We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great views of the beach and sea.”
Review of Hotel NEPTUN

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel NEPTUN
Ranked #3 of 20 Hotels in Warnemunde
Fort Collins, Colorado, United States
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Great views of the beach and sea.”
Reviewed December 18, 2012

I had no idea a place like this existed way out on the Baltic Sea. From their restaurants you get a grand view of miles of beaches as well as the sea. The rooms are modern and spacious and all have view of the Baltic. We at at a restaurant on the first floor and had their specialty, fried chicken, which was great. Apparently, the restaurant hasn't changed much over the years and was a favorite of the former GDR officials.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ron114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

295 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    93
    57
    21
    16
See reviews for
50
138
19
55
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chesapeake, Virginia, United States
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2012

Good- Clean and nice rooms
Bad- No irons (safety issue), no coffee in room.

The breakfast buffet was expensive 17 Euros. It was to be included in the room rate, but I got charged separate and extra.

Restaurants were very expensive- and not worth it. (25 Euro lunch buffet???)

Other than that- it's a nice hotel, comfortable and clean.

I heard the spa was nice, though I didnt use it.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
312 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2012

The Neptune's web site doesn't do the hotel justice. It is a very, very fine hotel in a premier location right on the beach walk. My room was surprisingly large, with twin balconies facing the sea, a large bathroom with larger-than-full-size tub (room for two to soak!), a large walk-in closet, suite-sized sitting room -- and every furnishing absolutely in brand new condition, shined and polished to a high luster. Since it is a sea town, we can say "ship shape, and Bristol fashion." There are some minor annoyances, including a rather dated approach to internet service, in which you must present yourself to the front desk and request an ethernet cable; there is no wireless. Also, the standard complaint agains MOST German hotels -- no air conditioning, which is indeed a problem during the hot and humid August time of my visit. Because there is no air conditioning, you must open your windows to the noisy and boisterous beach walk area - which is a summer party place that does not easily or early quiet down. Nonetheless, I cannot imagine you'll find a cleaner or more comfortable hotel in the area. And the food service, lively bar scene, and so on are just very, very enjoyable (never mind the cheesy lounge act with the singer trying to channel Elvis).

Room Tip: The rooms on the higher floors are more posh, and worth the extra twenty or so Euros.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Holokauahi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Hlavni Mesto Praha, Czech Republic
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2012

Great place on the beach in the center of Warnemunde but insufficient parking capacity and the queue for the lift, but worth it to go back.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MilanPrague_111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2011

to me it is the best place to relax and recharge the batteries for winter time. They offer original Thalasso, have a large sea water swimming pool and offer all kind of courses like - among others - yoga, gymnastics specially for the back, Aquamix and there's also quite a big work out studio. The hotel sits just behind the sand dunes of the eastern sea and you can walk for hours along the water line. The view out of the rooms is breath taking. Take the upper flors above 15th. The food is delicious - a lot of fresh fish. Great breakfast buffet. - The people are very friendly and helpful. I was there for four times already and I still love it,

Room Tip: if you're a hoby sea captain take the rooms looking to the east > so you can watch the boats...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank swiss45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lüneburg,germany
Level 5 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2011

I stayed there for 5 days - it was a gift! 5 days of good food, perfect service and thalasso spa treatment. A lot of guests come again and again, I am tempted too - if the price weren't rather high. The spa offers a lot, very good choices. But then the weather was perfect for April too and the beach beckoned . . .
I hope I can afford a return visit.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hiki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 21, 2010

My partner and decided to book this hotel a week to relaxe, as we both have quit stressfull jobs in Berlin. As a restaurant Manager in a 4 Star Plus hotel in Berlin it is possible that my expectations are a bit high when entering a hotel of the Luxury class.

The check in and out were fast and effiecient. To bad the personal touch and a warm felt welcome was missing. I found it very displeasing that when asking a question on Reception on the first day about W-Lan or the Bathrooms, I was first attacked with the counter question ' are you a guest here?' I was offended! this also occured in the wellness area on my first morning. After I complained about this, a young reception worked explained to me that due to my under average age in this 5 Star Hotel the question is 'Normal', by the way I am 36, and it is true that most of the guests here seemed to be well over 55, still I found this to be offensive, as if I would walk around dressed as a street bum!

On the first morning when walking by the reception desk in the direction of the Breakfast Restaurant we were very dissapointed to have walked by at least 5 hotel workers and not even one said 'Güten Morgen'! On the second day when walking by the reception desk all 4 workers looked at us without a word until I barked a brisk 'Güten Morgen' first then, came an in unison ' Güten Morgen', to bad that one has to sometimes be a bit rude to make a point, this would not even be acceptable in a 3 star house let alone 5!

The Breakfast Buffet would have been great if we were in a 4 star hotel but for a 5 star Breakfast Buffet I found it to be a bit under par. A Plus was freshly cut fruit, fresh eggs are possible to order but not offered, this is the same with coffee specialities. Most of the waiters were unfriendly sometimes even rude. The only server who was friendly and attentive was Frau Fuchs, if you have breakfast here try to sit in her serving area. She is a delight, friendly and even brings one new cutlery without complaining unlike the other waiters. The breath taking view of the Baltic Sea almost makes up for the poor service here.

One evening my partner ordered a 3 course meal with paired wine in Restaurant Korale ( an in house Restaurant) for us. I must say it was great! The food- great, the service- impeccable, the head waiter is a true master of his trade, a bit reserved and old school but also charming.

We were in Cafe Panorama the in house cafe, here one has a great view of the Baltic Sea. The young man serving cake was a true delight with lots of personality and a smile!

The hotel also has a fitness and wellness area which I used 3 times. The entry to which reminds one a bit of entering a larg department store and not a wellness area. In the gym the trainers were friendly and attentive, the weight machines seemed a bit old. Here one also has a view of the Baltic Sea. The Sauna and relaxation room were okay but seem smaller than the pictures in the internet.

All in all I would say this is an okay hotel which needs to be modernised, great view, bit of a chilling history,, not worth more than a 4Star+ rating.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Arions
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Warnemunde hotels
0.8 mi away
Yachthafenresidenz Hohe Dune
Yachthafenresidenz Hohe Dune
#2 of 20 in Warnemunde
543 reviews
0.1 mi away
a-ja Warnemuende. Das Resort.
0.2 mi away
Strand-Hotel Huebner
Strand-Hotel Huebner
#1 of 20 in Warnemunde
200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Ringhotel Warnemuender Hof
Ringhotel Warnemuender Hof
#5 of 20 in Warnemunde
62 reviews
0.1 mi away
KurparkHotel Warnemuende
KurparkHotel Warnemuende
#4 of 20 in Warnemunde
68 reviews
2.0 mi away
Landhotel Ostseetraum & Ferienwohnungen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel NEPTUN? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel NEPTUN

Property: Hotel NEPTUN
Address: Seestr. 19, 18119 Warnemunde, Rostock, Mecklenburg-West Pomerania, Germany
Location: Germany > Mecklenburg-West Pomerania > Rostock > Warnemunde
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Warnemunde
#3 Luxury Hotel in Warnemunde
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Warnemunde
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel NEPTUN 5*
Number of rooms: 338
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel NEPTUN reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Neptun Hotel Warnemünde

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing