We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Traditional, well worth a visit!”

Brauhaus Joh. Albrecht
Ranked #3 of 390 Restaurants in Bielefeld
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Bielefeld, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Traditional, well worth a visit!”
Reviewed April 15, 2014

The Brauhaus is really one of those places in Bielefeld you should visit if touring the area. Serving a good variety of their own beer, being a micro-brewery, it is also an excellent place to sample some hearty food.
Despite getting busy on a Friday and Saturday night you will normally find a good table anytime, especially outside in their courtyard (which is a good sun trap), and soak in the atmosphere. Every now and then they do a seasonal beer which is great when mixed with their staples of Haxe (pork knuckle) and Schnitzel (pork steak) but the vast majority of the food is good and great value for money.
If in Bielefeld pay the Brauhaus a visit, you won't be disappointed.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AllenT551
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    90
    40
    14
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Egham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Uncooperative service and no sauce”
Reviewed March 19, 2014

We went to Brauhaus for an evening out in group of about 30. The tables were booked and reserved. Upon arrival, the staff advised that the menu was shortened. They said that there too many customers in this party for providing a full choice - despite booking the table on time. Also, an English menu was not available (only the standard menu is available in English) - despite booking on time. After a number of visits to the place (not my choice though), I know their menu quite well. I tried to order a Brezel and cream cheese. The brezel would have been fine. However, my choice of cream cheese was denied because it was too complicated and not part of the reduced menu. Thus, I went for Schnitzel. Funny enough, the Schnitzel was served with the same salad that would have accompanied the cream cheese (so the problem is to throw cream cheese on the salad, really?). Less funny was that the Schnitzel and chips were served without sauce, condiment (ketchup, brown sauce, mayonnaise) and nothing along these lines was offered after asking for this. The food that was actually present was good in quality and quantity. However, the absence of sauce/gravy, cheese, condiment and the slightest idea of customer service was a real problem. Especially, the customer service was unfriendly and unhelpful. I am sorry to say, this is the usual pattern.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mjnsr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Good restaurant”
Reviewed March 12, 2014

The restaurant is very nice, with its wooden rooms. The beer was OK, and the food good, in extremely large portions! I had a Schnitzel, and actually there were two of them, and not small...

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Luigi_sr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
369 reviews
235 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“Steamy hot, slow service but lashings of pork shanks”
Reviewed October 29, 2013

Tuesday night "Aktion" (special deal), eat as much as you can of huge pork shanks and go back for more and more. Portions gynormous which didn't stop 4 game lumberjacks (we assumed) on the next table who each managed 3! Unbelievable. Busy busy and v noisy, not a romantic rendezvous - we sat upstairs at the wooden benches and enjoyed our pork, steaks and schnitxzel. Only edible green thing was cucumber. Not the the faint hearted, reasonable prices, does the job if you are hungry.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Marianne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“poor morals”
Reviewed October 8, 2013

The food and drinks were fine, but they charged us 12 Euro for two pitchers of tap water!! Could not believe my ears! We might have ordered Perrier instead, which would have worked out cheaper. Discussed the bill with the manager but he remained steadfast. Given that we consumed for more than 100 Euro (four people), I thought this was a terrible lack of courtesy, especially since the waiters had brought the pitchers of tap water without indicating that each would cost 6 Euro! Will never return here.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mimicri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Brauhaus Joh. Albrecht also viewed

Bielefeld, North Rhine-Westphalia
Bielefeld, North Rhine-Westphalia
 
Bielefeld, North Rhine-Westphalia
Bielefeld, North Rhine-Westphalia
 

Been to Brauhaus Joh. Albrecht? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing