We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good breakfasts and delicious beer”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Novotel Aachen City
Ranked #2 of 40 Hotels in Aachen
Certificate of Excellence
Moscow, Russian Federation
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good breakfasts and delicious beer”
Reviewed October 3, 2013

Stayed with spouse and kid in mid-September for half-week. I couldn’t choose much between hotels in the city as Novotel was related with my business programme. I had good road connection to adjacent Northern outskirts where my meetings happened. It is not also far from Aachen central railway station. We have paid through bank in advance and soon I received confirmation from designated hotel manager. I reported them about trip with the family and upon arrival I saw my room was specially prepared for family stay – big plus with the personal touch.

I like modern ‘green building’ design – automation, good ventilation, efficient lighting, International TV channels, available in your native language. All of this makes trips with families much more enjoyable. Bath room was equipped with sound system - you can listen to music or audio of TV translation when sitting in it. Wi-FI was paid, but hotel gives slower complimentary service. Personnel are the value of hotel, they welcome you, help to enter lift in first time. They did me help when I asked where to buy body thermometer and needed medicines in late evening.

Choice of food on breakfast for business hotel was rather good - it is not London with their terrible food manners. Also, good bar below – our Brit fellows were much happy with choice of beer on Oktoberfest days.

The hotel is located on a street with plenty of small shops. Regional economy looks rather downward though, it is not Kӧln with its tourist showcase economy.

So, no complaints at all and I put my five points in general.

Room Tip: Tell about your preferences ahead
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dmlz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

876 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    294
    455
    100
    16
    11
See reviews for
247
309
55
186
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lugano, Switzerland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2013

Location 55/100 Aachen is small, it is not difficult to be central. The road, however, is busy and ugly. The resulting view from the rooms is the obvoius consequence.
Service 25/100 Quick. The receptionists are clever and polite. The cleaning is not ideal. Only the civil and honest people are requested to pay the parking fee. Thus, do not be surprised if several privileged tourists are allowed to park free of charge in front of the hotel - where it’s forbidden to park! (a privilege secured for several cars with German or even English license plates). That is not a proper behaviour in a country that claims seriousness and strictness for every little thing!
Rooms 55/100 As in the Novotel in Berlin, they are small and have almost the exact same furniture (so there are no closets and there is no room for the luggage). Don’t even think to sleep in this hotel two nights in a row, especially if traveling with two children. The bathroom is nice, clean and functional: it is divided into two distinct areas with indipendent walls and doors. Considering their dimensions, towels for the shower are suitable for babies rather than for adults. The beds are not bad, but there is no air in the room because the windows are fixed and can not be opened. Not everyone likes the air conditioning, especially at night! Anyway, the design of the room is overall nice.
Price 70/100 The best thing. 120 € per night for 2 adults and 2 children sleeping in the same room without breakfast (to be paid separately and to be avoided, given the cost and supply), but including the useless fee of the parking garage (11 €), are not too many in our day, but the "depersonalization" you feel as you enter it is evident.
Overall 51/100 I don’t think you can find a much better hotel in Aachen, but if you think about the rest of the world, starting with Europe .....

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank clabarbi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
Level Contributor
105 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2013

Our executive room was large, clean and very quiet. It came with free mini-bar and tea and coffee making facilities. We also had free trouble-free internet access. The staff was friendly and helpful and the breakfast room readily accommodated our wish fo have the small city breakfast.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eric_and_Dora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
660 reviews
138 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,028 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2013

Good location, noiseless room, very comfortable, basic facilities in the room but more then sufficient for a short stay. Basic internet is free for checking emails etc. Internet charge for surfing the net is 6.50 Euro for 24 hours. Bar is nice, breakfast was extensive. Short walk from the city centre.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sea98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire, UK
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2013

We have to agree with much written in the previous reviews. This is a good, clean Novotel giving what you expect - wide choice of breakfast, helpful staff, clean rooms, well sound proofed, slow WiFi, fairly hard beds (which we slept soundly in), bathroom and toilet separate (good idea) but no hand basin in toilet (strange idea). Hotel is a few hundred yards from pedestrianised centre, surrounded by cheaper shops and casinos but on a main street and the area was safe enough in the day and evening. Good base for us to explore Aachen a bit and visit the Spa grand prix.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NickMBerkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

It is a typical novotel with all the amenities you would expect. We didn't have breakfast in the hotel as we felt that 19 euro per person is too much. There are lots of bakeries nearby which offer a decent contintental breakfast for 4 euros or a little more/less. The hotel is clean and the service good, though lacks the personal touch. We were in a room facing a side street but it was still very noisy as there are casinos all around the hotel. We didn't feel threatened at any point and didn't feel it was a dodgy area (as some feedback implies) but we are from London and maybe more used to people hanging out late at night and bouncers etc. There are some homeless people in the area, mainly collecting bottles as in Germany you get Pfand (you get 25 cents) if you return and empty bottle to a shop. The gym was tiny, 5 pieces of cardiovascular equipment and 1 weight machine, it look like more in the picture.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BikerLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Stayed here for the 2013 Grand Prix, quality hotel in a nice location to reach the circuit, generally about 75 minutes on the coach, nice clean modern hotel with easy reach to the town and its night life, watch out for the red light district which appeared from nowhere

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Aachen hotels
0.2 mi away
INNSIDE by Melia Aachen
0.2 mi away
Mercure Hotel Aachen am Dom
0.3 mi away
Pullman Aachen Quellenhof
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Ibis Styles Aachen City
0.7 mi away
Ibis Aachen Marschiertor
0.3 mi away
Hotel Aquis Grana
Hotel Aquis Grana
#8 of 40 in Aachen
282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Aachen City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Aachen City

Property: Novotel Aachen City
Address: Peterstr. 66, 52062 Aachen, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Location: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Aachen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Aachen
#1 Family Hotel in Aachen
#2 Luxury Hotel in Aachen
#2 Romantic Hotel in Aachen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Aachen City 4*
Number of rooms: 154
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The new Novotel Aachen City is located in the heart of the imperial city of Aachen, between the cathedral, convention centre, casino and Carolus thermal baths. With 154 spacious, airconditioned rooms, seven modern meeting rooms, stylish design and modern communications technology, our 4 star hotel offers business travellers and holidaymakers the highest standard of comfort. Unwind on our terrace, at the restaurant or bar. Revitalise high above the roofs of Aachen in our fitness centre with steam bath. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, ACCOR, Travelocity, Hotwire, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Novotel Aachen City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Accor Aachen City
Novotel Aachen
Aachen Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing