We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ibis Bochum Hauptbahnhof
Ranked #7 of 23 Hotels in Bochum
Reviewed January 7, 2013

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shahab-Midas
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a ReviewReviews (399)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

46 - 52 of 399 reviews

Reviewed December 5, 2012

Good budget hotel.
Reasonable sized room with bathroom which was equiped with a hairdryer.
Rooms on the front can be a little noisy due to proximity to station concourse. Staff friendly and helpful.
Great location next to station and right next to the town centre.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RMF10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2012

It was somewhat unexpected that we stayed for 3 nites at the Ibis Bochum Hauptbahnhof. A last minute booking got a good price of €62 a night. Checking in was friendly, fast and efficient. The elevator was out of action for 6 weeks but it was okay for bags – not humans! We retrieved our bags on the 2nd floor and our room was huge by Ibis standards. It was a 3 bed room with heaps of space for our bags and other things. It had the typical Ibis miniscule bathroom, but it was functional. The decor and fittings of the hotel are tired. The place needs a full re-furbishment as everything, especially the carpets, need replacing with a fresh new look.
The room overlooked the 8 platforms of the main Bochum railway station, but there was almost no noise at all thanks to the double-glazed windows. Some low rumbling by infrequent overnight freight trains did little to disturb sleep.
Out the front of the hotel there is a bus interchange, and a subway tram beneath makes it a central transport hub to get anywhere. Added to that is the main shopping streets are across the road, so its location is absolutely perfect.
Sleeping was good with comfortable beds and firm or soft pillows. The air conditioner was noisy and it sounded like the fan was rattling. We turned it off at night and didn’t report it because we didn’t want to change rooms . The other problem was the curtains. With two windows looking out over the station, we had a tough time trying to get the drapes to totally block the window. The curtains are very difficult to overlap.
Plenty of places to eat are close by and a great little shop next to the hotel sells brewed coffee for €1 a cup! Free WiFi is in the large lounge at the foyer (we found that it also worked in our room too!) Ibis wants €10 per person for breakfast which in my opinion is over the top. My wife and I don’t eat a lot and we were having a satisfying breakfast at a nearby backerie for €6 for both of us.
(This is a criticism of all the Ibis hotels. They are like a low-cost airline. You get a cheap room, but everything else is an expensive add-on – car parking, in-room WiFi and breakfast.)
In summary, a comfortable hotel in a great location.
Positives: Great location, comfortable at a good price
Negatives: No free in-room WiFi, noisy air cond.
Would I stay again or recommend? Definitely!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BL1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2012

So we came here for a few days for a football match in Gelsenkirchen! Decided to stay at the Ibis in Bochum as it was literally a 10 second walk from the train station which is the only thing we booked it for. The hotel was only what i could describe as a dirty hospital, thats what it felt like when we were walking to our room! And pretty much the same theme within our room too! The carpets were filthy dirty as was the bathroom. It felt like a "knocking" shop!. The only other good thing is that there is also a McDonalds right next door and thats about it! - We spent most our time in there to get away from the grotty room in the hotel! The area surrounding the hotel is basically just there for the station, buses and taxi's literally 2/3 steps from the hotel entrance and a warning, everytime you enter and leave the hotel you will be bothered by people trying to sell you drugs or asking you for money! The place is vile!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Styluss394
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012 via mobile

I don't want to talk about the hospital-green colour of the corridors walls or the fact that the hotel is so close to the train station and so loud that you might as well just sleep on the platform...
I'd like to mention that the carpeted floor of my room had big and undefined stains as well as the bed cover. In the shower there was quite a lot of hair and as soon as I checked the bed I found more hair there.
I wouldn't recommend the place, not even to budget travellers!

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ladybug_cesca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2012

Stayed here while in Bochum for a conference. The hotel is located next to the train station so it is very convenient. The price was reasonable and breakfast was pretty good. The room was very bare bones (no fridge/mini bar). Wifi was free in the room off of reception. However, if you pay 10Euro for breakfast you get free wifi in your room. However, the wifi didn't really work in my room. I kept losing connectivity. There are some boutique hotels near the Bermuda Triangle area, less than 10 minute walk away that are worth checking out first.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in back (not on Main street as it is bright and gets loud at night).
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VeggieTourist007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2012

This IBIS is very convenient for the station, but the other one in Bochum has more parking. Rooms are typically limited in function, but the noise of trains was well silenced by the windows. A/C made temperature OK. Service rather limited - hard to get a drink for the room. Next time we might try the other IBIXS where staff were very friendly and decor looks better.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bochum hotels
Ibis Bochum Zentrum
#6 of 23 in Bochum
495 reviews
Mitte
Acora Hotel Und Wohnen Bochum
Mitte
Mercure Hotel Bochum City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Bochum Hauptbahnhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Bochum Hauptbahnhof

Address: Kurt-Schumacher-Platz 13-15, 44787 Bochum, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Location: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Bochum
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Ski-In / Ski-Out Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 23 Hotels in Bochum
Price Range: $82 - $129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Bochum Hauptbahnhof 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ibis Bochum Am Hauptbahnhof hotel is located close to the city centre, the main railway station and the pedestrian area with its numerous restaurants. The RuhrCongress Convention Centre is 4 km from the hotel, as is the Starlighthalle, permanently showing the musical Starlight Express. Book one of our 80 airconditioned rooms and benefit from use of our bar serving drinks and snacks 24 hours. Pay parking is available nearby. Business guests will appreciate use of wireless Internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Accorhotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Orbitz so you can book your Ibis Bochum Hauptbahnhof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing