We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth using”
Review of Novotel Hannover

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Novotel Hannover
Ranked #1 of 159 Hotels in Hannover
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 31, 2014

Great hotel right in the good place to start with the city. Loved much the room service and awesome nearby sights. Very close to city railway station and bus station. Check-in was without any glitch. highly recommended

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mdemidov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (641)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

120 - 126 of 641 reviews

Reviewed July 11, 2014

Rooms are comfortable and very clean. Location excellent near city park and area with many restaurants and coffee shops. The hotel staff is very friendly and helpful. Nice breakfast buffet with lots of choices. The air conditioning was adequate, but I would have preferred the room to be cooler at night. During my stay the daily temperature reached 31 celsius.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
1  Thank Dieter K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2014

I stayed 6 nights in Novotel Hannover for business in June 2014. It's located right on the train/subway lines #3, #7 & #9 at Lister Platz. Easy to go East or west. Only 2 stops to town centre where great train station at Hauptbanhof is and the main town square. Lots of shopping and restaurants at town centre. There are also a few at or near the hotel. Can easily walk from Hauptbanhof to lake and HDI arena. Can also take train a few stops. Easy for anyone to hop on train to go to business meetings; mine was about 9 stops East of hotel.

Hotel staff were very friendly. Restaurant was very good and service, decor and menu were all excellent. I had pear soup and salmon for dinner one night. Was delicious and beautifully arranged/plated. Breakfast buffet was Continental and had something for everyone. More than I required on a business day. Everything was very fresh as well. Only negative was a listless club sandwich on white bread, barely toasted - that I had one evening. Whole wheat would have been nice, or at least have the bread toasted more. Other than that the food was very good and well presented; rooms very clean and comfortable. I'd definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank YYZ-RiskMgr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2014

Stayed there for one night. Checkin was very convenient, although the receptionist talked a little bit to quick.
Anyway, the hotel is located very near to station "lister Platz". Got a room on 5th level (6. floor). The room is spacey, with flat tv, coffee facilities, broad bed, sufficient wardrobe room and very light. The ac was a bit of dubious ( no cooling ?), but the window could be opened and was on backyard side, thus very quiet.
The bath is equipped with a low level wakin schower with jungle head. Usual amenities are available. The room is very clean and also shows a chaiselongue - very nice.
Gym is wel equipped, but no dumbbells, but stationary bike, elliptics and a muscle machine. Free water and towles are available, for distraction tvs are installed.
Breaky room is nice and offers a lot of tables for 2, 4, 6 persons. Waiters are attending and cook is managing all emptied dishes in a souveran way.
Bread, cerelas, yogurt, fruits, cheese sausages, scrambled eggs, bacon, hash brown etc are available.
Next again...

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ksg48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2014

I spent several nights here while in Hannover for a conference. It's not right in the heart of the CBD, but that's one of the things it has going for it. It's one block away from the Eilenriede Forest which is a great spot if you happen to be a runner, or just like some green space. There is an entrance to Lister Platz underground station only metres away (I never had to wait more than 3 minutes for a tram). There are many choices of restaurant within a few blocks, and it is pleasant to walk around as it has a neighbourhood rather than city atmosphere. Beer garden on the edge of the forest if you like that sort of thing. Good little mini supermarket and Laundromat right next door. My room was comfortable, modern, light and fairly spacious (there might have been a little competition for surface area if there were two in the room). It overlooked the street corner and a little sidewalk Italian café over the road. Some of the higher level rooms (I was on the second) probably have views of the forest. Some also appear to overlook an entrance to the carpark next door. As a jet lagged Australian, I was waking quite early so could take advantage of the free early bird breakfast - real coffee, croissants butter and jam, not fancy but who can complain when it's free! I ate in the restaurant and it is a nice room, food was ok but a bit pricey considering what is available elsewhere in the area. Many of my conference colleagues were staying closer to the CBD but none were as pleased with their lodgings as I was. Top of my list for Hannover.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Herm0ine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2014

OK, let me level with you. This is a very nice Novotel - above the average. I'm a life long (or at least career long!) Accor Club member so have their highest status of Platinum. This affords some nice luxuries all of which were honoured - in fact they had my free stuff waiting (drinks chits etc).

Now, I'm from the UK which means I grew up in a very conservative and frankly daft notion that nudity is something never to be done with strangers. The sauna and jacuzzi here, as well as the changing room, are all mixed sex and nude as is typical in all German hotels I have ever stayed in.
If you are reading this thinking "that sounds awful" I would say just give it a try. German friends tell me it's a cultural thing / medical benefit - but it's all tasteful and I'm sure that like me you will think "well what was all the fuss about" after you have tried it. You undress, lock your stuff away, grab two towels and then go enjoy. Etiquette is you sit or lay on a towel in the sauna - your skin should not come into contact with the wood bench.
In the same changing room as me was a guy about early 40s with his daughter who would have been early 20s I guess (she might have been his bit on the side of course, who knows) - both undressed in front of me and both then sat with me naked in the sauna and the jacuzzi - polite nods were made but no talking seems to be observed! There really is nothing sexual about it - I just found it very freeing.

Apart from that, the hotel is near enough an underground station and I found the hotel to be good value for money with excellent staff who were very keen to be great.

Breakfast is a huge affair with so much choice I had difficulty choosing - try the banana shake - I found it very tasty.

If anyone does have any questions or concerns, or even if you just need words of certainty about trying the whole nude experience in the wellness area, don't hesitate to drop me a line.

Room Tip: My room faced the road but was quiet with the double glazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank neilyork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2014

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Mika H
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hannover hotels
Mitte
Crowne Plaza Hotel Hannover
Mitte
Novotel Suites Hannover City
Dormero Hotel Hannover
#9 of 159 in Hannover
739 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
List
prizeotel Hannover-City
prizeotel Hannover-City
#3 of 159 in Hannover
216 reviews
Kastens Hotel Luisenhof
#5 of 159 in Hannover
490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Hannover? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Hannover

Address: Podbielskistr. 21/23 | Near Lister Platz, 30163, Hannover, Lower Saxony, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Lower Saxony > Hannover
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Hannover
#3 Business Hotel in Hannover
#3 Family Hotel in Hannover
#4 Romantic Hotel in Hannover
#9 Best Value Hotel in Hannover
Price Range: $83 - $182 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Hannover 4*
Number of rooms: 205
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Novotel Hannover - Tradition in modern design For many years now, the Novotel Hannover, which was integrated into the former Bahlsen biscuit factory, has been regarded as a popular hotel address in Hanover - both for business and leisure travellers. With its 205 rooms, restaurant, bar & eatery, wellness and fitness area, it offers all the amenities of a 4-star hotel. The rooms as well as the newly designed public area are characterised by modern design and adaptation to the contemporary lifestyle and invite you to work, relax and feel good. The hotel specializes in conferences and events for up to 330 people. The highlight and USP of the conference area are two impressive, historic steam engines of the former Bahlsen factory, which is regarded as a sought-after event location. The Novotel Hannover is centrally located, on the edge of the "Eilenriede", 5 minutes from the main station, 50m to the underground station - an ideal starting point for exploring the city ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Accorhotels.com, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Novotel Hannover reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hannover Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing