We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel in beautiful town”
Review of Hotel Maria

Hotel Maria
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Maria
Ranked #3 of 8 Greifswald B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 15, 2013

We were meeting some friends who have a sailboat in Greifswald and they recommended this hotel to us. We had to make a special reservation because there were 3 of us staying in one room (2 adults and 1 child). Booking was a little difficult since the owners spoke limited English and the reservation had to be made through a 3rd party website. Fortunately we have a friend who speaks German and she made the reservation for us.

Check in was easy. The hotel appears a little dated but nice and clean. We have not stayed in many hotel rooms in Europe so we do not have many properties to compare this property to. That being said the room was very clean. The best way to describe the furnishings is college dorm like. Unfortunately for us we visited the region during a heat wave, 90 plus degrees fahrenheit. This hotel, as most in Europe, does NOT have air conditioning or a fan. We knew this ahead of time and were prepared for the misery.

The room we stayed is was the suite/apartment. It was very large and had a huge bathroom. As stated earlier it did not have AC and only one French door patio window. The air flow was kind of insufficient for the heat wave but would probably have been adequate if there were normal temperatures.

The included breakfast was the typical German breakfast which included meats, cheeses, breads, jams, and juices. The food was excellent.

The hotel is located a very short walk from the docks and has beautiful surroundings.

We were very pleased with this hotel and would definitely return if we visited again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HB92397
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (12)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

3 - 9 of 12 reviews

Reviewed August 20, 2012

This place was a real find. It was signposted and advertised and that made me slightly suspicious that it was a tourist trap. But instead it was a charming pension in a quiet residential area, five minutes walk from the charming centre of Wiek. Rooms were a good size and the host was outgoing and helpful. He lavished both his attention and his booze on us, but not to the extent that things got rowdy. All had a good night's sleep.

Perhaps the biggest surprise was the Hotel Maria's food: they do great fish dishes (we are Norwegian, so we know our fish!). Eat here rather than the superficially attractive but touristy places in the centre of Wiek.

We choose to stay in charming family run pensions because we are looking for a more personal alternative to the big hotel experience. We got just such an experience here.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank barfly67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: March 2017, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Wander L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: April 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marcin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2015, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Subdiver77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2015, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank werkata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2015
Google Translation

Room Tip: Zimmer sind sauber und zweckmäßig eingerichtet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2015, traveled with family
    • Location
Thank Gerhard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Greifswald hotels
2.8 mi away
Mercure Hotel Greifswald Am Gorzberg
3.1 mi away
No photo provided
Cafe und Pension Blohm
#2 of 8 in Greifswald
4 reviews
2.8 mi away
DJH Jugendherberge Greifswald
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Europa Hotel Greifswald
Europa Hotel Greifswald
#9 of 13 in Greifswald
63 reviews
3.2 mi away
VCH Hotel Greifswald
VCH Hotel Greifswald
#7 of 13 in Greifswald
27 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Utkiek & Pier 19
Hotel Utkiek & Pier 19
#3 of 13 in Greifswald
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Maria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Maria

Address: Dorfstr. 46a, 17493 Greifswald, Mecklenburg-West Pomerania, Germany
Location: Germany > Mecklenburg-West Pomerania > Greifswald
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Greifswald
Price Range: $94 - $117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Maria 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Maria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing