We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good price. But that's it.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel ibis Aachen Hauptbahnhof
Ranked #11 of 41 Hotels in Aachen
Düsseldorf
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Good price. But that's it.”
Reviewed August 21, 2013

Ok, and the service was nice. But seriously, I never slept in such a hard bed in my whole life. My back hurt so much in the next day I couldn't even carry my purse around. It's sort of a very thin mattress and underneath it, a wooden bed. So you can imagine what it does to you. I can take a hard bed, but this one was out of the ordinary.

Second, "free internet". The "free internet" speed is 250 kbps, which means you won't be able to check your e-mails. Or you will, if you are patient enough to wait around 20 minutes for your browser to open. I wasn't. If you want more capacity, you have to pay for it.

Third, we had bikes, so it wasn't a problem, but I would say you have to walk at least half a kilometer to get to the hotel. If your bags are too heavy...

Fourth, the shower is good, but the box had two "holes" for its design which make the water spread all over the bathroom. I wonder who was the genius who came up with that.

Anyway... better luck next time.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicole J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

579 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    273
    170
    41
    16
See reviews for
89
220
86
142
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed August 17, 2013

the room and bathroom are very small
they say free internet but internet can't reach your room
no parking place outside the hotel
you have to pay extra to park the car at the parking of the hotel
it's at about 20 min from the center

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2013

This Ibis hotel is typically immaculate, tidy and clean and the price was very reasonable. The staff were very helpful and friendly. I would stay at the Ibis chain over any other chain in the same market. There is always value for money and I have yet to meet a staff member who wasn't charming and helpful. The hotel is well located to view the attractions in town. 2 thumbs up !!

Room Tip: The rooms were quiet, even facing the front street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cliff M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Comber Northern Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2013

An excellent IBIS hotel, well located on the edge of the central area. Reception staff were all very friendly and polite and helpful. The room was typical of Ibis, small with a tiny bathroom but immaculately clean. We were able to park the car securely for I think 6 euros per night - I have paid £20 in other cities. The lobby/restaurant was very welcoming - I didnt expect to find a bar there and not expensive for snacks. The breakfast was good different varieties of bread and some hot food but not particularly cheap. We hadnt intended to have breakfast in the hotel but there didnt appear to be any breakfast places particularly near. An excellent example of an IBIS hotel - good value for money in a good location and spotless. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Combertraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aachen
1 review
Reviewed July 22, 2013

This hotel situated near to cenrum so it is easy to walk. My room was spotlessly clean and I had a very comfortable bed to sleep. Bathroom was tiny but clean and had suitable place for dusch. All the staff was polite and helpful.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Edit S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bordeaux
Level 6 Contributor
93 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2013

The Ibis Aachen is located close to the train station and is only a 15 minute walk or less to the down town area of the city. The rooms are the usual Ibis style but they actually have a good air con system. the rooms are simple but comfortable. I liked the fact they had pay secure parking for 6 euros which was a godsend. the staff are polite, friendly and professional. I would stay here again for a one night stay in the city.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank JinksBelgium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Aachen hotels
0.7 mi away
Ibis Styles Aachen City
0.4 mi away
Ibis Aachen Marschiertor
0.6 mi away
ibis budget Aachen City
ibis budget Aachen City
#12 of 41 in Aachen
362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Mercure Aachen Europaplatz
0.6 mi away
Novotel Aachen City
Novotel Aachen City
#2 of 41 in Aachen
889 reviews
0.8 mi away
INNSIDE by Melia Aachen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel ibis Aachen Hauptbahnhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel ibis Aachen Hauptbahnhof

Property: Hotel ibis Aachen Hauptbahnhof
Address: Zollernstr. 2, 52070 Aachen, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Aachen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 41 Hotels in Aachen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel ibis Aachen Hauptbahnhof 2*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel ibis Aachen Hauptbahnhof is located in the city centre, close to the railway station and 2 km from the Eurogress Convention Centre. Close to the Stadttheater Aachen, it has 128 modern airconditioned rooms with telephone, automatic alarm clock andcable TV, private undercover pay parking, a bar serving snacks 24 hours and 5 seminar rooms. Business travellers will appreciate WiFi broadband Internet access. Golf and tennis 5 km from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel ibis Aachen Hauptbahnhof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Accor Aachen Normaluhr

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing