We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ideal for business”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Renaissance Bochum Hotel
Ranked #2 of 23 Hotels in Bochum
Zaragoza, Spain
Level Contributor
193 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“Ideal for business”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2013

Positive:
-Confortable, quiet area, big and silenceous rooms.
-Impressive breakfast buffet.
-Well connected.
-If you like running, there is a big park ("Stadtpark") just in front of the hotel where you will find other runners. Outside perimeter about 1,5 km, but you can enlarge your laps by using inner paths.
-Two good restaurant beside the hotel (Momo -Italian, and Sorbas -Greek)
Negative:
-wifi is not free

I will repeat when I come back, no doubt!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Manuel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    118
    49
    11
    5
See reviews for
26
64
20
113
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hudson, Ohio
Level Contributor
93 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2013

Very nice hotel with all the amenities you expect from Marriott chain. Check in was efficient although they were unable to look up my priority number. The room was spacious and very clean with a decent air conditioning system. We ate at the bar which has a limited but good menu and friendly staff.
Checkout also efficient.

Room Tip: As hotel is on busy street I would ask for an upper floor room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nongagkram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wendover, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
97 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2013

The Renaissance Bochum i s next to the Bochum football stadium and 5 minute taxi from the centre of Bochum. The rooms are spacious with comfortable beds and the bar serves a good selection of drinks with good service. I tried to have dinner there one night but the service wasn't great and the choices not appetising (the bar snacks are good though); Momo's over the road is a lovely Italian

Room Tip: all rooms fairly similar, i prefer the high floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joe M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brookline, MA
Level Contributor
93 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2012

The Renaissance in Bochum it exceeded expectations -- not that I didn’t expect it to be reasonably nice. It’s immediately adjacent to the Bochum exhibition center, in a quiet area less than 3 minutes from the Autobahn and about 35 minutes’ drive from Dusseldorf Airport. There’s a garage under the hotel. The entrance is just past the entrance to the surface lot out front, which was full. The garage costs 8 euros overnight, which seems reasonable. My room was spacious, with a king size bed, desk, and a good WiFi connection. You can connect multiple devices (computer, smart phone, tablet) for one access fee, and if you’re Marriott frequent traveler, WiFi is free. The room lighting was good and there was a large flat screen TV.

The most pleasant surprise was the hotel restaurant, which looked ordinary but is a couple of steps above that. After arriving mid-afternoon I asked for something light. A generous serving of fresh strudel appeared on a square plate, with a nice garnish of fresh berries, whipped cream and a small scoop of ice cream. The chef drizzled vanilla sauce over the strudel and sprinkled powdered sugar on top. It was elegant to look at and tasty. Dinner that evening was equally good – modest portions, nicely presented and served by a pleasant staff. There was the usual German hotel breakfast, with meats, cheese, fresh bread, fruit… something for almost everyone. The desk staff was helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank msandman1943
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London town
Level Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2012

Good service, clean and well priced. The staff were very friendly and helpful so top notch for that. Rooms are big, clean and comfortable; the view could be better but the hotel is located near the congress hall and stadium. Food and drink at the bar was decent as well with average prices for food and abit high for drinks but it is a hotel. Breakfast was good but pricey if you haven't included in your room price, 17euros if I recall. Location wise, very near tube/metro station and about 20-25min walk to the city centre. It's very near the tiergarten/zoo which has a nice pub there.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FoodieLondontown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erlangen, Bavaria, Germany
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2012

This hotel is located directly at the stadion and in the vicinity of the Starlight Express location. The rooms are appropriately sized, really clean, comprise extremely comfortable beds, TV with 50 channels to choose from. Bathrooms are modern and nicely equipped.
On the top floor there is a wellness spa.
Breakfast slection is above average.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wokie67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon
Level Contributor
95 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2012

I regularly stay at this hotel on business and in fact it is my first choice even though it not the most convenient for the office location I need to visit in Bochum

Good Points
Well presented reception and large clean rooms where everything is working. Admittedly i've been there so many times I don't have to re-learn how things work like the TV so I may be biassed.

Large comfortable beds (6 pillows!) and well lit rooms (~6 lights!) and a UK power socket is useful if you forgot your adaptor. Views from the rooms are unremarkable, some are towards the centre of Bochum and some towards the football stadium which is next door.

There are other useful extras like a safe and an iron if your clothes are rather crumpled. The bathrooms are well designed and in my experience always very clean.

Evening meals are available in the restaurant. The restaurant is rather unadventurous in design and normally when staying i would eat outside 50% of the time but the food is OK. Breakfast food choice in the morning is very good although I cannot comment on its quality because i stick to my standard breakfast choice. There is a open bar area adjoining the restaurant which is fairly small but adequate.

Bad Points
Exercise area is very small. I checked it out once and decided not to bother in future. I now go for a run in the nearby streets instead.

The Hotel is not in the very center of town so requires a taxi or approx 20 minutes walk to reach the center. There can be a short wait in reception in busy times when checking out.

Summary
I would definitely recommend the hotel for business visits or if you are visiting the city and don't mind taxi rides to get into the centre.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Splodge_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bochum hotels
H+ Hotel Bochum
#6 of 23 in Bochum
4.0 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
Mitte
Mercure Hotel Bochum City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ibis Bochum Zentrum
#5 of 23 in Bochum
4.0 of 5 bubbles 445 reviews
Mitte
Acora Hotel Und Wohnen Bochum
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Bochum Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Bochum Hotel

Property: Renaissance Bochum Hotel
Address: Stadionring 18, 44791 Bochum, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Bochum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Bochum
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Renaissance Bochum Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Metropolis Ruhr and directly connected to RuhrCongress Bochum the full service hotel offers ample conference facilities as well as 177 comfortable guest rooms and suites. Discover Metropolis Ruhr! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotel.de, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Renaissance Bochum Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Bochum
Bochum Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing