We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Italian food and nice staff” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kaiserwetter

Kaiserwetter
Ranked #30 of 562 Restaurants in Aachen
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
55 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great Italian food and nice staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2014

I was here yesterday with a colleague of mine. I had some tomato soup and the tagliatelle with salmon ragout and both were delicious. The tomato soup was well seasoned and warm, just the way I like it, and it was very dense (like a good gazpacho), and they served fresh (!) ciabatta with the soup. The salmon was prepared medium-welldone and the tagliatelle came al dente, so it was excellent. The saffron sauce fit the pasta very well, and I also got some green salad as a side to the pasta which was also delicious.

The staff were really nice and smiling all the time, although we did not have a dedicated server. The service was rather friendly than upscale professional, which fits my mood better on a sunny afternoon, so I was satisfied. We did not have to wait much for the food, once we were able to order, but if you are in a hurry or very very hungry, go to self-service restaurant. This place has a rather 'relaxed' pace. (I'm starting to think it is standard in Aachen.)

Prices are average. I paid 17 Euros + tip for my soup, pasta, and beer, and the portion was huge. And I mean 'I could barely move' huge. :)

All in all, this is a very good restaurant, and I will definitely go back if ever in Aachen again!

Appendix 1:
Pizzas: 7-11 Euros
Pastas: 7-9 Euros
Black Angus steak: 16.5 Euros
Salmon steak: ~14.5 Euros
Salads: (I don't remember)
Soup: ~3.5 Euros
Desset: ~4-5 Euros
Beer: ~3-4 Euros

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Aron H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    91
    19
    5
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kingston, Canada
Level Contributor
159 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Still Great!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2014

After three years of eating at Kaiserwetter about two or three times a year, I can say that it just as good now as the first time. Affordable, handy, friendly staff and above all very tasty meals. We've sat on their terrace, we've eaten inside, all times of the year the service and quality is consistently very good. Their salads are noteworthy, and recently I had a very good beef carpaccio. Two people can have lunch with a drink for about Euro 25, and you will walk away pleased.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jbmcnair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great Little Find”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2014

I took my wife and little daughter (20 months) for lunch. We were just walking around the historic part of Aachen and happened upon this little gem. We both had salads (I am a salad dodger, but having seen others in the restaurant, we were gripped with massive food envy); my daughter had a kiddies pizza (@ 4 Euros, excellent value for money). The salads were excellent value for money; my wife had the rumpsteak on hers which was superb. No desserts, we were simply too full!
The service was as good as the food and was much quicker than we have become accustomed to in Brussels. I am reasonably confident that if you go, you wont be disappointed.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jeff B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lovely food and great atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2014 via mobile

Very nice ambient very fast service.this is a wonderfull place.I love Kaiserwetter. I would definately eat here again!

Helpful?
Thank Deniz Ö
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
53 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Freshly prepared food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2014

My wife and my parents in law were just walking through the city when we felt hungry all of a sudden. After searching for a place which was open we came across this one by accident. Outside was a chalkboard with the weekly specials, very nice.
We entered a got a good look at the kitchen which is open right at the beginning, so that everybody can see how they are preparing the food. It looks rather small, however in the back there is a bar and many more tables on the ground floor, outside as well as on the gallery, where we ended up.
The atmosphere was ok, nothing special, the waiters were in general very friendly.
In the end we ordered, bbq salmon, steak, chicken salad and tagliatelle with parmesan, parma ham and sheep's cheese. We were all very happy with our food, especially my past was full of flavor for less than 10 euro. It was really tasty, small fried strips of the Parma ham, really tasty. In addition, the dressing for the salad, just yummy, honey-mustard.
In was a very pleasant stay with excellent food. Definitely a must go, especially when you want to get something better than what you normally get on the Pontstreet for instance but don't want to to spend too much money.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Naraew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kaiserwetter also viewed

Aachen, North Rhine-Westphalia
Aachen, North Rhine-Westphalia
 
Aachen, North Rhine-Westphalia
Aachen, North Rhine-Westphalia
 

Been to Kaiserwetter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing