We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Germany may not be renowned for it's food but these steaks are top drawer!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Block House Am Kropcke

Block House Am Kropcke
Ranked #6 of 1,089 Restaurants in Hannover
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Kids, Families with children, Special occasions, Business meetings
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Mitte
Description: Our Block House restaurant is right by the Georgstraße shopping boulevard. When you come here, you may well spot some Hannover 96 footballers or one of the German Football Association's referees. Another famous face who stops by occasionally is former German chancellor Gerhard Schröder, with his wife and kids.
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Germany may not be renowned for it's food but these steaks are top drawer!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2013

1) Get there early. Saturday night I arrive at 8pm and had a 50 minute cramped wait for a table for 3.
2) Despite that, it's still worth the wait & I'd always eat here.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank MongolianMousehound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

387 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    148
    173
    45
    16
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Meppel, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
87 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great steaks....”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2012

Great food, fine service. Prices like Block House Am Aegi. However, compared to Block House Am Aegi there is one minor issue. Here they do not serve a free salad with each dish.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Pedro K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Piatra Neamt, Romania
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Recomended for steak eaters !!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2012

Super good quality restaurant, almost all time booked, but with german management you can "wait", enjoing at the bar, until a table becomes available. Is a good place to eat & drink.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Dragos George D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sentosa Island, Singapore
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Really good food, just a little pricey”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2012

As the title suggest, the steak and chips were really yummy, soft and juicy. However it was also quick expensive. For similar quality, at a much reduced price. go to Maribo, just down the road and for ribs and burgers, head over to Henry's also down the road. I came here once, found the other two, and never came back again!

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Ginergine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bilbao, España
Level Contributor
122 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“If you like waiting for your food...”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2012

I went to this restaurant for dinner two days in a row.
On the first day I came in and I sat on the bar since there were no tables available.
It took a long time to be asked what I wanted to have. I ordered spinach with mashed potatoes. The dish was tasty but overpriced. I had to wait a lot to be handed the receipt and to paid too.

Next day I went to the same restaurant because it was near my hotel and the previous day I saw very good looking meat dishes and I wanted to try one. It was earlier than the other day, the restaurant was almost empty and there was the same number of waiters. However, it took longer than the previous day to be asked to order even trying calling the waiters. I ordered and like 20 minutes later, which is nothing when you are with other people but a whole day when you are alone, a waiter came and told me that my order had disappear. So I had to wait again to be served. The dish was very good but again overpriced.
Once more, I waited like forever to be handed the bill and to pay too.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Susana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Block House Am Kropcke also viewed

Hannover, Lower Saxony
 
Hannover, Lower Saxony
 

Been to Block House Am Kropcke? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing