We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very interesting clock”

Sankt Marien Kirche
Ranked #4 of 159 things to do in Rostock
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Wollongong, Australia
Level Contributor
344 reviews
167 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 219 helpful votes
“Very interesting clock”
Reviewed September 8, 2013

This is a huge church, but the main draw card is the clock. If you're with a guide they can explain the workings of the clock, but as we were doing our own thing, we basically just listened to an English speaking tour guide who happened to be there at the same time. A highlight considering how old the clock is and how accurate.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Abbykat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    126
    74
    10
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stroud, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
172 reviews
63 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“Most interesting!”
Reviewed September 7, 2013

We visited this church as part of a tour, and were most impressed. Very ornate inside, a gigantic organ with I believe some 5000 pipes (!), fine carvings and a wonderful astronomical clock are just a few of the arresting sights inside.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank sovmix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit”
Reviewed August 3, 2013 via mobile

Absolutely awesome old church (c 1230) with amazing carvings for the altar etc - well worth some of your time.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Maria111_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wirral UK
Level Contributor
752 reviews
378 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 543 helpful votes
“A superb astronomical clock.”
Reviewed May 24, 2013

We travelled here by train from Warnemunde.The cathedral does not look anything special from the outside, but it does have some gems inside. It is not majestic from the outside like many European cathedrals, and it does look a bit dull from the outside, being brick built rather than stone. But it does have some gems inside. The pipe organ is huge and way over the top for a church of this size. It has something like 5,200 pipes - it's enormous.

The star of the show here though is the superb and ancient astronomical clock, which is hidden behind the high alter and is easy to miss if you don't walk behind. It was built in 1472 by Hans Duringer and still works. It's a very large and remarkable example of the medieval clock makers skill. I could have watched it all day - so impressive.

Lots of other things to see - an ancient font, fine stained windows, a superb pulpit and an impressive high alter.

There is a small entrance fee, but it's well worth it.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank NeilandBarbara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falcon, Colorado
Level Contributor
228 reviews
151 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 216 helpful votes
“Along the lines of your average cathedral”
Reviewed December 17, 2012

I travelled here by train when my cruise ship stopped in Warnemude. (The purpose of the stop was to allow passengers to travel to Berlin, but stince we'd already been there, we chose to stay local.)

Rostock was pleasant to walk around in, and see. The rathaus was elaborate and the church was a sight to see, but nothing really stood out from other cathedrals in Europe, at least to me.

My recommendation, if you're in the area, take the time to see it, but don't make a special trip for it.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Cory J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sankt Marien Kirche also viewed

 
Rostock, Mecklenburg-West Pomerania
Warnemunde, Rostock
 

Been to Sankt Marien Kirche? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing