We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Andreas - almost as good as Dave”

Friends of Dave Tours
Ranked #1 of 10 Tours in Warnemunde
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Friends of Dave Tours is a high quality tour service that provides exciting day tours in Warnemünde to visiting cruise guests. We are very proud of our consistent high ratings and we consider our tour customers our friends. There is nothing better than sharing people's vacations and creating long lasting memories together.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Andreas - almost as good as Dave”
Reviewed October 22, 2012

This is what we were told several times by Dave who greeted us at the pier to tell us he was too sick to take the tour that rainy day. I know of Dave's reputaion for being funny, quirky etc so it was a bit of shame but Andreas was charming. We went to Rostock as well as a lovely gentle amble around Warnemunde's charming houses and waterfront. He grew up in the area so to hear him talk about his father bringing him home from hospital and to see photos of the area from the past and to hear his take on how things are going for his country now was incredibly interesting. It was a very personal tour, nothing hurried, extremely well organised for someone who was asked to fill in. Sorry Dave, we didn't miss you at all in the end.

There were 6 of us and we were very well looked after, even a personal trip to the chemist for us as we had coughs, nothing was too much trouble. Biggest schnitzel for lunch that anyone has ever seen. Andreas has had a very interesting life for someone still young, a very enthusiastic and enterprising young man.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank 1navajo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

347 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    323
    16
    5
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Rosa, California
Level Contributor
40 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great day on Magical Mecklenburg Tour with Dave”
Reviewed October 19, 2012

We had a great 3-week trip to Northern Europe/the Baltics, but the day spent with Dave on his tour was outstanding among all experiences. He is knowledgeable (15 years in Germany), engaging with his information and stories, and ably manages a small group so we all stay on the same page while having fun and learning. I highly recommend his Germany tours, and imagine that his other guided trips are as interesting and stimulating.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Barbara P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skokie, Illinois
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“More friends of Dave”
Reviewed October 14, 2012

We found Dave on Tripadviser as an alternative to a long cruise excursion to Berlin; what a great decision! Dave was entertaining and knowledgeable, and the local sights were interesting! I was pleasantly surprise. Wurnemunde is a delightful, former East Geman resort town with great charm. After touring the town and stopping for coffee and a sweet(which was excellent), we took a short train ride to Wismar, a beautiful, well preserved town nearby. Again the touring was interesting and FUN. Lunch was excellent. Thanks Dave.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank BobH66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
140 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“This experience is as good as all the other reviews say.”
Reviewed September 27, 2012

Our group had a delightful day with Dave, after several days of heavy, serious touring in the Baltic. Dave kept us laughing, provided interesting discussion, and took us to eat at delicious restaurants. I would reccomend this to anyone.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Bornfreenowexpensive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pecsherr1
Level Contributor
45 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Anywhere Dave goes, I'll go too!”
Reviewed September 22, 2012

Dave is a native born American who has lived in Germany for 14 years, the last serval of which in Varnemunde, Germany which is 1) the 'Berlin' stop for most Baltic cruises and 2) a fabulous seaside resort community in the Mecklenburg area of Germany (think Kings, princes, castles and the accompanying power plays, feudal rifts and family intrigue). Dave is the ideal 'friend' to travel and tour with. He knows the neighborhoods, customs, people, politics and lay of the land! We explored 'Matical Mecklinburg' beginning with the town of Warnemunde (Dave even scheduled and included a coffe/cake break mid morning!) and then traveling by train to the Mecklenburg Capitol of Schwerin (changing trains in Rostock) where we had a delightful tour of the town, the regional history, fabulous German lunch (four courses including wine or beer!) a visit to the fairy tale castle on the water.... And on and on.... Concerned about taking trains in the middle of the tour?? No problem! Dave does it all - you just follow along and like magic you've gone from sidewalk to train to town... With fabulous commentary and discussions along r way! This was one of the best tour days ever-we will continue to seek .dave out for any tour, any town, anyplace.... He truly becomes available as a friend. All inclusive for a price that can't be beat for a tour that is exceptional!!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
5 Thank pecsherr1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Friends of Dave Tours also viewed

 
Warnemunde, Rostock
 

Been to Friends of Dave Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing