We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to shopping district & Carolus Thermen”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Novotel Aachen City
Ranked #2 of 41 Hotels in Aachen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 10, 2014 via mobile

Stayed 2 nights. Walking distance to shops, cathedral and 800 M from Carolus Thermen. Busy street (cars, close to bus station) but rooms are quiet. Lazy sunday breakfast till 13.00 hr! Breakfast is fine: English and continental. Fresh fruit, salmon, yogurt, quark, bread rolls, gluten free muesli, lactose free milk, eggs, juices etc. Friendly staff. Service with a smile. Rooms are clean, small but have almost everything you need. Business executive room with darkening curtains and free wifi, tea/coffee facilities, free use of minibar. Welcoming chocolates. Bathroom with small bath and separate shower. Bathrobes on request available. Small bed but slept well (not for tall or heavy people). Plastic cover on mattress is not appreciated. On request it was removed. Thin pillows and thin blankets but we got extra when we asked for it. Steam room (no sauna) on fifth floor with extra towels and showers. For your electric devices: One (plug)socket next to the bed, one near water kettle and one behind the tv. TV with lots of German channels. Staff speaks English. Across the street is restaurant One and Only, main course starting at € 24,50 but good quality good. Nicely decorated, choices of wine. 3-course meal € 39,50.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LuluWiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (898)
There are newer reviews for Novotel Aachen City
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

208 - 214 of 898 reviews

Reviewed February 3, 2014 via mobile

Good hotel in the center of Aachen...(public) parking just downstairs, toilette and shower separated. Amenities available in room. Lot of international channels on tv, good speed for wi-fi. Room are quite big but not so clean (at least mine): hair on moquette, poor towels and blank sheet. There is a strange smell on the evening. Personnel is not so friendly, but prepared.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
Thank valeriolep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelAachenCity, Front Office Manager at Novotel Aachen City, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2014

Dear Valeriolep,

thank you very much for sharing your experience with us.

We are trying to satisfy all our guests giving them a warm and comfort feeling in our Novotel Aachen. Unfortunately the quality of housekeeping and the frienlyness of our staff was not like you have expected. We have to apologize for that.
We will have a conversation with the housekeeping to highlight again the importance of 100% clean rooms. Also we will talk to our staff to remain the friendlyness.

We are living a kind of 'kaizen', so perhaps you would be so kind to help us with an email to H3557-FO@accor.com with some more detailed information.
Unfortunatly we do not see your real name, so it is not possible for us to check on which rooms your were and to which you talk at the reception.

Your satisfaction is the most important for us, so we would be glad for any further information for us.

With the best whishes from Aachen.

Tobias Sinzig
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
An Accor traveler
3
Reviewed January 31, 2014

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank An Accor traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed January 27, 2014

I recently spent a night at the Novotel Aachen City hotel while on a business trip. The hotel is well-located, near the city center, and has an appealing lobby area. Staff I interacted with were pleasant and competent. I was disappointed by several aspects of my stay, however.

The room layout (I believe I was in a standard room) was quite odd. The toilet was in a small alcove near the door; the sink and shower were in the bathroom located around the corner near the bed. Therefore, to wash one's hands after using the toilet required leaving the alcove and walking to the other side of the room. Not a great distance, to be sure, but I found it off-putting not to be able to wash adjacent to the toilet.

The room was quite small (very little room beyond the bed), and linens were barely adequate (small, thin bath towels, no washcloths).

Internet service (whether via ethernet or wifi) was limited to 512Kb/s unless one paid for "premium" service. 512K is insufficient for any form of video streaming other than perhaps low-quality YouTube cat videos. In addition, the internet was fairly intermittent, even at the low maximum speed webpages would often not load properly.

It's not clear there are any obviously better options in central Aachen, but the Novotel certainly has room for improvement.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BillShepp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelAachenCity, Front Office Manager at Novotel Aachen City, responded to this reviewResponded February 1, 2014

Dear BillShepp,
Thank you very much for taking your time to share your Novotel Aachen experience with us. Only with the help of our guests we are able to keep our service at a high level.

We appreciate the fact our staff was able to meet your expectations.

You are reclaiming the missing sink. The separate toilet was planned as an advantage, so a couple is able to use both at the same time. The missing sink is known to us, we regret but unfortunately this can not be upgraded without considerable effort.

Since last summer we are offering a free wifi connection with 256 kbit/s. This is enough for receiving and responding emails or to update your devices.
For video watching or using skype this connection is at least too slow. For this applications we are offering a premium wifi connection with speed of 16,000 DSL for just 6,00 EUR for 24 hrs.
We thank you for your comments, which gives us the chance to increase our service quality. We will forward your statement about wifi connection to our IT Services.

We would appreciate welcoming you again at our Novotel Aachen.
For any requests, feel free to contact me under 0049 241 5159 152 or email H3557-FO@accor.com.

Best wishes from the City of Charlemagne
Tobias Sinzig
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
An Accor traveler
3
Reviewed January 22, 2014

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank An Accor traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed January 18, 2014

Recently spent a night here when traveling to Aachen for business. It is not luxurious but has all the amenities that you need - convenient underground parking, helpful staff, very clean well-maintained rooms, free wireless, nice bathrooms and good buffet breakfast. Location is good - within walking distance of the Cathedral, pedestrian shopping area etc.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
1  Thank Frau B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2013

Underground parking and a clean renovated room. Good central location for exploring a great medieval city. Room had a great shower and was comfortable enough. Worth considering if the price is good. Helpful staff who spoke good english. Recommended.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wanderingmarine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Aachen hotels
0.2 mi away
INNSIDE by Melia Aachen
0.2 mi away
Ibis Styles Aachen City
0.2 mi away
Mercure Hotel Aachen am Dom
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Pullman Aachen Quellenhof
0.8 mi away
Mercure Aachen Europaplatz
0.6 mi away
Hotel ibis Aachen Hauptbahnhof
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Aachen City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Aachen City

Address: Peterstr. 66, 52062 Aachen, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Location: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Aachen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Aachen
#1 Business Hotel in Aachen
#2 Romantic Hotel in Aachen
#2 Luxury Hotel in Aachen
Price Range: $104 - $185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Aachen City 4*
Number of rooms: 154
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The new Novotel Aachen City is located in the heart of the imperial city of Aachen, between the cathedral, convention centre, casino and Carolus thermal baths. With 154 spacious, airconditioned rooms, seven modern meeting rooms, stylish design and modern communications technology, our 4 star hotel offers business travellers and holidaymakers the highest standard of comfort. Unwind on our terrace, at the restaurant or bar. Revitalise high above the roofs of Aachen in our fitness centre with steam bath. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Expedia, Agoda, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Hotwire so you can book your Novotel Aachen City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Accor Aachen City
Novotel Aachen
Aachen Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing