We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Aquis Grana
Nearby Hotels
Mercure Hotel Aachen Europaplatz(Aachen)(Great Value!)
$74
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$122
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$106
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$154
$141
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$100
$95
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Ibis Aachen Marschiertor(Aachen)(Great Value!)
$68
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$206
$162
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Art Hotel Aachen Superior(Aachen)(Great Value!)
$76
$74
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$119
$115
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Ibis Styles Aachen City(Aachen)(Great Value!)
$95
ibis Styles
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (316)
Filter reviews
316 results
Traveler rating
68
149
84
10
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
68
149
84
10
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgreat locationold towncentral locationtop floorbreakfast buffet was very goodair conditioningvisiting aachenbreakfast roomwide choicechristmas marketwould stay againper daycomfortable hotelcathedraldomwificity
Filter
Updating list...
101 - 106 of 316 reviews
Reviewed September 24, 2012

This hotel is ideally located for the old town. Breakfasts were excellent with a full range of continental breakfast fare, cereals, bacon sausage, scrambled and boiled eggs. Rooms were comfortable in a slightly dated dark wood decor. A free safe in the room was also welcome. The hotel is locally graded 4* but at that, some expected facilities are missing or surcharged: the room does not have a mini-bar which you might expect of a 4* hotel, nor tea & coffee making facilities which whilst not yet quite 'standard' on the continent are increasingly common nowadays. The TV channels do indeed only include CNN in English. More disappointingly for me, there was no musical option - neither MTV (or similar) nor any radio channels. I was also surprised when reaching for the bottle of water provided to notice the collarette advising a charge of €4. In my experience, bottled water provided in hotel rooms is usually complimentary or at least the first (desktop) bottle is, excluding any from the mini-bar. Overall, it felt more like a 3* than 4* hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dove C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2012

To find it with a satnav put "peterstrasse 1" otherwise you will be driven 200 metres from the hotel, but you will not be able to have acces because it is pedestrian area.

The garage is a public one next door, without lift, not so suitable if you have heavy luggage.

The reception is professional but very cold and distant.

The room we were was extremely hot and you could not open windows as screams and laughters from young students went on until very late in the morning,

No faciities like coffes or tea making and no fridge either.

TV channels are limited and mainly only in german and in english (we are in Europe, are we not ?)

Apart from these points, the location is good in the old town.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sanpian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2012

My fiance and I decided to book a room at this particular hotel in Aachen, since the Tripadvisor reviews were so good. We left the hotel wondering how our experience had been so different to those told on here!

Over the past week we have stayed at 5 hotels, including this one, across Europe. Upon arriving at the hotels in Luxembourg, Brussels, Bruges and The Hague we were greeted by pleasant smiles, warm welcomes and helpful advice to make the most of our stay. At the Hotel Granus however, we were given our room key and not a lot else! The reception staff seemed disinterested and almost hostile. When we asked for local information we were given a map. We then asked for guidance about the area and were told that they were not local and so could not help us.

Our double room on the 4th floor did not have AC, which may have been fine had we not been situated next to a busy street. All night there were cars driving past, sirens blaring, drunks screaming and the ongoing sound of a fountain right outside.

The decor was incredibly dated and the matresses were very uncomfortable.

Check out was as unfriendly as our check in had been.

Out of the 5 hotels we stayed in, this was not the only one that had its down sides. However, the staff at each of the other hotels were so welcoming and so willing to help us enjoy our stay that the issues were easily forgotten. A huge disappointment indeed!

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else!
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank The_FMB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2012

Super location near the Dom with plenty of excellent bars and restaurants nearby. The room was modern with a range of toiletries. Good shower and beds. Staff very polite. I didn't try the breakfast but there are excellent places nearby for that (and cheap).

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LastOfTheCelts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2012

Ignore the uninspiring facade. If you are visiting Aachen Cathedral or just going for the night life this is a great hotel. Its clean and modern and we were upgraded free from two single rooms to two doubles. The breakfast was extensive, the hotel is excellent for adults whether on business or site seeing. From the front door there is a passage up to a lovely square with bars and restaurants right at the back of the cathedral. The town hall square is just 100m further on. Breakfast starts at 6 which is useful. I had never been before but I will be back and I will use The Aquis Grana

Room Tip: There is a cut through to the cathedral opposite the front door which is handy.
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dombo13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews