We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BEST ZOO EVER BEEN TO!”

Erlebnis Zoo Hannover
Ranked #3 of 130 things to do in Hannover
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“BEST ZOO EVER BEEN TO!”
Reviewed November 19, 2012

Honestly, this was one of the highlights of my many trips to europe.
If you are in Germany...somehow tyou have to put on your itinerary to go to Hannover Zoo. It is so well made and so many creative ideas. it has such a great relaxed vibe and so much fun. Perfect place to see all the animals you want to see in nice animal friendly open spaces.
Great restaurants and ice creamerys!
The zoo has been made so well and also made for the animals to really feel like they are in their home environment.
Go to hannover zoo and you wont regret a minute of it!!! :)

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Kahla_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,025 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    658
    253
    73
    22
    19
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Langenhagen, Germany
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“The best zoo for all families...An all day funfest”
Reviewed October 19, 2012

We have loved going to the Zoo since our children were 3 and 5. They play in the sand and on the amazing playground. They are safe and entertained while my friends and I have coffee. Also my husband meets us for dinner sometimes and we have quality family time. Best value for our yearly membership monies.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank NanCharlotte_NC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hannover, Deutschland
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Very nice for the family even with very little kids”
Reviewed October 14, 2012

Price seems high at the beginning but you get a lot to see for it. I saw many mothers with maybe 2 year old kids who even had a 1-year-pass.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Daniel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Wonderful zoo!”
Reviewed October 11, 2012

Just spent an amazing day at Hannover zoo. A bit like a theme park with animals instead of rides! The detail in the Sambesi & Yukon areas is first class!! There are plenty of extras to keep the children entertained if looking at animals is not enough. I wanted to have a go at some myself...like milking the mechanical cow!! There was panning for gold, slides, playgrounds etc. I noticed a few things involved extra cost but it didn't seem too high. Even the photo taken while on the river cruise was reasonably priced at 3.50 Euro for code o access & download the photo yourself when home or 5 Euro gives you a photo in display card plus the code to use later. Even the items in the gifts shops ( there are plenty of these about) aren't too expensive.
Some of the areas are exceptional but I felt a couple lacking. I loved the free boat ride cruising the river looking at the African animals but I felt sad for the orang-utans who need more space to play. Maybe their enclosure is temporary. Overall it is a wonderful zoo.
The feeding time at the gorillas was great & the polar bears put on a lovely show for the crowd with a little play time in the water.
I was surprised to see locals with dogs at the zoo!! Never seen that before.
It's a pity that smoking is permitted in this family orientated outdoor environment. I guess I'm just used to much more stringent no smoking areas in Australia.
This is not just a zoo for families. There were plenty of couples & I was visiting alone. Great eating areas scattered about too. Adult entry was 23Euro & it was very simple to reach being at the end of the number 11 train line. (About 7 mins from the city centre)
Lovely day out in Hannover.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandytravels_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Good family day out”
Reviewed October 4, 2012

A great day to spend a bank holiday.
The general layout was extremely interesting but having previously been informed that the zoo had recently been updated, expectations were high. However some areas were disappointing though the children's play areas exceeded all expectations!
Food in the themed areas was found to be low to mediocre, with queues at peak times probably to be expected it being a bank holiday. On the other hand the quality and variety of food in the German Gaststätte on site was high.
The animals appeared healthy, and well-cared for. Some of the viewing positions could have been better.
Unable to take the boat trip which looked interestingly laid out and well planned, due to the onset of extremely heavy rain late afternoon.
My advice would be to take this trip first as it is sited close to the main gate, and queuing can be daunting. All in all, fun for adults and children alike!

Helpful?
Thank LancashireMaxwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Erlebnis Zoo Hannover also viewed

 
Hannover, Lower Saxony
Hannover, Lower Saxony
 

Been to Erlebnis Zoo Hannover? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing