We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hardly I will stay here again”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Stadtnah

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Stadtnah
Ranked #34 of 41 Hotels in Aachen
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
113 reviews
113 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
“Hardly I will stay here again”
Reviewed September 16, 2012

The hotel is located in close proximity to the train station which is very convenient. Perhaps, this is the only thing to which I had no claims. Everything else was not so positive. I arrived late, at the reception desk was empty. I found a note in which it was written that I must contact the reception desk of a neighbouring hotel. Fortunately, that they are next door... The hotel does not have elevator. Lift heavy things up the stairs very uncomfortable. The furniture in the room is old, though the room is quite spacious. Due to poor sound insulation is hard to fall asleep at night. Internet speed is very slow. I definitely made a mistake with the choice of this hotel, wanting to save money.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Wind41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    14
    20
    1
    7
See reviews for
4
18
11
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2012

We requested quiet room and this was confirmed by the lady manager/owner when she gave us the room key. If this was a quiet room, would hate to be in a noisy one! We were pleased it was situated on 1st floor as we had heavy luggage to bring upstairs, but turned out to be very noisy from drinkers in nearby bars. Another hotel guest brought friend(s) back to his room on 2nd night and shouting, banking on doors interrupted our sleep and we felt very insecure! No member of staff seemed to live-in to offer some security. Room was spotless but decor is truly ghastly! We chose to book breakfast in advance and had reasonably good selection but with bakery close to hotel, it would have been nice to have more than one type of bread roll for breakfast as German bread is world famous! We don't plan to return to Aachen so will not visit hotel again nor recommend it to anyone who needs a good night's sleep.

Room Tip: Is there a good and quiet room there?
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cologne, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2012

1. the worst thing is the hotel staff distoried my mood during and after the stay.
2. The old lady there doesn't understand what "Service" mean, and even shouted to customers, very bad manner.
3. No elevator, people who come with luggage should prepare to carry them.
4. many hidden costs, which they even wanted to charge 10 Euro only for a small paper written the Room number, which hangs with the room key. The costs are not written for public, and now I need to contact with my bank and don't let them book this money from my credit card. Breakfast of course not included, need to pay another 6.50 Euro for that.
5. It's impossible to change the date after the payment, as I need to leave one day earlier than my plan, they won't return me any single cent, of course for this hotel....
6. The air in the room and toilet is not very good, and the roof of toilet even is even moldy!

In a word, it's the worst hotel ever, people in Aachen are generally very nice, but there's always some bad one.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Tiantian Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Aachen hotels

Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2011

It’s been two years since I was at the Hotel Bahnhof/Hotel Stadtnah in Aachen, Germany. It’s still an ideal location (right across from the train station) within walking distance of the old city and main shopping areas with a great variety of restaurants (from Turkish to Chinese to Italian and German Bakery) within a minute’s walk. The rooms still seemed pretty clean, with TV and free wifi access. However, I was no longer allowed to make calls from the room phone—only receive calls, which is inconvenient unless you’re traveling with a cell phone that doesn’t have exorbitant roaming charges. (On the other hand, you are right across from the train station which still has coin pay phones if you really need them). On the slightly disappointing side, I noticed a distracting smell when I first entered my nonsmoking room (a cross between hay and something more noxious). I assumed that it might have been the cleaning agents that were being used because otherwise the room seemed clean. The breakfast fare is also less impressive than it used to be. Getting there even mid way through the breakfast hour (7 am-10am), meant reduced choices like a minimal amount of juice and 1 boiled egg left. Still, if you're looking for convenience and good basic, safe accommodations, the location and room rate (@53 Euros a night) mean this hotel is still a bargain. I will continue to choose Hotel Stadtnah.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnthroLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
57 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2011

The hotel is very convenient to the train station and an easy walk to the center of town. As others have noticed, check-in was at the Hotel am Bahnhof next door, and this was also where we were able to store our luggage. The owner (of both hotels) greeted us at check-in and could not have been friendlier or more helpful. The other staff at breakfast (including, I believe, the owner’s wife) were a bit grumpier.

Our room was small (but not too small), clean, quiet, comfortable, and extremely yellow. It was up several long flights of stairs with no elevator; as we were staying only one night, we opted to leave most of our luggage in the lobby overnight and also the next day when we explored the town before heading back to the train station. No problems there, and much appreciated.

Breakfast was quite good, with a wide array of German and international fare, all of a reasonably high quality, and well worth the five euros a person.

All in all, a perfect choice for a short stay if you are travelling by train.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dougherucci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
708 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 367 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2010

This is an okay 2-star hotel. While it is quite near the Aachen hauptbahnhof, the train station doesn't attract the normal seediness associated with most main train stations. Check in was easy at the next-door Bahnhof Hotel (there is a sign in the door in multiple languages telling you to go to the Bahnhof Hotel). Street parking was available directly in front of the hotel. The reception clerk told us the polizei finished their parking ticket rounds at 1900 so we didn't have to worry about the fact that the parkschein automat (parking ticket machine) only allowed 2 hrs max time. The room turned out to be a triple. I don't know if it's larger than standard doubles (we were in #32 on the 3rd floor). The room was clean, large enough, good closet space, small TV (who cares?), a desk and chair, and a decent sized 70s looking bathroom that was clean. You know, the avocado green and brown tiles? The hot water in the shower wasn't hot enough -- it was lukewarm but not cool enough to get out of the shower screaming. Breakfast was pretty good. Breads, cheeses, sliced meats, some cereals, and fruits. The coffee was good and strong. Euro 57 for a double in Aachen on the weekend during their Weihnachts markt was a good deal.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank travelmeisteren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
126 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2010

The location is very convenient, right across from the main train station. There are quite a few restaurants within short walking distance, and major tourist attractions such as the Dom (cathedral) and historic city hall are a 10 minute walk.

The rooms are small and plain, but with new fixtures and very clean. The bed was comfortable, and there are adequate lights and electric outlets. The bathroom was very clean and the show worked well. There was plenty of hot water. The supply of bed linens, blankets, pillows and towels was adequate.

Check-in is at the nearby Hotel Bahnhof, and he sign on the front of this hotel says "Hotel Garni" and not Hotel Stadtnah! I was always able to find staff at one of the two hotels when I needed someone.

This hotel can be noisy! The stairs are stone and the doors wood, and you can clearly hear other guests coming and going up and down the stairs and opening and shutting their doors. The walls are thick though so I never really heard any sounds from adjacent rooms. I had a room at the back, and almost every morning a circular saw started up at 6:30 am in the back Three of the 5 nights I was there (not weekend nights) there were loud parties somewhere in the back and I had to shut the window to get to sleep.

The WiFi costs four euro per day and only works about half the time. When it does work it is limited to about 15kb/s (slower than most dial-up!). The person at the desk in the evening knew nothing about it and would not refund my money. As a side note, if you have access to the RWTH university WiFi it works in many parts of Aachen including the square in front of the hotel.

Breakfast was OK. They had fresh and canned fruit, a variety of breads and pastries, cold cuts, hard boiled eggs, cold cereals and milk, juice and yogurt. Breakfast started at 7am.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelinFamilyBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Aachen hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Hesse
Hotel Hesse
#39 of 41 in Aachen
23 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel am Marschiertor
Hotel am Marschiertor
#23 of 41 in Aachen
49 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ibis Aachen Marschiertor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel ibis Aachen Hauptbahnhof
0.6 mi away
City Appartements Regence
0.3 mi away
Hotel Benelux
Hotel Benelux
#17 of 41 in Aachen
48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Stadtnah? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Stadtnah

Property: Hotel Stadtnah
Address: Leydelstr. 2, 52064 Aachen, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Location: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Aachen
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 41 Hotels in Aachen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Stadtnah 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotel.de and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Stadtnah reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing