We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful building”

Rathaus Aachen (City Hall)
Ranked #5 of 59 things to do in Aachen
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Belgium
Level Contributor
196 reviews
82 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Beautiful building”
Reviewed October 14, 2012

Aachen is a lovely town, especially when exploring the city on a Sunday, when shops are normally closed and it is less busy. Perfect day to explore the city and its treasures, including this one. We enjoyed the painting in one of the rooms.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank Flying-Dutch-Lady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

655 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    280
    293
    68
    10
    4
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
978 reviews
462 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 298 helpful votes
“Splendid coronation hall”
Reviewed September 14, 2012

They weekend out of audio guides, so we only had the free leaflet - but that also gave a lot of information. The coronation hall with its frescoes are wonderful. The four rooms on the first floor were nice, and I loved the data animated book showing how the building

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank EllenChr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maastricht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
285 reviews
109 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Good to know this was Charlemagne's castle”
Reviewed July 27, 2012

Around 800 Charlemagne made Aachen his homecity. He had his castle at nowadays Marketsquare, only small parts of it do exist now, like the tower Granusturm. The rest was rebuilt later and is nowadays city hall. It is interesting to visit, especially the large Charlemagne Hall at the upper floor with the statue of the old emperor.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Caspar v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
93 reviews
46 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“History-rich”
Reviewed July 14, 2012

Wish I'd done more reading beforehand, I must admit I didn't know enough about Aachen, Charlemagne and their history before my visit. Very impressive inside, plenty of historical links, leaflet is good at explaining (available in several languages), useful info boards too. Will take less than an hour unless you are drawing or sketching! Worth the 5 euro.entry fee.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Graham S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
312 reviews
230 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
“A Pleasant Surprise - Was not expecting the Charlemagne Crown Jewels”
Reviewed June 1, 2012

This was a pleasant surprise, I stumbled upon the Rathaus and had some time to kill so I went inside and then realized the town hall was open for self-guided tour. It was really neat, especially the Coronation Hall with the Crown Jewels.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank CodyDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rathaus Aachen (City Hall) also viewed

Aachen, North Rhine-Westphalia
Aachen, North Rhine-Westphalia
 
Aachen, North Rhine-Westphalia
Aachen, North Rhine-Westphalia
 

Been to Rathaus Aachen (City Hall)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing