We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“(Yet another) good Novotel city centre hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Novotel Aachen City
Ranked #2 of 40 Hotels in Aachen
Certificate of Excellence
Berkshire, UK
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“(Yet another) good Novotel city centre hotel”
Reviewed September 13, 2013

We have to agree with much written in the previous reviews. This is a good, clean Novotel giving what you expect - wide choice of breakfast, helpful staff, clean rooms, well sound proofed, slow WiFi, fairly hard beds (which we slept soundly in), bathroom and toilet separate (good idea) but no hand basin in toilet (strange idea). Hotel is a few hundred yards from pedestrianised centre, surrounded by cheaper shops and casinos but on a main street and the area was safe enough in the day and evening. Good base for us to explore Aachen a bit and visit the Spa grand prix.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NickMBerkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

876 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    294
    455
    100
    16
    11
See reviews for
247
309
55
186
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

It is a typical novotel with all the amenities you would expect. We didn't have breakfast in the hotel as we felt that 19 euro per person is too much. There are lots of bakeries nearby which offer a decent contintental breakfast for 4 euros or a little more/less. The hotel is clean and the service good, though lacks the personal touch. We were in a room facing a side street but it was still very noisy as there are casinos all around the hotel. We didn't feel threatened at any point and didn't feel it was a dodgy area (as some feedback implies) but we are from London and maybe more used to people hanging out late at night and bouncers etc. There are some homeless people in the area, mainly collecting bottles as in Germany you get Pfand (you get 25 cents) if you return and empty bottle to a shop. The gym was tiny, 5 pieces of cardiovascular equipment and 1 weight machine, it look like more in the picture.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BikerLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Stayed here for the 2013 Grand Prix, quality hotel in a nice location to reach the circuit, generally about 75 minutes on the coach, nice clean modern hotel with easy reach to the town and its night life, watch out for the red light district which appeared from nowhere

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed August 26, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Novotel as a part of a 4 day tour to the Belgium Grand Prix (we took a one hour bus each day from the hotel to Spa). Rooms were fine, spacious and provided everything we needed. There was complimentary wifi which was slow and temperamental. A premium wifi service was available at 6EUR per day which we used once and was very good and fast.

Breakfast was very good - meats, fruits, cereals, breads, pancakes and cooked items available as self service.

After long days at the track, we ate at the hotel restaurant twice which was quiet but served good food, was reasonably priced with friendly service.

Would highly recommend this hotel and Aachen to anyone thinking of going to the Belgium Grand Prix and wants to escape camping and unpredictable weather of Spa!

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Tim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester
Level Contributor
26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2013 via mobile

This hotel was used as a stop over on a driving holiday to Lake Garda. The hotel is excellent in everyday.
Great service, new & clean with good sized bedrooms. Staff were great with our kids & gave us advice for eating out in Aachen.

The breakfast was also great with loads of choice. The car park was tricky to find but once found it all made sense.

Would recommend!

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Bestservedchilled
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
99 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2013

Arrived to be greeted by friendly staff on reception and they were helpful when we needed extra pillows and directions in to the old Town. A perfect location for exploring old centre - only 10 minute walk away. We used the onsite parking, which was convenient and reasonably priced. There were modern, stylish rooms, good value for money.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank helenmjeff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Aachen hotels
0.2 mi away
INNSIDE by Melia Aachen
0.2 mi away
Mercure Hotel Aachen am Dom
0.3 mi away
Pullman Aachen Quellenhof
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Ibis Styles Aachen City
0.7 mi away
Ibis Aachen Marschiertor
0.3 mi away
Hotel Aquis Grana
Hotel Aquis Grana
#8 of 40 in Aachen
282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Aachen City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Aachen City

Property: Novotel Aachen City
Address: Peterstr. 66, 52062 Aachen, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Location: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Aachen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Aachen
#1 Business Hotel in Aachen
#2 Romantic Hotel in Aachen
#2 Luxury Hotel in Aachen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Aachen City 4*
Number of rooms: 154
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The new Novotel Aachen City is located in the heart of the imperial city of Aachen, between the cathedral, convention centre, casino and Carolus thermal baths. With 154 spacious, airconditioned rooms, seven modern meeting rooms, stylish design and modern communications technology, our 4 star hotel offers business travellers and holidaymakers the highest standard of comfort. Unwind on our terrace, at the restaurant or bar. Revitalise high above the roofs of Aachen in our fitness centre with steam bath. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, ACCOR, Hotwire, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Novotel Aachen City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Accor Aachen City
Novotel Aachen
Aachen Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing