We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, good location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mercure Hotel Aachen am Dom
Ranked #5 of 40 Hotels in Aachen
Dover
Level Contributor
91 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, good location”
Reviewed January 16, 2013

We stayed at this hotel on a weekend away before christmas, the hotel itself was very nice, we stayed in a deluxe room with free mini bar a rarity these days, we had a balcony area overlooking the bussling sights of Aachen, good for watching time go by, we had a lovely big bed, nice bathroom with shower, safe, tea & coffee facilities and good amount of wardrobe space.

The hotel is perfectly located for shopping, restaurants and bars and what a lovely selection there was!. The staff were very polite on check in and out, the only one but was the car park the hotel recommend we gave up looking for, with road works surrounding the hotel also we just could not find it, we came across a multi storey one a tfive minute walk away so we parked our car there.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MARLEYDover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

649 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    132
    346
    130
    29
    12
See reviews for
83
282
53
164
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Liphook, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2013

For the Christmas break we were really pleased to be staying right in the centre of Aachen, only a sneeze away from the start of the Christmas markets and the shops.

The hotel was a good 5 - 10 minute walk from the train station (depending on how much luggage you are dragging along) and at first it looked like another posh phone shop.. it wasn't until we spotted the unique spiral staircase that are visable from the outside that we realised it was the hotel. The staff were friendly and efficient and check in was quick and easy. Our room was a little small but perfect for us, plus it had a wicked balcony that you could spy on the bargains in the shops opposite.

The bed was comfy and I think the only negative was that the pillows werent the best, but to be honest I was being lazy and just didn't go down to reception to ask for another one.

Overall a really good experience and it really is the must stay hotel in Aachen!

Room Tip: Get a room with a balcony!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Weeza S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
62 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2012

Tried to find better words, but clearly "average" goes well with most of the amenities and characteristics of this place. To me this means "yes why not". The plus sign means I can't say I'm dissatisfied. So room despite being at the far end and on a noisy place was not noisy (with windows closed) and I had a relatively good sleep. I would complain about the bathroom being a real ice cube, but a spacious one. Average hotels try to save money wherever they can, and heating decently the bathroom is something long forgotten in average (and even superior) hotels.

Other wise, breakfast? Guess what, it was average+: quite some choice but you can be sure that everyday it's exactly the same choice, not a slight variation. Internet access? Expensive and works... well not so bad (average again).

Location in the city? I'd say not bad, quite centrally located. Easy to reach the train station by foot, restaurants, etc...

Room Tip: I have been surprised of the quality of noise isolation with the street -- or maybe was it that ther...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank voyageur_Londres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon UK
Level Contributor
80 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2012

The title is not intended to confuse. the hotel is in the centre of Aachen, and a few minutes walk from the Dom and the enchanting centre with its ancient rathaus and the like. My confusion on location was as a result of the parking debacle, roadworks, a busy road and the general feeling that the hotel is not a place of real relaxation.
I actually slept well, but I suspect this might have been more about the end of over 3000 miles driving around Europe, rather than anything else.
By the way, I complain if 1] there is a shark in my bath 2] the room is dirty 3]the hotel misrepresents itself et al. I do not complain over issues such as noise from the street, especially as I choose to open the windows because I like a cold room.
There was nothing to complain about in that regard.
However, the lift clearly has a button that says 'restaurant' and I clearly read 'restaurant' on one floor level.
They dont have one, and it is titled such because it is where they serve breakfast.
Strange and the additional excursion into the busy throng was simply not welcome.
However, on the plus side, what a breakfast!
Parking.... was a pain in the backside. I rang the hotel for a clue and that produced some directions that floundered immediately. Again I did so, and got a street name. This was fed into the satnav and eventually I got there. I set off with my suitcase and laptop only, just to find the hotel before i brought my luggage. I didnt bother in the end, just rounded up a few essentials later and stuffed them in my laptop bag for the return.
the parking situation was less than ideal, and equal worst during my trip.
unusually for me, this is a hotel that I will not stay in again. The reason for that is purely that there is a lot of choice, and the value of car parking on site and an integral quality restaurant have become more clear to me since my two weeks around Europe.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HeatherandChris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
farnborough
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 17, 2012

A fantastic hotel, right in the heart of Acchen, really good if you are going to see Aachen Christmas Markets. the underground parking is good too. breakfast was all fresh and nice.the christmas markets are a must see, pleas also try the curry sausage, they are so good.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marcus h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Aachen hotels
0.2 mi away
Novotel Aachen City
Novotel Aachen City
#2 of 40 in Aachen
876 reviews
0.3 mi away
INNSIDE by Melia Aachen
0.4 mi away
Pullman Aachen Quellenhof
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Aquis Grana
Hotel Aquis Grana
#8 of 40 in Aachen
282 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ibis Styles Aachen City
1.0 mi away
Mercure Aachen Europaplatz
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Hotel Aachen am Dom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Hotel Aachen am Dom

Property: Mercure Hotel Aachen am Dom
Address: Peterstr. 1, 52062 Aachen, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Location: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Aachen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Aachen
#4 Family Hotel in Aachen
#5 Business Hotel in Aachen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Hotel Aachen am Dom 4*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mercure Aachen am Dom, a 3 star hotel with 117 rooms, is the perfect base to discover this historic imperial city. Enjoy your stay in our unique, centrally located hotel. The hotel is only 500 m from the Cathedral with its treasure chamber, the townhall and the Elisenbrunnen fountain. Buffet breakfast is served from 6.30 a.m. to 10.30 a.m. at the Lounge 1858 restaurant. The hotel also features a meeting room for up to 30 people. Be spoiled with selected Grands Vins Mercure wines at the hotel bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Hotel Aachen am Dom reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Accor Hotel Aachen Am Dom

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing