We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just amazing”

Carolus Thermen Bad Aachen
Ranked #1 of 3 Spas & Wellness in Aachen
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Louvain-la-Neuve, Belgium
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Just amazing”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

We (my 6-year old son, my wife and I) spent a lovely afternoon here. after 4 hours we felt energized by the thermal water. If you're visiting Aachen you need to go here. A very nice experience. Also it's very well organized. The only downside would be the lack of English language signs apart from the signs on the beach chairs mentioning that one shouldn't leave the towel on them because you can't «reserve» them; those signs were written exclusively in English. One wonders why ... But a great experience otherwise.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank laurian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

730 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    429
    226
    51
    16
    8
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Antwerp, Belgium
Level 6 Contributor
152 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 231 helpful votes
“Amazing place !! The best of the best !!”
Reviewed May 6, 2013

Everything very well organised. Very clean. Well maintained and lovely gardens. Very large complex.
The 1st and 2nd floor are especially nice as is the outside sauna area. We spend a few amazing hours there together. The only let down was that they charge 4€ each to rent a towel (this was free in other places we have been).

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Delectatio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
149 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Lovely way to relax after a day around Aachen”
Reviewed May 2, 2013

I love these kind of hot thermal springs, in particular Vienna and Bath, so compare this one to the other two I have visited before. First of all, we were told that the best part is the upper floor of the pools which is completely nudist. As there is an extra charge of 10 Euros per person we decided to stay in the lower pools. Generally, the pools are really nice, although at the time we went (a Saturday night), very crowded. Especially, the smaller, very warm pool was like a fish tank, with people literally standing side-by-side in the water. So, overall, the pools are great and they are fantastic value for money but, if you possibly can, avoid the peak visiting hours. I suppose when one goes during a weekday during the day, it must be fabulous (as is the case with all spas, really).

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sascha G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dusseldorf, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Don't expect a hot tub, you're taking the cure.”
Reviewed March 2, 2013 via mobile

It's great to think that people have been soaking themselves in the mineral waters of Aachen. The baths are clean and efficiently run, but the only way I really got hot was to hit the steam bath. The hottest tub was only 38 degrees Celsius. Still, it was a nice way to spend the afternoon.

Helpful?
1 Thank Saarita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
68 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Soooooo relaxed”
Reviewed January 9, 2013

This is not a cheap experience, but it's great value for money. Don't bother with the thermal pools, they're pretty average, and head straight for the sauna. Any self-consciousness about mixed naked bathing disappears in a few minutes. There are guides in several languages downstairs on how to replicate the Roman bathing experience, or dip in and out of the many different sauna options and rest rooms. Our particular favourites were the honey scrub and steam, and the bake oven sauna - complete with authentic Aachen printen (gingerbread) to eat! We went twice and didn't want to go home either time.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank SuzanneD_001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Carolus Thermen Bad Aachen also viewed

Aachen, North Rhine-Westphalia
Aachen, North Rhine-Westphalia
 
Aachen, North Rhine-Westphalia
Aachen, North Rhine-Westphalia
 

Been to Carolus Thermen Bad Aachen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing