We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location, nice rooms, ok food” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Bielefelder Hof

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Bielefelder Hof
Ranked #1 of 30 Hotels in Bielefeld
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Good location, nice rooms, ok food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2013

The hotel is just opposite of the train station. It is also attached to a small conference centre. Reception staff is very friendly and rooms are clean and spacious. The design is average. Not sure who decided to chose a carpet with such an odd colour scheme. Breakfast and dinner are of ok standard. The breakfast room remains to have a Moevenpick Marche atmosphere.
Good place to stay for business, but would not chose it for leisure.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PerceptionOfReality
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    99
    34
    5
    5
See reviews for
15
42
28
142
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bressanone, Italy
Level Contributor
155 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2012

The location in front of the railway station is really a plus. You will have to walk short of ten minutes to reach the city centre. Maybe the only setback is that a bunch of drug addicts hangs out near to the access to the subway station located on the rear of the hotel. Might be a bit intimidating during night times.
The rooms are rather small but functional and clean and newly renovated. Personal friendly and professional.
No gym.

Room Tip: Try to get a room facing away from the railway station.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fritzmoedinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2012

The location of this hotel was simply the highlight. It is directly opposite the Bielefeld Hauptbahnhof, where you take the RE, ICE etc. Just cross a zebra-crossing and you are there. And it is on the SAME side as the U-Bahnhof. Just turn left from the entrance, and you are at the escalator down the U-Bahnhof. I also noticed a bus stop just beside the u-Bahnhof.

The room was large, with a nice wall mounted LCD TV. I didn't find the traditional Heizung (heater) , so I turned the air conditioner up to 25 deg cel. I got a twin room, so I combined the two beds, and they were so comfortable, I spent two wonderful nights of deep and undisturbed sleep. My floor was relatively quiet, as I am a light sleeper.

The shower was nice and clean with a bathtub, though as most travellors have noted, there was only a 2-in-1 shampoo-and-body wash. But I think the quality of the wash was not bad.

Internet is not free, but one could easily get a cheap plan from the reception that could be disconnected when not required.

Reception was very friendly, gave me a city map, and highlighted all the places I wanted to visit.
Breakfast is not cheap, but is quite a wide spread. I was very satisfied with the varieties of bread, muesli, corn flakes, tea, milk (has lactose free option), juice (squeeze your own orange with a slick machine), yoghurt and fruits. There were meats and fish and something warm that is prepared by a chef, but I didn't have the stomach for so much.

A little minus point : there was no kettle in my room, so I couldn't make hot tea or cocoa. A little problematic for the cold winter weather. However, I must say that the mini bar selections are affordable and reasonably priced compared to some other hotels.

I would return to this hotel if I were to visit Bielefeld again. The convenience of its location is hard to beat.

Room Tip: Room 202 was quiet and conducive for those who go to bed early. But there is no view from its window...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Clara T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bielefeld, Germany
Level Contributor
35 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2012

When I stayed at this hotel they seemed to be in the middle of some quite extensive refurbishment works. The foyer looked a little like a bomb site but apart from a bit of dust it was not much of an inconvenience. The rooms were not what I would call four star, more three star. They had all that I needed but there were no extra refinements or little touches.
Due to the works that were going on the bar seemed to be in a temporary location.
Breakfast was very expensive so I declined and am unable to review.
Parking was also expensive at 13 Euro but was a secure underground car park in the middle of a busy city right opposite the train station so I would expect it to be.
On the plus side despite the location there was no noise whatsoever in the room.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank charlie r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

I stayed here while in Bielefeld for business and was very impressed by the staff. Everyone from reception, the restaurant and house keeping were really friendly and ready to help in every way. The rooms are newly renovated and very clean. The only downside is that they are still doing construction right next to the lobby and it can be loud during the day.
I highly recommend this hotel to anyone staying in Bielefeld. It's in a great location across from the train station. The last time I was in Bielefeld, I stayed at the Mercure Bielefeld city, which was comparable in price to this one, but not nearly as nice as the Hotel Bielefleder Hof nor the staff as friendly.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Foodie331
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
46 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2012

Stayed at the Bielefelder Hof for one night for a conference in a renewed and lovely room. Very good breakfast, very friendly service, close to train station and shops - the hotel has everything one is looking for.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Evo37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bielefeld hotels
0.3 mi away
Legere Hotel Bielefeld
Legere Hotel Bielefeld
#2 of 30 in Bielefeld
4.5 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
3.6 mi away
Parkhotel Bielefeld
Parkhotel Bielefeld
#5 of 30 in Bielefeld
4.5 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
0.7 mi away
Golden Tulip Bielefeld City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Altstadt-Hotel Bielefeld
Altstadt-Hotel Bielefeld
#3 of 30 in Bielefeld
4.0 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
1.0 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Bielefeld
0.1 mi away
B&B Hotel Bielefeld
B&B Hotel Bielefeld
#6 of 30 in Bielefeld
4.0 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bielefelder Hof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bielefelder Hof

Property: Hotel Bielefelder Hof
Address: Am Bahnhof 3, 33602 Bielefeld, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany (Formerly Moevenpick Hotel Bielefeld)
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Bielefeld
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 30 Hotels in Bielefeld
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Bielefelder Hof 4*
Number of rooms: 161
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the exclusive 4 - star Hotel Bielefelder Hof and the city of Bielefeld, the multi-faceted, lively university town at the Teutoburg Forest. The hotel has 161 non smoking rooms in different categories. The rooms of Hotel Bielefelder Hof persuade with charm, an elegant décor and passion for detail. Premium quality material, forms and coloring add a personal and individual design to each room. Visit the restaurant GeistReich and let yourself be spoilt with local and seasonal cuisine ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotel.de, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Bielefelder Hof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing