We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (86)
Filter reviews
86 results
Traveler rating
7
22
31
14
12
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
7
22
31
14
12
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 86 reviews
Reviewed February 8, 2018 via mobile

A simple basic family run hotel. All rooms en suite, lift to all floors.
Good continental breakfast. All meals freshly prepared, but limited selection. Prices are good value.
Beautifully clean and fitted out. A good place to take a day and admire the local beautiful Monastery.

Stayed: February 2018, traveled solo
Thank reportcrap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SR_Robinson_1, Manager at Hotel Krone, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2018

Dear reportcrap,
thank you very much for your stay at Hotel Krone Aachen|City-Eurogress and your kind feedback. We are glad to read you enjoyed staying with us - especially due to our popular sparkling breakfast buffet, good value for money and the cleanliness of our rooms. We would be more than happy to welcome you again.

Kind regards,
on behalf of the entire team of Hotel Krone Aachen | City-Eurogress,
S.R. Robinson
-Manager-

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2018 via mobile

We stayed here to visit the Xmas market about ten minutes walk away, the staff were very helpful nothing was to much bother.they recommended a restaurant which was really good.the room was clean and spacious, the breakfast had all you would need with a self service buffet.no bar in the evening but a self service bar at good priced,and proper glasses to drink from alongside.would stay again

Stayed: December 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank garryfids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SR_Robinson_1, Manager at Hotel Krone, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2018

Dear garryfids,
thank you for your stay with us and for taking the time to give us your valued feedback. We are very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay and liked our popular sparkling breakfast buffet. We are also delighted to read your kind comment about our friendly and helpful team. We would be happy to welcome you again in the future and will be pleased to assist with any requests you may have during your stay.
Kind regards,
on behalf of the entire team of Hotel Krone Aachen | City-Eurogress,
S.R. Robinson
-Manager-

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2017

Myself and my partner booked a week here in November on a Sunday to a Friday.

From looking at the reviews of the Hotel it seemed nice and suitable for a Business stay, my partner was visiting for Work and I was working remotely for the period of the stay.

Upon arrival we were given a room at the front of the hotel, it was extremely noisy even when closing the vent, the Wifi didn't work at all.

We contacted reception and they moved us to a room in the back of the hotel instead, this receptionist also restarted the router for the Wifi.

This room was better but the heating was either on full blast or off, there was no thermostat at all just a radiator.

We didn't sleep at all as it was either freezing cold or way too hot.

We got up the next morning and my partner went to work, I logged onto the Wifi and again it was broken, it was on and off most of the day.

We decided that we would find somewhere else to stay as this just wasn't suitable to our needs.

The receptionist advised that it wasn't possible for her to cancel the additional nights in the hotel and we would have to contact the management.

She provided an email address to which we have sent communication to but have received no response whatsoever.

We did however receive a message to review our stay !!

In short this is a thoroughly unprofessional setup, if you are visiting Aachen for business purposes I would suggest you stay elsewhere.

The pictures on booking.com do not match the rooms at all.

Room Tip: Rooms on the back are quieter than the front
  • Stayed: November 2017, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Keith C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SR_Robinson, Manager at Hotel Krone, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2018

Thank you for your message and for the time invested in sending us your feedback. We would like to express our regret that you have had an unsatisfactory experience in our hotel. At the same time we would like to say that our customers generally leave our house well-behaved and
would like to come back. After a detailed examination, we would like to comment as follows:
We regret the disfunction of the heater in your room. This problem could have been handled by the technician directly in the morning. Also changing the room would have been possible. Our free Wifi is an additional service for our guests. The availability and the signal strength depends on many factors we can't influence - for example the availability of the provider, the usage through other guests and even the compatibility and functioning of guest hardware and software. We did not receive any other guest complaints at that day and we also provide a guest computer in our hotel lobby.
All booking-relevant criteria have been provided by the hotel by 100% and it arises from this no shortcoming of a refund justifies.
We would be pleased to welcome you again as guests.
Should you have any queries or require further information please do not hesitate to contact us immediately.
Kind regards,
on behalf of the entire team of Hotel Krone Aachen | City-Eurogress,
S.R. Robinson
-Manager-

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2017

We stayed one night in this hotel. It was a nice and clean hotel near the city center.
10 minutes walk. Breakfast was good and the coffee was excellent. Bed was to soft for me and the douche to small. But we had a nice stay.

  • Stayed: November 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bart T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SR_Robinson_1, Manager at Hotel Krone, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2017

Thank you for your stay with us and for taking the time to give us your valued feedback. We are very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay and liked our popular sparkling breakfast buffet. Regarding the bathroom size, this is due to the general layout of our traditional building. Our beds and mattresses are of professional hotel equipment suppliers to guarantee all of our guests a restful sleep. We are sorry that we did not meet your preferences there. If you ever plan to be back in Aachen, we would be more than happy to welcome you again.
Kind regards,
on behalf of the entire team of Hotel Krone Aachen | City-Eurogress,
S.R. Robinson
-Manager-

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2017 via mobile

When we booked this hotel and we looked at the official photos, we thought this might be a nice place. Unfortunately it did not met the reality. The rooms are the tiniest places you can imagine. If you are claustrophobic, my recommendation is to stay away. If you are unlucky and you get additionally a room to the street, be prepared that you will not find a lot of sleep during the night. We thought the trucks were directly running through our room. If you come with your car, book your parking place it in advance. They have 7 parking spaces but you need to be a good driver to get your car in and afterwards out again. For sure it is not really a SUV compatible parking lot. Breakfast was OK, sometimes you had to wait for 10 minutes to get to the coffee machine. The receptionist was not really friendly. You have to pay in advance (strange). The access to the room is through a "interesting" staircase or a really old elevator. As I said, if you want it simple, it is the right place to go! Check the pictures and make your own assessment!

Stayed: September 2017, traveled with family
Thank Uwe J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews