We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (136)
Filter reviews
136 results
Traveler rating
18
35
45
19
19
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
18
35
45
19
19
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 136 reviews
Reviewed August 8, 2016

This hotel is completely disappointing. At a four star hotel I expect to be greeted and to get help if needed. A few minutes Internet access is just a joke. We got a tablet which worked so slowly that the time of free access was expired before the connections were made.
Yes, the rooms are small but I felt more or less OK with this as it was mentioned at the offer. The problem is the big window. If it gets opened it can not be reclosed without the use of much power. A two or three angle window would help. When we left the window tilt when leaving the room service closed it and when we came back we had terribly bad air in the room (it was pretty hot outside).
The breakfast was OK, there was all we needed.
We used the restaurant once. Food and service were good but we preferred to eat some where else after the first experiences with the hotel.
pore

Room Tip: I can not recommend this hotel
  • Stayed: July 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alterspeicher, Leiter Front Office at City Partner Hotel Alter Speicher, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2016
Google Translation

Übersetzung:
Das Hotel ist absolut enttäuschend. Bei einem Vier-Sterne-Hotel erwarte ich begrüßt zu werden und um Hilfe zu holen, wenn nötig. Ein paar Minuten Internetzugang ist nur ein Witz. Wir haben eine Tablette, die so langsam gearbeitet, dass die Zeit des freien Zugangs abgelaufen war, bevor die Verbindungen hergestellt wurden. Ja, die Zimmer sind klein, aber ich fühlte mich mehr oder weniger OK mit diesem, wie es bei dem Angebot erwähnt wurde. Das Problem ist das große Fenster. Wenn es geöffnet wird es nicht ohne die Verwendung von viel Macht wieder verschlossen werden. Ein zwei oder drei Winkelfenster helfen würde. Wenn wir das Fenster kippen verlassen, als der Zimmerservice es geschlossen zu verlassen und als wir zurückkamen hatten wir furchtbar schlechte Luft im Zimmer (es war ziemlich heiß draußen). Das Frühstück war ok, es gab alles, was wir brauchten. Wir haben einmal im Restaurant. Essen und der Service waren gut, aber wir zogen es einige, wo sonst nach den ersten Erfahrungen mit dem Hotel zu essen. Pore

Sehr geehrter Gast,
wir entschuldigen uns, wenn die Begrüßung bei Ihrer Anreise nicht so war wie Sie es sich gewünscht hatten. Wir freuen uns aber, dass Ihnen der Besuch in unserem Galerie- Restaurant so sehr gefallen hat und geben das Lob gerne an unser Küchen- und Restaurantteam weiter. Unsere hauseigenen Tablets, welche Sie bei Anreise kostenfrei erhalten, haben einen 24 Stunden Zugang. Leider gibt es momentan gelegentlich Störungen in der Leitung, da das Netz gerade in Wismar ausgebaut wird. Wir hoffen bald auch über ein LTE Netz zu verfügen.
Gerade im Sommer ist das Housekeeping darauf bedacht die Fenster und Übergardinen nach der Reinigung zu schließen, um die warme Luft draußen zu lassen. Sollte Ihr Fenster beim Öffnen oder Schließen geklemmt haben, tut uns das sehr leid, aber eine kurze Info an der Rezeption hätte gereicht, dann hätten wir Ihnen gerne unseren Haustechniker vorbei geschickt.
Wir hoffen Sie konnten auch ein paar positive Erinnerungen an unsere schöne Hansestadt Wismar mitnehmen
und verbleiben
mit freundlichen Grüßen
Annika Bierwolf

Dear guest,
We apologize if the greeting upon arrival was not like you had wished for. We are delighted that you enjoyed so much the visit to our Gallery- restaurant and give the praise happy to share our kitchen and restaurant team. Our own tablets which are available for free when you arrive, have a 24 hour access. Unfortunately, there are currently occasionally problems on the line, since the network is being expanded in Wismar. We hope soon to also have an LTE network.
Especially in summer the housekeeping is on the windows and curtains considered after cleansing to close to allow the warm air outside. If your windows have pinched when opening or closing, does this very sorry, but a short note at the front desk would have been enough, we would have liked to send you our technicians over.
We hope you were also a few positive memories of our beautiful city of Wismar take
and remain
Best regards
Annika Bierwolf

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2014 via mobile

This hotel is vile,I stayed here with my elderly father and they put us on a floor in old side woth no lifts,at breakfast the meats smelled bad and the salads tasted off.The food was cold.The staff where rude and abusive at one point and do not speak one word of english.The orange machine for juices actually had old orange line of scum! The rooms where unclean and outdated and carpets had curious stains.The manager was extremely rude and on one of the mornings staying she was horrible to other staff and guests. she actually fired staff member in front of us and told her to pack and leave...and it was the staff member who could only actually speak English and was helpful...it was a horrible experience and I warm everyone not to waste money and time there.The only good part was the nice man on the desk Tim who was rarely there and only other person there with english.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EricFinn93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2014

We stayed at this hotel for 4 nights with a coach party. For the price we paid it was excellent value but I don’t think we would have been happy paying full price for the size of room.

The quality of the evening meal was excellent both in terms of taste and presentation. Personally, I would have preferred a little more in quantity, particularly vegetables. Breakfast was buffet with a good range of choice.

The staff at the hotel were all friendly and efficient.

The only fault with this hotel is one which has been referred to by several reviewers and that is the size of the room. Ours was small, though the en-suite was a good size – about half the size of the bedroom. As we were on the second (top) floor we had sloping ceilings and that made the useable area of the bedroom even smaller.

There was no air conditioning and our room was very hot, even with the window open.

Our room was non-smoking (as we requested) but rooms for smokers were available on request.

Room Tip: If you are travelling independently, go for a bigger room. If you can’t afford it, look elsewhere. Go for ground floor or first floor to avoid sloping ceilings. Request non-smoking or smoking rooms according to your preference. Smoking rooms are still available in Germany and much of Europe.
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Northumberland R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Alter Speicher is not a bad hotel, just not what it cracks itself up to be. Certainly not 4# except on the strength of the facilities it offers - sauna, fitness room, suntan room. The bedrooms are certainly not 4*. Ours was small and very dated - the superstructure around the two twin beds contained one of those built in clock and radio that surely nobody has used for 20 years or more.
There was a (small) TV but no BBC only CNN in English.. The bed was admirably firm (probably too much so for some) but so also was the "duvet" - more like a mattress pad. I spent most of the night fighting with mine. The bathroom was nicely fitted (more recently renovated I guess) but the toilet seat was incredibly low and it was impossible to maintain a steady temperature from the shower. We were at the end of a long corridor and it seemed every time someone higher up the chain adjusted the temperature of their shower we were subjected to a blast of very hot or very cold water. The public rooms reflected the character of the traditional buildings but were stuffed with knick knacks everywhere (Olga Polizzi would have hated it !). The food in the restaurant was hearty and came in huge portions. The breakfast buffet was very cramped - too many items fighting for counter space and too many people swarming around it at the same time. And the parking ! Very tight corners and narrow spaces so almost impossible to get out either side of the car once it was parked. I guess most of their business is one-off and one night only (Wismar is hardly the place for repeated visits though we used it as a base for 3 nights to visit the North German Brick Gothic churches & Town Halls) so not much incentive to change their ways. And for a "Family-run" hotel it would have been nice if one or more of the family had been in evidence at some point during our stay. (It is actually part of a chain). So I think 3 stars is generous but 2 stars would be mean.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank john b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2013

The hotel is central in the old part of the town. (But Wismar is so small that most hotels are central.) I was a bit disapointed. There was no WLAN in the rooms - really? In a four stars hotel? You can use the internet in the lobby - only 15 minutes for free. I also missed a whole-body-mirror. There was one in the room but in front of the bed, so that you have to step on the bed to see your legs. The walls between the rooms seem to be very thin - you can hear your neighbours snoring.
On the other hand: the bed was good, pillows also. Staff very friendly but sometimes overwhelmed when many guests were present.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anja M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews