We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bare bones, convenient” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ibis Bochum Hauptbahnhof

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Ibis Bochum Hauptbahnhof
Ranked #8 of 23 Hotels in Bochum
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Bare bones, convenient”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2012

Stayed here while in Bochum for a conference. The hotel is located next to the train station so it is very convenient. The price was reasonable and breakfast was pretty good. The room was very bare bones (no fridge/mini bar). Wifi was free in the room off of reception. However, if you pay 10Euro for breakfast you get free wifi in your room. However, the wifi didn't really work in my room. I kept losing connectivity. There are some boutique hotels near the Bermuda Triangle area, less than 10 minute walk away that are worth checking out first.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in back (not on Main street as it is bright and gets loud at night).
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank VeggieTourist007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

339 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    132
    111
    36
    20
See reviews for
70
74
56
103
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
246 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2012

This IBIS is very convenient for the station, but the other one in Bochum has more parking. Rooms are typically limited in function, but the noise of trains was well silenced by the windows. A/C made temperature OK. Service rather limited - hard to get a drink for the room. Next time we might try the other IBIXS where staff were very friendly and decor looks better.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2012

Amazing views onto the platforms of the Central Station from the corridors (rooms face the other way). It can be quite noisy, but it's cheap, a fantastic location, and friendly. Avoid the expensive breakfast and wifi in room. Wifi is free downstairs.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ryan1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leiden
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2012

The hotel offers reasonable quality for reasonable cost at a very convenient location - for that I can recommend it. Only (potential) drawback - rooms on the 'railway line' side are - at least for me - lacking a bit in privacy... Nevertheless, I do recommend the hotel, and I shall keep coming back.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NavExpat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hedge End, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2012

I stayed in this hotel for 3 nights. The Ibis hotel is conveniently placed near the railway station and the local tube station.The neighbourhood can be bit noisy but the rooms are spacious and there is good double glazing. The heating system is tad noisy but I didn't need much of it.Can be problematic if it is cold
Rooms are clean and good value for money.The breakfast is decent .Staff is helpful too.
Shame the free wifi is only available in the lounge and not in the rooms,I guess they have to charge somewhere.
Overall good value

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JAMSAH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2012

This hotel was perfect for my needs, nothing fancy...just a place to crash until I could check into my student residence for my study abroad trip. The room was small, but clean and comfortable. The staff was friendly and very helpful. They have free wi-fi in the lobby area, and I was not bothered while I was making use of it. They do offer a breakfast buffet at an additional charge (I did not take advantage of it). Right next to the main train station and there is also a McDonald's right next door.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PrncsJuli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford
Level Contributor
108 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2012

Well situated for travelling around the nord rhiene area and typical IBIS standard but situated right on the bus station and lots of early hours noise from bars. Best to request a room facing the station even with thr odd train yhis is better.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Neil_and_Sue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bochum hotels
Ibis Bochum Zentrum
#5 of 23 in Bochum
4.0 of 5 bubbles 435 reviews
Mitte
Mercure Hotel Bochum City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
H+ Hotel Bochum
#6 of 23 in Bochum
4.0 of 5 bubbles 218 reviews
Mitte
Acora Hotel Und Wohnen Bochum
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Bochum Hauptbahnhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Bochum Hauptbahnhof

Property: Ibis Bochum Hauptbahnhof
Address: Kurt-Schumacher-Platz 13-15, 44787 Bochum, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Location: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Bochum
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Ski-In / Ski-Out Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 23 Hotels in Bochum
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Bochum Hauptbahnhof 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ibis Bochum Am Hauptbahnhof hotel is located close to the city centre, the main railway station and the pedestrian area with its numerous restaurants. The RuhrCongress Convention Centre is 4 km from the hotel, as is the Starlighthalle, permanently showing the musical Starlight Express. Book one of our 80 airconditioned rooms and benefit from use of our bar serving drinks and snacks 24 hours. Pay parking is available nearby. Business guests will appreciate use of wireless Internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotel.de, Booking.com and ACCOR so you can book your Ibis Bochum Hauptbahnhof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing