We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good business hotel but feeling a little dated”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Leonardo Hotel Aachen
Ranked #7 of 41 Hotels in Aachen
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
108 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Good business hotel but feeling a little dated”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2013

I have used this hotel on a number of occassions when visiting the Aachen area on business. I struggle between a 3 and a 4 rating... for quality of the staff I gave a 4...

As seems to be the case with many Holiday Inn's in Europe, this hotel provides good service but is dated and showing its age. It is perfectly clean and presentable with comfortable beds and bathrooms. For me this is most important and I can live with the dated room decor, furniture and very basic and limited TV service but as time goes by this will become more of an issue and the lease owner of the location will likely have to make some investment.

Service from the staff was excellent with good English and a keeness to ensure that everything is done for the the customer. Dinner food is a little limited but fresh heathy items can be found and are presented in an attractive manner. Breakfast is the standard European offering with plenty of coffee on the table which is always a good thing.

It does annoy me that the HI chains insist on charging high rates for internet use. All these little things (internet, TV, decor etc) start to add up in the minds of travellers and have us look elsewhere.

Room Tip: As is the case for many hotels, rooms further from the lifts afford a quieter experience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

246 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    111
    65
    19
    4
See reviews for
32
79
10
94
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Beccles, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2013

We have used this hotel on a number of occasions when visiting the Christmas market. It is very handily placed just off the autobahn so easy to find and easy to get away in the morning. The ambiance is more than of a business rather than holiday hotel but it is smart, clean and comfortable. The breakfast was a bit pricey but nevertheless was ample with a good choice. Lots of car parking. Reception staff friendly and helpful.The bus stop is just outside the hotel on the busy Krefelderstrasse and about 10 mins to centre. Cost e8 for a mini group ticket (4-5 people) Taxi cost is about e14.
All in all a good Holiday Inn.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank reevy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
173 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2012

Room

The room we stayed in was clean and the beds were comfortable.  Decor is, I would say, from the 80's/90's but OK. The room was on the front onlooking the main duel carriageway but noise was not an issue. It had two double beds but was not cramped.

It appears to be set up more for the business traveller and expect to get tea/coffee, trouser press and SKY tv with pay channels.  You can also choose whether to have soft or firm pillows and duvets. There is no safe though.

Internet access is chargeable.     

Reception/bar/restaurant Areas

These are tastefully designed and pleasant.  We only had breakfast here but they had a good selection of fresh fruit, hot and cold buffet and the usual breads, meats and cheeses.  All were nicely presented. 

Although the staff numbers were small,  those that were working were always pleasant.

This is the second time we have used the hotel and would recommend it, especially if travelling through as the location is two minutes off the A4.
 
If you want something to eat outside the hotel and have a car then I can recommend a lovely little Italian     just inside Aachen centre: La Piazza. Just head straight into the centre and it can be found at the end of a no through road in Willy Brandt Platz 3-5 52062 Aachen. We ate here for €34 for the three of us.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Jasper050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Europe
Level Contributor
38 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2012

The hotel is ok and the rooms are clean. Breakfast is good, but the breakfast restaurant is quite small and very busy so it was difficult to find a seat.
If you compare value for money the room was too expensive, especially compared with other hotels I stayed before in Aachen.

Room Tip: Go for the superior rooms, they are more quiet than the standard rooms, but more expensive. Standard...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
60 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2012 via mobile

It's not the cheapest in terms of overall value for money, and as a Platinum Priority Club member you still get to pay a lot for Internet access etc. The building itself is nothing exciting, rooms are comfortable as long as you are located at the back away from the road. Staff are friendly and welcoming which is the bit you finally remember as nothing else stands out as exceptionally good or bad in this functional but bland hotel.

Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank PWG63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fontainebleau, France
Level Contributor
48 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2012

A clean, basic, business hotel. Dreadful food. Astronomical room rate and everything was an added extra incl. Internet & breakfast. However we had booked a partially flexible rate & there was an event on. It's on the outskirts of Aachen. The centre is a 5-10min drive.
I'd never choose to stay here but it was a business trip.
They have smoking room and entirely non-smoking floors.
Roads surround the hotel, it's very noisy even though we were on the 'quieter side'.
Energy saving storage heaters blast out mid-night. We we're sweltering in the small hours of the morning.
Very comfortable beds and a choice of pillow softness/hardness.
English speaking & very good staff.

Room Tip: Room 315 is non-smoking & on the 'quieter side'
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Henny P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Leonardo Hotel Aachen, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Dear Henny P,

Thank you for submitting your review of our hotel. I am pleased that you found our beds comfortable and the staff services were good. I am sorry to hear that you were not satisfied with your room accommodations. Please accept our sincere apologies about the noise. It is our goal to consistently ensure our facilities and service are superior and we strive to provide rates that are competitive in the area. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas. We hope to get a chance of hosting you again and show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Lera M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Aachen hotels

Hopton on Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
212 reviews
121 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

As a Platinum Royal Ambassador I always stay at Holiday Inn, Crowne Plaza etc whilst travelling around the world on business. On this occasion I stayed for 10 nights. I was a little concerned at the reviews that were left by previous guests. However, I have to stay the staff were all excellent. Upon arrival my membership status was immediately recognised and I was given all of the associated benefits. The hotel is on the main road from the North in to Aachen and slightly set back. If you get to the Sports stadium travelling to central Aachen you have missed it! I did. The rooms are dated but equipped with all you need. Nonetheless, the only english speaking tv channel is CNN. A small fridge in the room is supplied but be warned it doesn't get very cold!The bar and restaurant staff are great, very polite and helpful. Not much choice on the restaurant menu, so I was thankful for the BK, Chinese restaurant and Subway across the road. I do have to moan about the wifi though, I am still amazed that IHG do not have wifi for free. Time they caught up, I mean even McDonalds has free wifi and at the hotel its 75 euros for the week, it is a steep price to pay. Breakfast has an excellent choice but again pricey at 16 euros. No gym facilities which is poor considering its location. Overall, it's a pleasant place to stay, great staff, close to the motorway and a short taxi ride in to the centre of Aachen.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scopie100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Aachen hotels
1.4 mi away
Novotel Aachen City
Novotel Aachen City
#1 of 41 in Aachen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 851 reviews
1.4 mi away
INNSIDE by Melia Aachen
1.2 mi away
Pullman Aachen Quellenhof
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Art Hotel Aachen Superior
1.7 mi away
Mercure Hotel Aachen am Dom
1.1 mi away
Mercure Aachen Europaplatz
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Leonardo Hotel Aachen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leonardo Hotel Aachen

Property: Leonardo Hotel Aachen
Address: Krefelder Str. 221, 52070 Aachen, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Location: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Aachen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Aachen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Leonardo Hotel Aachen 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotel.de, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Leonardo Hotel Aachen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Aachen
Aachen Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing