We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs improving”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Wyndham Hannover Atrium
Ranked #21 of 159 Hotels in Hannover
Reviewed June 17, 2013

I stayed at this hotel whilst in Hanover on business. My experience is no more than average, with some aspects under par for what I expected of this hotel chain.

Location: the hotel is not central to Hanover and it is a bit of a task to get into the city centre in the evenings unless you go by taxi. Being as you have to take a combination of bus and tram. The area the hotel is in doesn't have much going for it. There are no restaurants in the immediate vicinity, unless you fancy a Subway sandwich which is located next door. My colleague's room faced the autobahn and it was quite noisy.

Arrival and check-in: Upon arrival reception had no record of my booking - admittedly it was booked through my company's travel booking service and there had been a problem. Nevertheless the start to this stay did not go as expected. I was eventually allocated a room on the sixth floor.

Room: the room was spacious but clearly looked tired and in need of some modernising. The carpet was satisfactory but I learned that the rooms opposite me had already had new laminate flooring laid down. I glimpsed this one morning when the room opposite was being cleaned and it did look much better. There was no air-conditioning in the rooms and this meant that the window had to be left open during the night, with the accompanying sounds of traffic and emergency service vehicles. Although there is a flat screen TV in the room it is very small and only one English Channel is available: BBC World News.

Bathroom: The bathroom also looked dated. There was a shower over the bath, but how anybody taller than 4ft could have possibly stood under the shower is beyond me. The top of the shower riser rail was level with my chest. I had to duck down to even attempt to shower. On top of that the hot water would vary from freezing cold to scalding hot within a few seconds. Not pleasant.

Room service: I ordered room service on a couple of occasions. This was speedy and efficient.

Housekeeping: The bed was made up with two singles pushed together. The duvet was a single duvet (not uncommon in Germany from my experience when the room is for a single occupant). However there was only one pillow. The pillow was no thicker than a tea bag and I had to fold it in half to gain some sort of comfort. I asked reception and housekeeping on three occasions for an extra pillow. Only after I left a note on the bed for the cleaner was my request met.

Restaurant: the food was good, but the service could have been with a bit more of a smile.

Check-out: my flight was not until late afternoon so on the evening prior to check-out I asked reception if I could have a late check-out of 2pm (normal is 12noon). This was not a problem and the receptionist made a note on the computer. Needless to say, at 11am the following day the cleaner knocked once on the door and came in (I was working in the room) to make the room up for the next guest. I explained that I had requested a late check-out and he went away. At 1pm the phone in the room rang, it was reception reminding me that it was my check-out day and that I should have checked out at noon. I explained once more about making the arrangements for a late check-out the previous night but was told there was nothing on the system. Nevertheless they let me keep the room until 2pm.

Summary: the bed was comfy, the food was OK, I got what I asked for (pillow and late check-out) eventually. The bathroom is poor and communication between staff could be better. All of these are simple things which should be expected to be right.

Room Tip: Ask for a refurbished room.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank woodyuk365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andreasudfeld, Front Office Manager at Wyndham Hannover Atrium, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2014

Dear Guest,

Your feedback is important for us to improve our quality and behavior to 100%.

We would be happy to welcome you again in hotel and to convince you about our real quality.

With warmest regards

Your Wyndham Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (674)
There are newer reviews for Wyndham Hannover Atrium
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

77 - 83 of 674 reviews

Reviewed May 25, 2013

We checked into this hotel early - very early, 12 noon, but the room was ready and we were immediately made to feel welcome, the receptions staff being very friendly. Our room was a decent size and a good standard, but the carpet (room 304) was noticably stained in parts and my wife had noted that the carpets as you leave the lift were a little worn and not the cleanest - I have been reading past reviews of this hotel and like it that the management take note of comments made, but Isee that people have been mentioning the carpets for over a year now, should this not have been attended to by now? The above comments apart the room is good with a comfortable bed (Beds, as they are singles together) and has good amenities. Internet is charged at 7.50 Euros per night - cheaper than Ibis @ 9 Euros but I still think that this is a thing that should be free in this day and age - and while on the subject, the internet on the free connection in reception is not working, I was cheerfully informed by a member of staff, hmmm so I spend 7.50 after all?

Despite all the above, the hotel is still one I would use again if back in Hannover (sadly Unlikely for a long time) - though how anywhere can justify 19 Euros per person for breakfast is beyond me - what do you get for that sort of money? I didn't stay to find out, we can eat way cheaper elsewhere (even motorway services charge less, for more), and as my wife and I can only eat very little, not even a full single portion between us, the cost is out of all proportion.

Room Tip: Bring your own breakfast or eat out in the morning
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank steveg01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andreasudfeld, Front Office Manager at Wyndham Hannover Atrium, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2013

Thanks for your honest review regarding your last stay in our hotel.

Since March 2013 we are renovating the hotel and are very proud to have a new lobby and restaurant.
We renovate our hotel step by step to reach the quality you expected from us and to make your next stay comfortable. Our suites and privilege rooms are
already finished and are equipped with new furniture and laminate floor. The other rooms will follow and soon we will have no
carpets in the rooms anymore.

We are happy that you had a good night in our hotel and dreamt of tiny sheeps while laying in our beds.

Unfortunately we have some internet problems at our public account, but our employees will always happy to assist you.
That gives us the chance to know you a little better 

We would be happy to welcome you and your wife again and show you the new and renovated hotel.

Kind regards

Your Mercure Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2013

I stayed here for the weekend while going to Messe. When we arrived at the hotel it was in a real mess due to being referbished. The room was OK, the staff were not happy and did not smile, the bar was covered with a huge sheet. We asked if we could eat at the hotel and were sat in a tiny room with a 40 min wait before asked what we wanted. We ate at subway that night. Woke up at 0100 with the works down stairs. Dirty horrible old hotel

Room Tip: Dont stay here
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nb6600
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andreasudfeld, Front Office Manager at Wyndham Hannover Atrium, responded to this reviewResponded May 18, 2013

We are really sorry that you were not 100% satisfied with your stay in our Mercure Hotel Atrium Hannover.

Since March we renovate our hotel step by step to reach the quality you expected from us and to make your next stay more comfortable. Since April we are happy to have a new renovated lobby and a new good looking restaurant. Right now we are renovating the next rooms and will be happy to finish them till the end of June.

That you had to wait 40 minutes to get restaurant service is definitely not our standard and we would like to apologize for the inconveniences caused.
We would be happy to serve you a big and tasty steak at your next visit instead of Subway cookies.

We hope that you will give us another chance and we are able to convince you from our service at your next visit to Hanover.

Your Mercure Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Reservation for 2 persons made a week ahead, yet on the arrival:
- only one pillow
- no toilet paper
- only one set of towels (we were instructed to serach for spare (!) one in the room)
- no possibility to get through to the reception from the room
- no suprise gift as it was annonced on the reservation site
- drab and gloomy room
- minuscule bathroom

Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Wojciech151
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andreasudfeld, Leiter Front Office at Wyndham Hannover Atrium, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2013

We are really sorry that you were not satisfied with your stay in our Mercure Hotel Atrium Hannover.

We would like to apologize that your room was not prepared for two adults. That is very unpleasant and we can assure you that this is not a standard in our house.
That you had problems in reaching the reception is very strange due to the fact that our front desk is staffed 24/7.

Your comments help us to check our services and offers continually and to uncover weaknesses in the sense of our target of satiesfied guests.

We hope that you will give us another chance and we are able to convince you from our service at your next visit to Hanover.

Your Mercure Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2013

I stayed here in an apartment .The lights were not working. Maintenance is very poor. There are no electric plugs on working table and one has to kneel down under the table to plug your lap top or chargers. The amenities are strict minimum and the rooms smell bad.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fortune2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andreasudfeld, Manager at Wyndham Hannover Atrium, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2013

We are really sorry that you were not satisfied with your stay in our Mercure Hotel Atrium Hannover.

We informed our technical employee to fix the lights right on the spot and will have a conversation with our technical manager about this issue.
Since 2011 we renovate our hotel step by step to reach the quality you expected from us and to make your next stay comfortable. Our suites and privilege rooms are
already finished and are equipped with new furniture and laminate floor.

We hope that you will give us another chance and we are able to convince you from our service at your next visit to Hanover.

Your Mercure Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2012

We stayed here on the way from Denmark to Bavaria. We found the hotel easily and liked the easy, free, but tight parking.

The room was better than I expected, except there was no air conditioning. Opening the windows worked OK. I had brought along a small battery powered fan and that helped out. Loved (and stole) the sign asking us to return to nature any bugs that wandered into the room. (Sorry for the theft, it's going in the scrapbook!)

The staff at reception were helpful. The computer available in the lobby for guests came in handy for checking email quickly. We prebooked and paid for the hotel with Delta Miles and it seemed a very good value.

We had both dinner and breakfast in the outdoor area and enjoyed it quite a lot. Service was solid and the food was quite good. Loved the planters with beautiful flowers.

If we found ourselves in Hannover again, we were certainly look at staying here again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank clkc86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andreasudfeld, Manager at Wyndham Hannover Atrium, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2012

Dear clkc86,

Thank you for posting your opinion of your stay in our hotel by TripAdvisor.

We are glad that you liked the room, the food and the service in our hotel.

We are looking forward to see you soon and prepare you a nice and comfortable stay again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2012

I visited for a 3 day stay with family. The hotel is on the outskirts of Hannover which seemed like a disadvantage intially. However, hotel reception could get a taxi at any time within 5 minutes and the taxi fare to the centre of town typically worked out at €13.
The staff in the hotel were extremely friendly and nothing was too much trouble for them

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andreasudfeld, Manager at Wyndham Hannover Atrium, responded to this reviewResponded August 25, 2012

Dear Michael,

Thank you for taking the time to publish your opinion of your stay on TripAdvisor.

We are very glad that you liked our service from our staff.and looking forward to see you and your family soon again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hannover hotels
0.6 mi away
Mercure Hotel Hannover Medical Park
1.0 mi away
GHOTEL hotel & living
GHOTEL hotel & living
#15 of 159 in Hannover
295 reviews
1.1 mi away
Sheraton Hannover Pelikan Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Leonardo Hotel Hannover
Leonardo Hotel Hannover
#11 of 159 in Hannover
309 reviews
1.8 mi away
Novotel Hannover
Novotel Hannover
#1 of 159 in Hannover
601 reviews
5.0 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Hannover
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Hannover Atrium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Hannover Atrium

Address: Karl-Wiechert-Allee 68, 30625, Hannover, Lower Saxony, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Lower Saxony > Hannover
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 159 Hotels in Hannover
Price Range: $74 - $448 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Wyndham Hannover Atrium 4*
Number of rooms: 222
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the edge of the city, only 6 km from the centre and close to the exhibition centre. The hotel looks across to a woodland area, ideal for jogging. Along with its 217 rooms, the hotel features a restaurant, bar, modern conference facilities,gym with sauna, jacuzzi, solarium and parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone and HotelQuickly so you can book your Wyndham Hannover Atrium reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing