We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home”
Review of Hotel Granus

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Granus
Ranked #13 of 40 Hotels in Aachen
Kuwait City, Kuwait
Level Contributor
86 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Home away from home”
Reviewed September 28, 2013 via mobile

I really enjoyed my stay with the hotel family. This hotel and it's owners make you feel like you are visiting relatives because u are treated like family in every way. They give u a copy of the hotel keys when you arrive including with your room key, the room is nice and well kept, breakfast is served nicely and the service is astonishing. I recommend this place for older couples or for someone who is looking to stay at antique style hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Orchidazzle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    33
    7
    3
    0
See reviews for
25
41
8
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Worcester UK
Level Contributor
75 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013

We stopped at the Hotel Granus while on a business trip and took advantage of the short walk to the Spa facilities at the Thermal baths.
This time we took our parents for a Birthday weekend break - they really enjoyed it!

The owner was good enough to wait until 7pm to let us into our rooms (we'd arranged the double apartment in the basement area and the apartment just over the road).
The two apartments are really quirky - the basement one has a living room including a small little cooking area with a twin bedded room off to one side (the two beds are pushed together for the double which seems to be quite common in Germany)
You walk down a little open area to get to the bathroom and shower facilities but as it's the only apartment downstairs it's all very private.
The apartment over the road which our parents had seemed to be a converted shop, it was very light an airy with huge curtained windows. They really liked the multiple large leather sofas which made an excellent meeting place.
Both rooms had good wet room shower facilities which were very clean and tidy. The rooms were made up and fresh towels were provided each day.
Another particularly lovely element of our stay is the marvellous breakfast provided by the Berens family including the automatic paiano playing softly in the backgound - wonderful!

The hotel itself is halfway between a hotel and a B&B, the reception isn't constantly manned but the welcome is more friendly and personal. There are lots of useful little touches such as complimentary maps of the town.

I'd recommend the Hotel Granus for both business, couples and family trips.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NicolaWhit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
78 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Granus after arriving at CDG early in the morning of July 22nd and a 3 1/2 hour drive from Paris to Aachen. The owner out us in the 1 bedroom apartment across the street at the same rate as our double reservation. The woner and staff were very graciouus and the breakfast was wonderful. If you go there you won't be disappointed.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Rusty1cub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malmo, Sweden
Level Contributor
32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2013 via mobile

A good option for staying in Aachen. Family run and a lovely change to corporate hotels. Good breakfast (especially the freshly cooked egg and bacon) and very clean. The traffic noise is present but didn't stop any of our family sleeping. We would def stay there again.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark_Grice71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shropshire
Level Contributor
107 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2013

I don't think it fair to call the Granus a hotel. There is no reception after lunch at the weekend and there is not really any reception area. It reminds me more of a B&B.

Whatever it is there is no doubt that it is conveniently located in Aachen right next to a main road that leads in to the city centre and despite the 'double glazing' it is noisy. What made it worse was that we stayed when it was hot and there is no air conditioning so you either became very very hot and didn't sleep or you opened the window and didn't sleep. Not a good choice..............

The room was nice and comfortable and spotlessly clean with the all the things you would expect. Breakfast in the morning was nice and very German but after a sleepless night was welcome.

It is a nice place, clean and reasonably priced but we wouldn't stay again unless it was out of the summer season.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank r2uzenblot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
179 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 323 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2013

We found the Hotel owners to be such a terrific couple. They even called me in the UK before we left to confirm everything was ok and kept the reception open for us as we had been delayed on the ferry crossing. Made use of their parking facilities. The hotel is a small city type and is clean and has pretty much what you need for a short break. The breakfast is very traditional where the staff are always on hand to serve more drinks and any hot plates. Only two issues we found that did not affect our high opinion, one English speaking tv channel(News) and the noise from the passing traffic outside. Other than that it was just perfect for us and would recommend. Excellent location for the Carolus therme and well situated to walk into the City. We would definitely return.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank whiteprince
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
149 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2013

If you are going to Aachen - and you should, if not for anything else than for the cathedral - then stay in this hotel. The hotel owner makes you feel really at home and is really kind and caring about his guests' wellbeing. The room was very spacious and clean. The breakfast buffet was not only excellent when it came to choice and quality of the food but also very pleasantly arranged, a far shot from the normal business hotel chains.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sascha G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Aachen hotels
0.4 mi away
Pullman Aachen Quellenhof
0.1 mi away
Ibis Styles Aachen City
0.3 mi away
Novotel Aachen City
Novotel Aachen City
#2 of 40 in Aachen
876 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
INNSIDE by Melia Aachen
0.5 mi away
Mercure Hotel Aachen am Dom
0.6 mi away
Hotel Aquis Grana
Hotel Aquis Grana
#8 of 40 in Aachen
282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Granus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Granus

Property: Hotel Granus
Address: Passstr. 2a, 52070 Aachen, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Location: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Aachen
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 40 Hotels in Aachen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Granus 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HRS, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Granus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing