We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Van der Valk Hotel Hildesheim
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Hildesheim
Certificate of Excellence
Nassau, New Providence Island
Level Contributor
65 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Wonderful!”
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Stayed here on a business trip in February 2013. The hotel is an absolute gem, and the location must be the envy of all other hotels in town as it's part of the beautiful, historic market square, with all shopping and sights within very short, easy walking distance (most shopping only starts one block away). Our hotel room was large, spacious, and spotless. The staff was friendly, caring and professional. Only disappointment: there was no one to assist us with our luggage when we arrived or departed. Meals at the Gildehaus restaurant were first class. Will always stay at the Van der Valk Hotel Hildesheim.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diane H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

498 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    288
    180
    23
    5
    2
See reviews for
89
205
21
120
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
43 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here recently whilst visiting a near by factory, I got a wee bit confused on arrival, with the underground car park, and within seconds the receptionist arrived to help me ( wow that's a first ever) the hotel is a stunning building with views over what can only be described as one of the best town centres ever. The bar staff were excellent and very friendly ( as we're the locals, in the bar) my group opted for snack food in the bar as, it was to late for a meal, snack were very good indeed.
Breakfast was very good as well , and your fresh orange came from squeezed oranges in front of you. Would recommend it to anyone visiting

Stayed February 2013
Helpful?
Thank mikec-edinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary, IL
Level Contributor
59 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2013

The Van der Valk is everyone's preferred hotel at my company when staying in Hildesheim. This was my second stay there in the past year. Good central location next to the square. Nice clean rooms. Good breakfast buffet. Had dinner one night as well and it was tasty. Wifi worked reasonably well. Staff was great.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Walt M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frome, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed December 21, 2012

If you are visiting Hildesheim or the local area this is THE place to stay. Tasteful hotel, fantastic staff, great rooms and wonderful location right in the heart of town, on an historic square but 5 mins from all the shopping you could need. A very nice town and especially charming at Christmas. We will be back

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CharlotteCS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prescott, Arizona
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2012

Really cool suite in this hotel right on the square. All purple and silver with fabulous lighting. A truly luxurious and over the top bathroom. Great stuff. Wonderful hotel, fun, easy and reasonable. Very nice staff, helpful, proactive and knowledgeable. Loved this place.

Room Tip: We had the big suite overlooking the square. Our windows were across the whole front of the hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank inoitall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2012

Great hotel right on the historical square in Hildesheim.
We did not have any reservation but we got a big, nice double room for a nice price. 115 EUR for one night included breakfast. Easy with car. Public garage with hotel entry.
Perfect service in lobby and bar, a bit less perfect in restaurant (we had dinner and breakfast at the hotel restaurant) but great food.
Hotel bar (with sigar lounge) is great. Happy hours with nice drinks.
Pool area: nice and clean. Luxury feeling.
Would stay again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kmfalch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayr, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2012

All staff were very friendly and helpful. I went to Hildesheim with my daughter to find her rented accommodation for a year and the staff were very helpful regarding this, none more so than Claudia Ernst, a front desk manager, who made suggestions and obtained telephone numbers for us which was way more than I would have expected from hotel staff. The management should be proud of her. Breakfast was terrific and the rooms, and in fact the whole hotel, were always immaculately clean. A great pleasure to stay there and I shall definitely return.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hildesheim hotels
0.2 mi away
Ibis Styles Hildesheim
Ibis Styles Hildesheim
#2 of 12 in Hildesheim
195 reviews
0.3 mi away
Novotel Hildesheim
Novotel Hildesheim
#3 of 12 in Hildesheim
347 reviews
1.2 mi away
Parkhotel Berghoelzchen
Parkhotel Berghoelzchen
#4 of 12 in Hildesheim
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Stadtresidenz Suite Hotel
Stadtresidenz Suite Hotel
#7 of 12 in Hildesheim
16 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hotel Itzumer Pass
Hotel Itzumer Pass
#5 of 12 in Hildesheim
28 reviews
1.4 mi away
Lindemann Hotel
Lindemann Hotel
#6 of 12 in Hildesheim
35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Van der Valk Hotel Hildesheim? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Van der Valk Hotel Hildesheim

Property: Van der Valk Hotel Hildesheim
Address: Jakobistrasse, Markt 4, 31134 Hildesheim, Lower Saxony, Germany (Formerly Le Meridien)
Location: Germany > Lower Saxony > Hildesheim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Hildesheim
#1 Luxury Hotel in Hildesheim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Van der Valk Hotel Hildesheim 4*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Behind its landmarked half-timbered und rococo facade, the 4-star hotel offers 109 individual rooms, the elegant Restaurant Gildehaus, the impressive Stadtschenke Bar and eight versatile event rooms. The swimming pool, sauna, gym, solarium and Valentina's Cosmetic Salon offer ample opportunity to kick back and relax. The rooms have the following free amenities: non-alcoholic mini-bar, Wi-Fi, coffee and tea facilities, air conditioning, flat-screen TV, Sky TV Sport 1 and Sport News. The Van der Valk Hotel is located directly in the centre of the city on the historical market square. The pedestrian zone is close by and offers a wide variety of different shopping opportunities. Many of the city's most famous sights are also within easy walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotel.de, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Van der Valk Hotel Hildesheim reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Van Der Valk Hannover

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing