We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Hotel Restaurant pricey but very good.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Steigenberger Hotel Remarque

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Steigenberger Hotel Remarque
Ranked #1 of 24 Hotels in Osnabruck
Certificate of Excellence
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
252 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Hotel Restaurant pricey but very good.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

The cuisine was first rate, staff professional, but portions were a bit smaller than I would have preferred. Excellent less expensive choices are available on or near the town's pedestrian walkway in the nearby shopping area.

Room Tip: I didn't stay there, just ate there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SanDiegoGuy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

285 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    137
    42
    13
    5
See reviews for
27
74
22
127
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

On arrival the staff were friendly, however there was no-one to help me with the luggage - my husband had gone to park the car. I was told I could use the trolley to bring my suitcases in and leave my baby and pushchair at reception- not very helpful or customer friendly.
We decided to eat in the hotel one evening with our baby. During the meal I decided to feed my little one. However the head waiter for the evening approached us regarding the "situation". I was rather taken aback to be asked to move if I wanted to continue feeding, especially in the middle of our meal. We asked if there had been a complaint, there had not, however he stated that he wanted to avoid having to deal with one especially from the posh restaurant . I felt disappointed at this attitude. I have breastfed in many establishments including 5 star hotels with no comments.
I expected more from this hotel and will not recommend it.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 22Shona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graz, Austria
Level Contributor
181 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

The hotel Osnabrück Steigenberger is centrally located. Rooms are large and clean. Breakfast is expensive but comes with a great variety, pancakes are cooked freshly. This is one of the best hotels in Onsabrück and surrounding.

Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank pinta12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
87 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

I've traveled to Osnabruck on business well over 25 times in the past 15 years, and have stayed at a total of 3 hotels in Osnabruck over that period. This hotel is hands-down the best hotel in Osnabruck. Most of the international business people stay in this hotel. The hotel is modern, fashionable, clean and the service is very good. The location is prime as it is only a walk of 100 meters before you enter the scenic old part of the city where you can find other great places to visit.

The breakfast at the Remarque is my favorite breakfast in all of Europe.

Room Tip: if possible, ask for a room that faces away from the inner courtyard/entrance area. it will receive...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MrBaldGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro
Level Contributor
123 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

Despite all previous reports about good food and nice location close to downtown, the internet isn't free, the service is done by people with really bad mood and in summer when the region can reach temperatures over 35 Celsius (95 Fahrenheit) the rooms... is that right... all the rooms... doesn't have air conditioning system and you will be very luck if they give you a ventilator which will produce noise all night long... still there is the possibility to open the windows... but if you like flies (which according the attendant is normal) please welcome...

Room Tip: As I have mentioned before, in summer there is no good room as all those are not equipped with air c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RGEDRA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

We read the review for the Steigenberger Hotel Remarque and decided to give it a try. Lovely lobby, professional and courteous staff. Parking in the garage was easy and gave us good accessibility to our room. Love the location in the city center. We had a late lunch on the terrace and both the food and service was good.

The hotel has no air conditioning. The window in the room only opened a few inches. We had two fans brought up, but it was hot and sticky the entire night. There are not nearly enough electrical outlets in the room - nothing by the bed.

No iron nor ironing board.

The amenities in the bathroom were only a combination of body wash and shampoo - no conditioner, no hand/body lotions.

The shower nozzle would not stay fixed in one place and caused water to leak from the bottom of the door all over the floor.

Dinner in the dining room was average at best - food was not nearly as good as what we had for lunch, which was disappointing - it was the only reason we decided to eat at the hotel. Service was extremely slow - we almost left.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ItalyGardenstategal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Osnabruck hotels
1.0 mi away
Advena Hotel Hohenzollern
Advena Hotel Hohenzollern
#3 of 24 in Osnabruck
4.0 of 5 stars 137 reviews
0.2 mi away
Romantik Hotel Walhalla
Romantik Hotel Walhalla
#2 of 24 in Osnabruck
4.0 of 5 stars 173 reviews
1.0 mi away
Ibis Budget Osnabrueck City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Ibis Styles Osnabrueck
Ibis Styles Osnabrueck
#4 of 24 in Osnabruck
3.5 of 5 stars 240 reviews
1.2 mi away
B&B Hotel Osnabruck
B&B Hotel Osnabruck
#7 of 24 in Osnabruck
4.0 of 5 stars 21 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel Westerkamp
Hotel Westerkamp
#6 of 24 in Osnabruck
4.0 of 5 stars 54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Steigenberger Hotel Remarque? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Steigenberger Hotel Remarque

Property: Steigenberger Hotel Remarque
Address: Natruper-Tor-Wall 1, 49076 Osnabruck, Lower Saxony, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Lower Saxony > Osnabruck
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 24 Hotels in Osnabruck
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Steigenberger Hotel Remarque 4*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Osnabrück, a historical venue, is located between the Münsterland, the Teutoburg Forest and Wiehen Hills. The Steigenberger Hotel Remarque is set in a central location, at the edge of the historical city centre of Osnabrück with its ancient city walls, elegant boutiques, galleries and cosy cafés. In the rooms furnished in modern style you will find every comfort you need for your business trip or your weekend stay. The guest can enjoy hearty regional dishes, and strong wines in the wine pub. The Haarlem Bar with live music is one of the most popular meeting points of the city in the evenings. The Enoteca is recommendable for exclusive private or business evenings. The larger conference rooms are perfect for all sort of events and conferences, and the smaller rooms for seminars. In the wellness landscape with sauna and relaxation area you can prepare body and soul for the next day. In addition to the half-timbered houses, the cathedral and the Marienkirche are certainly among the most impressive buildings in the city and can be reached easily on foot from the hotel. Further magnets in the Osnabrücker Land are the castle and the Eiszeithaus (the ice age house). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Steigenberger Hotel Remarque reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Steigenberger Hotel Osnabrück

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing