We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a beautiful place” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Alter Strom

Alter Strom
Ranked #2 of 47 things to do in Warnemunde
Certificate of Excellence
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
220 reviews
129 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“What a beautiful place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

A short walk from the ship, crossing over the water via a bridge where you can take awesome photos, even with the ship in the background. There was a man, all dressed in white and pretending to be a statue. We had fun watching him and some of the people he touched when they walk pass. The old buildings are beautiful, painted in soft and even some bright colours. There is enough space to walk while you look around and stop to take pictures - not that crowded although there were a large number of people. some of the buildings are still used as houses and they have beautiful gardens with awesome flowers and shrubs. Others are shops, but too expensive for us with our South African money.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
6 Thank erna o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

340 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    193
    119
    24
    1
    3
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kayseri, Turkey
Level Contributor
30 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Not much to say”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

As you step from the S-Bahn it is simply among the 1st things to see.its surrounded by fish markets and don't hesitate to taste one.Cross the bridge and you can go to Wandermunde Kırche or to Leuchtturm

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank Wapsonjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level Contributor
148 reviews
92 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
“Beautiful part of Warnemunde”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

Not to be missed. If you decide to stay in Waremunde, this is a must for people watching, food and strolling. Watch out for aggressive seagulls wanting your food, however it is entertaining to watch!
Many little shops and cafes all at reasonable prices. Best visited after cruise ship hours if possible.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
6 Thank Cindiana49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wirral UK
Level Contributor
714 reviews
356 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 533 helpful votes
“Full of character”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2013

Alte Strom means "Old Channel" and is really the central area of the town, even though it is not in the town centre. Near the station and the cruise terminal, it is packed both sides with open restaurants cooking fish and all manor of seafood. Lots of small shops too, but it is not too touristy and is full of Scandinavian character. One of the highlights of the town - a really great area to stroll around. Just a few meters away is the quaint old town area with lots of photogenic wooden houses.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
17 Thank NeilandBarbara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falcon, Colorado
Level Contributor
229 reviews
151 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 215 helpful votes
“Watch the Seagulls”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2012

This was a stop on our Scandanavian cruise. The purpose was for passengers to take the train the berlin, but since we'd been to Berlin already, we stayed local.

It's very picturesque. Several shops and restaurants along the harbor. Although we didn't buy anything other than ice cream, it was nice to walk along the harbor. However, watch the seagulls. I was buzzed (literally, I felt the wind on my head) about three times for my ice cream, and I watched them take one gentleman's bratwurst right out of his hand as he stood by the harbor eating. Bottom line, guard your food.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
8 Thank Cory J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Alter Strom also viewed

 
Rostock, Mecklenburg-West Pomerania
 

Been to Alter Strom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing