wrong with that. Juices were also not fresh but industrial made and most of the time they were out and took too long to refill. Bread and Cereal were there and ok.
Another downside was coffee, they give u at the begining a thermo jar with coffee and if you drink it, they don't come over and refill it, and mostly don'T pay attention at the tables. After 20 minutes of being ignored my boyfriend had to get up and go to the kitchen to get some more coffee! unbelievable when you think it's supposed to be a 5 star hotel!

So ok you get a variety of food, but in my opinion you get a better buffet when you stay in a Pension in Austria anywhere when you go skiing. And for us it was for free! the poor people who go there normally have to pay 35 euros for it and sooooo not worth it!

Personal in the reception is friendly and helpful.

Roomservice is a joke. They take forever. Particularly on the 1st of January. I agree 1st of january is a tough date but as a guest there is not much to do as everything is closed and in the hotel you could only sit at the bar or in the lobby, so you expect u can at least sit in a clean room. But no! The room was finally done at 4 in the afternoon - eventhough they were running around since 11, and they took aroun 45 minutes to clean it up! and we had no mess. Just simple roomservice.

So in general if you are going to the Stadium or the Starlight express, the location is good as they share the same grounds, but for something else, the Hotel is not worth the money you pay, and particularly not the breakfast.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pily_2306
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (282)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

78 - 84 of 282 reviews

Reviewed September 20, 2010

The Renaissance Hotel in Bochum is another rock-solid business hotel in Bochum - as most of the business hotel in this area of Germany it is nothing special but offers good quality and excellent service.
Locationwise it is between the local pro-soccer stadium and the Starlight Express Musical theatre.
Breakfast selection and buffet is very nice and highly recommendable. The gym is improveable, since there are only 3older treat mills and very few weight lifting options

Stayed: April 2010, traveled on business
Thank DKD2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2010

Had an overnight stay in March.

Location:
Next to Bochum stadium and Musical hall. Arriving by car is easy, taking the tram you need to walk for 5-10 minutes. Not in the city centre (check map before you go)

Rooms:
Standard Marriott style, clean and quite new. Quiet - heard no noise from hallway or neighbours. Bathrooms functional and good. Wireless Internet 12,50€/24h. Speed was too slow, but stable. Heating was not working properly, but I did not complain.

Food:
Breakfast had good selection (6AM-11AM). Bar service was friendly, a-la-carte menu was satisfactory.

Service:
Staff very friendly - if I were picky I could state that one ore 2 things were not perfect, but these are minor things not worth mentioning. Did not test the spa.

Overall, I was satisfied with my stay. Nothing spectacular, but decent. Interesting mixture between business people and musical visitors. Just one thing: The hotel is obviously rated as a 5star property according to german regulations. Do not be mislead - it is a good functional hotel, but no luxury place.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JHH_75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2009

We didnt stay at the Renaissance Bochum but at the Marriott, just a couple of mether away from the Renaissance. Since our wellness facilities at our hotel were out of order, we were sent to the Renaissance to use theirs.

So this review is about the spa only!

The spa facilites feature a sauna, an hammam, some reclining area and a fitness room. There is no staff in it; no way to order any think to drink or else in there.
The hotel also doesnt offer bathrobes, you have to bring those of your room.

The spa was actually quiet clean but very cold, all windows were wide open and it was freezing outside. The sauna was nice and big, but the hamman didnt seem to work correlty, it was all cold in it.

The fintess room although features all modern equipement.

The Wellness area of the Renaissance is quiet poor, if your looking for an hotel featuring a Spa, I would not recommend the Renaissance.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank byswiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2008

I stayed at the "Renaissance" five or six times in the last two months while being on business trips. The staff has been consistently friendly and helpful. The rooms are fine and the beds quite comfortable (lots pillows). The gym can be describes as a mini-gym and although it does not offer many machines, it's fine for a workout. The breakfast is good and one can chose from a big buffet with all sorts of nice things. One of the best aspects of this hotel is that everything is quite cheap, including the "Renaissance" burger which I liked and had as room service on a couple of occassions. All in all I would like to say that I like the place and I would stay there again. PS: there is a nice little Italian restaurant just down the road called "Momo". 5 min walk and good food. PPS: if you don't want to pay the hotel car park fee, just park outside "Momo" on a public car park, it's free and the area is safe enough so that you don't need to worry about your car.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Garak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2008

The hotel is clearly above standard for the business and leisure traveller. The rooms are very comfortable and the hotel is directly connected to the large civic conference center. I attended a conference there and it is very practicable to go back and forth between your room and the meeting without having to go outside. The breakfast is great and the restaurant also quite good (at least in the a la carte section). You can reach downton easily by walking to the next subway stop (about 5 minutes). The location is in a quiet area except on Saturdays when the local fottball team has a home game, since the soccer stadium is right next door.

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Batta83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2007

The hotel is in an excellent location - 10 mins walk from the town centre, and the bedrooms are beautiful. There are complimentary toilettries and a mini-bar as well as internet access.

We went as part of the "Starlight Package" - which was excellent value - bed, breakfast, dinner, cocktails and show tickets for 160 euros per person (and the show (although in German) is well worth it. The tech is outstanding, and for fans of the show, it's a nice mix of the original and the new songs - ie: "CB" is back in full glory, but "Engine of love" and "Crazy" are still sung.)

From the outside the hotel looks a little on the shabby side, but this is very deceptive - the loung and dining area are lovely. However, the food was very disappointing - the buffet dinner was bland with a lot of unusual tastes and textures (and I've eaten praying mantice before!) The desserts looked pretty but the over-powering taste of nut-meg mousse took until Act 2 to get over. I would recommend room service - you can't go wrong with a burger!

I was probably only disappointed because I always rated the Rennaissance group highly - the one in Kota Bahru is incredible, but the show and the bedroom made up for dinner.

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Audrey T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bochum hotels
H+ Hotel Bochum
#5 of 23 in Bochum
255 reviews
Mitte
Mercure Hotel Bochum City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mitte
Acora Hotel Und Wohnen Bochum
Mitte
Hotel Excelsior Bochum
Hotel Excelsior Bochum
#12 of 23 in Bochum
39 reviews
Ibis Bochum Zentrum
#6 of 23 in Bochum
495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Bochum Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Bochum Hotel

Address: Stadionring 18, 44791 Bochum, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Bochum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Bochum
Price Range: $96 - $187 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Renaissance Bochum Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Metropolis Ruhr and directly connected to RuhrCongress Bochum the full service hotel offers ample conference facilities as well as 177 comfortable guest rooms and suites. Discover Metropolis Ruhr! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Renaissance Bochum Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Bochum
Bochum Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing